We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Wedding at the Castle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Wedding at the Castle!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This venue is seriously impressive. Magnificent surroundings, with ancient ruins at every turn. We stayed in one of the Mews Cottages (3 bedroom) with every modern convenience. These can be booked through "Natural Retreats. COM". A decidedly cheaper option than the hotel, while still having full use of the hotel facilities, like the fab pool and Spa. It's a great base for exploring Cork City and surrounds. Don't forget to grab some great pub grub in "Pat Shortt's"pub in the village.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SueTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear SueTralee,

Thanks for your great review, we look forward to seeing you back to Castlemartyr.

Regards
Cathal Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    352
    168
    90
    46
See reviews for
455
812
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mallow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a great check in by George and what a character he is. We really liked the dogs in the hotel, nice touch. The Log fire was going all the time and it was fun to sit and listen to the music on the night we stayed. Ate in the Bell Tower and we had a lovely evening, the place was full and had a great feel to it. Finished up the evening with a mojito and an old fashioned cocktail which my husband really liked. B/F was a good hotel breakfast but filled up really quick, we came down early so avoided the rush. All in all a good night. Thanks to all the staff especially Claire and Barry who we had a great chat with each time we saw them

Room Tip: We had a view of the golf course which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Elizabethmallow,

Its great to receive such a fantastic review. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much. George is part of the soul of Castlemartyr, he really does exceed our expectations time and time again, he is thrilled that you mentioned him in your opening line!
I have passed on your comments to the team, Claire and Barry cant wait to see you back in the Resort.
All the very best and thanks for the review of Castlemartyr
We look forward to seeing you here soon.
Regards
Cathal and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wow, what a lovely stay. Must say the staff are great here, Claire and Lucia at breakfast bent over backwards for us and really made our stay worthwhile. The food in the Knights bar was delicious and the cocktails they did were really nice, one this the car park needs so looking into but once you are in they really do go out of their way to help you. The blond lady at dinner was really attentive and so nice. Can't wait to go back as we are attending a wedding at that hotel in two weeks time

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hewiemiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Hewiemiz,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I have passed your comments to Claire and Lucia directly who are delighted that they made such an impact on your stay. Their personalities shine through time and time again.
We look forward to seeing you soon here at Castlemartyr,
Warm regards
Cathal Lynch and all the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks great from the outside but the place is filthy inside especially the bedrooms. The carpet in our room was filthy plus the tea/coffee preparation area was covered in old stains. I uploaded photos of same for everyone to see.

You will have no need to plan a evening walk as the car park is a ten minute walk from Reception and the bedrooms are the same again.

We ate in the restraunt in the Hotel but the staff were egging to get rid of us as they wanted to look after a wedding party. The food is way overpriced too for what you get.

The last straw was the dirt floating on top of the milk the next morning it was disgusting I changed it for another jug but that was the same too.

Find a 2 star hotel and you will do much better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank maleilish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear maleilish79,
This is my second time writing a response to you in one week. Its clear to me now that you dont want me to contact you. I am still interested in what you have to say about our Hotel. Two negative reviews is enough dont you think. If you wish to contact me directly where we can discuss the elements of your stay that were not up to scratch please let me know.
Many Thanks
Cathal Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The bedrooms at castlemartyr are large, comfy and what you would expect from a 5 star but as with the rest of the resort they let themselves down with attention to detail, little things like no biscuits in the room with your coffee to a door knob broken in the bathroom.

The pool is nice but nothing special, having to pay 3 euro for a swimming hat is another thing I feel should be complimentary for the price of the rooms at this resort.

The bikes are fun bonus activity but be careful the breaks don't work and they are a bit old and wobbly

We had dinner in the Italian restaurant which is great value and good food but the service is not up to standard. Forgetting things like offering Parmesan and cutlery. Also no need for a jumper the place is roasting I would even think about wearing shorts the next time....

Breakfast was poor to average, from poor hostess and service to very small boring looking portion. We got the eggs Benedict you would need to order two for the one person.

All in all it's a four star hotel, we enjoyed our stay but we will explore other 5 star options on our next cork visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Ryan M,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay here in the Resort. Please get in touch with me directly here in the Hotel if you ever plan a return trip to Cork. I will look after your booking personally. I have spoken with the team directly this morning and I have highlighted the concerns you raised. The bikes that we have on the Resort are pedal back-breaks, I just wanted to highlight it for our other future guests who may be reading this, helmets are also provided upon request. I look forward to welcoming you to Castlemartyr.
Sincerely
Cathal Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in the Castlemartyr Resort but considering us a 5* hotel was a little disappointed as on my first night I had some mojitos and on having lunch in the bar the following day I asked for a mojito to be told that they were out of mint leaves which can happen so thought nothing more. That night before dinner we went for a drink before dinner and yet again I ordered a mojito and was told again they were out of mint leaves. Was really annoyed at this as they had known since lunch and a few other people were ordering the same to be turned down. I then asked for a different drink to be told they didn't have it. Later in the night a couple ordered a drink to be told they were out of Bacardi and tonic water. This should not happen in a 5* hotel and definitely not with the prices they charge.

Room Tip: Upgrades from Deluxe rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coraudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Coraudi,

Many thanks indeed for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. I have discussed the issues that you highlighted in the Knights Bar with the Food and Beverage team. Your review has certainly highlighted some training needs which have been swiftly addressed thanks to your review, for this we thank you sincerely. We look forward to seeing you here at the Resort some time soon.

Regards
Cathal Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Love this hotel !! Have stayed there with and without children and it's a fantastic break. The hotel is beautiful - stunning old building and the new part is very well designed. The interior is beautiful. The pool is gorgeous - bit restrictive in terms of childrens hours for a family hotel but all round it works out. The houses are really stunning with lots of little touches that make a difference like the welcome baskets and extra towels for swimming.
Restaurants are fantastic, amazing winelist and the food really is stunning. Very highly recommended !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pradagirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear pradagirl74,

We are thrilled with your recent review!! We really do embrace families here at the Resort. Kepp an eye out on our website for the new and improved "Top Dogs and Little Paws" kids club, it starts on the next mid term at Easter and runs throughout the summer months. I will certainly pass your lovely comments to all involved.
We look forward to seeing you all here at the Castlemartyr Resort very soon.

Cathal Lynch and all the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,145 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,672 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,500 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Property: Castlemartyr Resort
Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing