We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our 4th visit to the resort and yet again it exceeded our expectations. With each visit it just gets better.
We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our easter weekend here from the fantastic suite to the great food to the superb facilities.
We had friends that visited with us this time as we had raved so much about the place and they absolutely loved it too.
High praise is due to all staff members who were always very courteous, friendly, warm and welcoming. We especially have great time for Avril (in Franchinis) who remembered us from our previous visits and welcomed us with a friendly smile and chat.Cathal, the GM is always very attentive and welcoming to the guests.
The resort is so kiddie friendly and thats what keeps us coming back. Upon leaving our daughter asked us if she could stay longer!
We are already looking forward to our next visit back .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisemc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Louisemc14,
Wow, thanks for the wonderful review. We are delighted that Castlemartyr is your favourite hotel! The people at Castlemartyr are the ones responsible for its success, we are very proud of them. Please contact me directly for your next visit to us. It would be my pleaseure to welcome you back once again.
Warmest Regards
Cathal and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    338
    158
    88
    43
See reviews for
442
788
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our recent stay in Castlemartyr was prompted by a glowing recommendation from friends who had just returned from a mid week break. From the moment we entered this beautiful hotel we were treated as if we were special guests by all the welcoming and friendly staff. Our room was terrific, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and with a splendid view over the grounds.
The breakfast was a special experience and we can honestly say that the Egg’s Benedict and French Toast were just exquisite. We enjoyed dinner on two occasions in the Bell Tower Restaurant and everything was absolutely top class. If you are ever passing through Castlemartyr and would like a drink or a snack, just swing into this super place and enjoy the wonderful food (try the bowl of prawns!) in the Knights Bar whilst marvelling at the decor of what was previously a chapel.
We would recommend the Castlemartyr Hotel to everybody who likes to be pampered by top class staff in a top class Hotel. We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: We had a suite to the front of the hotel which we would highly recommend. Very quiet and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seandotkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Seandotkelly,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. It looks like you enjoyed your stay so much with us. We are delighted to read your review and have passed on your lovely feedback to all concerned here in Castlemartyr. I hope to see you here personally over the summer months.
Warm Regards
Cathal and the team at Castlemartyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Being upfront there are 5 star hotels in Ireland with better service but with young kids I would revisit Castlemartyr.

The physical surroundings are very nice, grounds, rooms, bar, pool, restaurant etc. rooms are large and very well presented, good beds and great showers with robes etc.


The bar is amazing room and you can lounge as long as you want without pressure, great selection of whiskey, cocktails and food. Staff are friendly but service can be a little slow at times. No uncomfortable feeling from staff with kids in the bar. I wouldn't feel as comfortable with small kids in other 5 star hotels.

The Italian restaurant food is good, had tempura prawns and squid and veal for main, all very nice. Wine list is limited here and service was a very very slow, 2.5 hours for dinner.
We had to abandon but they did serve our desert in the bar. Kids had lots of options and good quality. Not 5 star I am afraid however.

The Bell Tower is much better, pitched as fine dining and both of our visits were excellent. Beef, venison, risotto, scallops and more, all superb. Again wine list needs some work but picked a good Ripasso at €59. Had to be said the staff are very friendly and eager to help but not trained to the level of a fine dining restaurant. You don't feel a routine and calm confidence which should be there to service, it's not practiced or rehearsed. Well priced however at €160 for two with wine and kids welcome.

We dined while the kids attended high tea, dinner and a movie for them. Good quality kids food with desert and drinks and they really enjoyed it, very close to the Bell Tower restaurant which works well.
Kids did visit during the day as well for an hour but when we picked them up they were both upset, one crying due to behavior of other kids which went unnoticed and unchecked. I pointed this out later to the duty manager and he clearly did discuss with the staff. One sure way to ruin a visit is to feel the kids are not being probably monitored but they reacted quickly.

Breakfast in the same restaurant is good, lots of options of cooked to order and cold buffet. All good quality and here the same staff help endlessly which is great with small children. There is an under current of lack of control however and no routine to service.

Other mentionables, two lovely house dogs you cal walk, acres of amazing walks, golf, games room, bikes and horse drawn carriage, bar staff are definitely the best asset. Pool area is good.

So all in all a great destination that does not have the service polish of other 5 star destinations but when traveling with small kids I didn't really mind so much. We had a few minor special requests along the way and always the answer was "Of course", it just took a little bit longer than it should.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear ArcfireSG,

Thank you very much for your recent review. Your extensive feedback certainly goes a long way.
I look forward to your next visit to Castlemartyr.
Warmest Regards
Cathal Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I won a trip to Castlemartyr resort which included bed and breakfast for two, champagne afternoon tea and dinner in Franchini's. The drive up to the hotel gives fantastic views of the grounds and the ample golf course. They have a lake and lovely little touches like a man made waterfall to add to the scenery. We went to check in, the lady behind reception wasn't very welcoming and there was no one to help with the bags so we lugged three big bags to our room which was about a mile from reception and I am not exaggerating. Our room exceeded expectations. That was until we realised a mother and daughter had been given a double bed to share instead of two separate beds. We called reception, she said since we hadn't 'specified' that is what we were given. She did say she would change rooms however. This gave us another long twenty minute wait in the room with the bags while we waited for a porter to come and show us to the other room which happened to be only four rooms down.
After all that was over we decided to go to the gym, and use the pool facilities. We were booked in for treatments at half one. I was sent on a wild goose chase to the gym, so I gave up and went for a Jacuzzi instead. I was here to relax after all! I had a pedicure, while my mum had a massage. One issue with the relaxation rooms is that there were only six beds and nine of us in there. We weren't told there was another EMPTY relaxation room across the hall. There was a serious lack of staff over the Easter.
Treatments were fab, we also had Shellac and eyebrows done the following day. Well done to therapists Angela and Tanya and Adele who did great jobs.
Champagne Afternoon Tea was booked for half three, it ended up being twenty past four before we received it and it was a bit of a let down, the room it was served in was quite cold and didn't have much athmosphere.
Dinner in Franchini's was delicious and very filling.
There was no craic in the hotel bar, we were told Pat Shortts would be better. We had been there for a drink earlier, and were too full after our late meal so went up to bed at midnight.
Breakfast was served in a lovely sunny room overlooking the gardens and we had so much choice. I ordered Eggs Benedict and my mum had the vegetarian hot breakfast . There was also a charcuterie, cereals, breads, cheeses and fruit salad. Breakfast was delicious and one of the high points.
We at last got a bit of help with our bags upon check out and despite a small issue with overcharging on the bill we checked out successfully. All in all highs and lows and I would expect far far superior service of a five star resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Katie W,

Thanks for your recent review, you really were so lucky to win your stay here with us. I am sorry that some elements of your stay were not up to our normal high standars, I would love the opportunity to discuss these with you further.
I am glad you found our new concept breakfast room and buffet to be such a great addition, I look forward to you visiting Castlemartyr Resort soon.
Keep entering those competitions! you would never know...
Warm Regards
Cathal Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My first visit to Castlemartyr but it won't be my last. The hotel has a wow factor, the venue is beautiful and the staff are really great. We ate in The Bell Tower and really enjoyed our meal. And, we ate in the bar which was very good too. The spa is a lovely experience, treatments were good and the lovely touch of a smoothly and fruit after in the relaxation room continued the spa experience. Our room was truly amazing, we were lucky to get a room in the manor house side of the hotel. From start to finish it was a real break away for our whole family. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tomail33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear tomail33,

To be honest I smiled with pride when I read your review! Its fantastic to read such glowing comments, I will certainly pass them on to all of the team. Please be sure to contact me directly when you are planning to come to East Cork again.

Warm regards
Cathal and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Such a great hotel, we spent 4 nights here on a family vacation during Easter. Staff were great and welcoming throughout the entire stay. Our room was a deluxe double which was perfect, in fact one of the nicest rooms i have stayed in. The facilities are great, considering the price that we paid it was refreshing to stay in such a relaxing hotel where the staff are always happy to help.

Perfect, we will definitely book again, and if you are going to Co. Cork, you should also book a room here! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We booked deluxe double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJMacQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear DrJMacQ,

Thanks indeed for your great review. We really pride ourselves in our team. I have communicated your fantastic review with all concerned, it also has pride of place on our staff notice board. We look forward to spoiling you again very soon!

Regards
All the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Castlemartyr resort. We stayed in the hotel in a 2 bedroom suite which included two double rooms plus a living area. We had a fantastic stay. Our suite was spotlessly clean, was well stocked with toiletries, bathrobes, water, coffee maker, fridge etc. Turndown service every evening. Beds were very comfortable and the room was very quiet.
We dined in Franchinos on three evenings and it was pretty much as you would expect - aimed towards relaxed family dining, with plenty of good menu options. The standard of food was good but not exceptional. We used the swimming pool every day (it has good availability for children) and the kids had lots of fun around the grounds playing in the maze, croquet lawn and going for nice walks. They also attended the kids club on one afternoon which they loved. "High tea" is a super idea where the kids go have dinner together and watch a movie/play games leaving the adults to dine in some peace!!
The staff were the best part of this hotel. They are just lovely and really welcoming. The breakfast staff in particular were very friendly, especially towards the children.
A small suggestion for improvement would be to ensure breakfast dishes were cleared more quickly from the tables. I found that I often had to ask the staff to remove used dishes to make room for more!! It wasn't a problem for the staff but it would be nice to see this being done more proactively. The menu for breakfast is very good with an excellent buffet and good selection of cook to order hot food.
I would highly recommend Castlemartyr to families and would certainly see ourselves returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcjjg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear snowpatrolireland,

What a review!!!
We are all delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. We have alot of very creative, imaginative and talented people working here at the Resort. And they all contribute to making it the success story it has become. I have taken on board your feedback on breakfast. We very much look forward to your return to Castlemartyr.

Warm regards to all

Cathal and the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,075 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,627 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,423 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Property: Castlemartyr Resort
Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand seventeenth century countrymanor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a yoga and pilates studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing