We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castlemartyr Resort
Nearby Hotels
Garryvoe Hotel(Garryvoe)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Ballycotton)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$138
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fota Island Resort(Fota Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,869)
Filter reviews
1,869 results
Traveller rating
1,129
397
187
105
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,129
397
187
105
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbell towerknights barjunior suiteafternoon teagolf clubgarden roomstar experiencepure luxurymanor housebeautiful hotelspa treatmentsstar servicewedding partylovely groundstop classnespresso machinelittle things
Filter
Updating list...
1,234 - 1,239 of 1,869 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed recently for one night only , but knew from the minute I checked in it was nt going to be enough , this place has every thing you want , excellent staff , food and service , great golf course in brilliant surroundings , pool , spa and treatments a must place to stay for any occasion , will definitely be back , well done to staff and management .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Jimmy C,
Wow thanks for your wonderful review, maybe next time you should stay for two nights! Give me a call if you plan on coming this way soon. The team are delighted that you rated them so highly. Your review has pride of place here on our TA wall.
Kind Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of days at the Castlematyr Resort last week. Everything about the hotel was 5*. The rooms were large and extremely well fitted . We stayed in a junior suite which was quite excellent. The facilities are on a par with the best. There is a choice of restaurant fine dining or Italian we ate Italian on both nights. The food was extremely good and very reasonable. Perhaps the most endearing thing about Castlemartyr is the staff they are superb friendly, helpful, courteous, and just downright nice.
Castlemartyr is a place which I have no hesitation in highly recommending

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expert2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear expert2006,
Thanks for your wonderful review of Castlemartyr Resort. Its clear we made an impression on you! Contact me directly next time you are looking to stay with us, the team and I would love to have you back!
Warm Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Castlemartyr in May 2014, and were blown away by it! We arrived very early (about 11:30am), and our room was ready, so they let us check in without any delay -- very appreciative of that! We walked the grounds (which just got better and better every turn we took), explored the castle adjacent to the hotel's main building, and enjoyed the weather. We then stopped by Knight's Bar for afternoon "tea for two" - the tea and cheese plate were delicious. Although it was not the fastest service, we were in no rush so it was not inconvenient to us at all. We then took a Pony & Trap Tour of the premises -- wow! Highly suggest you book a Pony & Trap Tour! Roy, the stable master, is wonderful! He is a 4th generation stable keeper at the grounds, and has wonderful stories (as told to him by his own relatives) about yester-year at Castlemartyr. He also took us all around the premises, and gave us a glimpse into the grounds that we would not have seen otherwise! (It is not the typical slow-paced tour -- he will gallop the horses, and "off road" which is a blast -- just noting in case there are some folks who have a fear of speed and bumpy rides). We loved it. Thank you, Roy! We ate dinner at the Bell Tower -- exceeded our expectations! Even with a large event (party of 50) going on upstairs, our food was delicious. They gave us 2 complimentary glasses of bubbly, as there was a bit of a delay with our main course - which was a nice touch! The rooms were beyond words -- 3-room suites, with high end finishings and touches all over. Extremely comfortable! Highly recommend Castlemartyr, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kutaa1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Kutaa1022,
Wow thanks for your wonderful review. Roy and his horses have certainly left an impression. Thanks to Roy and all the team here for making your stay so memorable.
We are delighted here in the Resort that you have taken away so many fond memories.
Spread the word!
Kind Regards
Cathal Lynch and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my family and although the hotel was lovely the service left a lot to be desired.

We arrived around 2pm and were left waiting over 2 hours for our room to be ready. Each time we asked we were told it would just be a short while longer. We left for a trip into town without being about to check into our room until later in the evening.

We dined in the hotel's Italian restaurant and again the service was very poor. After quite a while waiting to be served one of our party had to get up from our seat to ask to order some drinks, while standing in the middle of the restaurant looking for attention, 2 waitresses walked passed barely acknowledging the request to be served. When we asked to pay the bill we were told to pay at the counter. This is far from 5 star service.

On a positive note, the room was very spacious and decorated to the highest spec.

The overall feeling after the stay was 'beautiful hotel, pity about the service'.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fergiealloneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Fergiealloneman,
Thanks for the review, without feedback we could not better our offer. I have communicated your review to the team in Franchinis, corrective training has been carried out. I am delighted that your stay for the most part was an enjoyable one.
Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed recently for two nights in Castlemartyr Hotel/Resort. I was totally impressed by the very high standard -our bedroom was very comfortable, divine bed, luxurious bathroom, fabulous meal at dinner ( with very reasonable wine prices), lots of choices at breakfast - all meals served by very professional staff, in fact throughout the resort all the staff have a fabulous "can do" attitude. It goes without saying the place was spotless. Well done to everyone at Castlemartyr. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Olwyn S
Many thanks for your excellent review of Castlemartyr, our hard work and dedication to our guest experience is certainly reaping rewards.
I hope to see you soon in Castlemartyr, Bring some of the Florida sunshine with you!
Cathal and all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews