We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Castlemartyr is a truly beautiful place. The surroundings are most beautiful and the food and service were great. The only problem we had was that the wifi was not properly working, and when we reported this the staff had a hard time accepting this and I had to beg for them to come to my room to see for themselves that indeed the wifi was not properly working. After two nights they did not do anything about it. Besides that unfortunate problem , I highly recommend Castlemartyr.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donaldmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear donaldmcgregor,

I am thrilled you had for the most part a lovely stay here in Castlemartyr Resort. I am sorry that your issue with the normally very good Wifi was not resolved quickly for you. There is nothing more annoying than poor Wifi i agree. We have invested heavily in the wifi system ensuring that our guests get the very best Wifi. I am sorry on this occasion my team did not follow procedure, we should have turned your 4star review into a five star one. Hopefully next time!

Warm Regards

Cathal and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband, our daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights of the Easter Bank Holiday weekend and I cannot say enough about it. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The food in Franchini's was lovely and breakfast gorgeous. We stayed in a Deluxe Room and it was a great size. It had everything we wanted and needed in it. The spa and pool were divine, so relaxing and with a beautiful view over the beautiful gardens. Knights bar was really enjoyable, very relaxing surroundings and a live band. They catered for children with a great Easter Egg hunt on Easter Sunday. I will most definitely be back and have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmbalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Imbalfe,
It gives me great pride to read your review, I am delighted that we achieved on so many levels during your recent stay with us. The Resort has gone from strength to strength over the last few years. It fantastic to see all of our hard work paying off, when you and your family are coming back please contact me directly, I would love to look after the details personally.
Warmest Regards
Cathal and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything is great about this resort - rooms, service, facilities and the grounds. Highly recommended for conferences or vacations.

Loved the spa and gym.

The beds were especially comfortable with the Irish linen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear C R,
Thanks for the review on Castlemartyr Resort, I am thrilled you loved your stay.
Warm Regards
Cathal Lynch and the team at Castlemartyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed recently for one night only , but knew from the minute I checked in it was nt going to be enough , this place has every thing you want , excellent staff , food and service , great golf course in brilliant surroundings , pool , spa and treatments a must place to stay for any occasion , will definitely be back , well done to staff and management .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Jimmy C,
Wow thanks for your wonderful review, maybe next time you should stay for two nights! Give me a call if you plan on coming this way soon. The team are delighted that you rated them so highly. Your review has pride of place here on our TA wall.
Kind Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of days at the Castlematyr Resort last week. Everything about the hotel was 5*. The rooms were large and extremely well fitted . We stayed in a junior suite which was quite excellent. The facilities are on a par with the best. There is a choice of restaurant fine dining or Italian we ate Italian on both nights. The food was extremely good and very reasonable. Perhaps the most endearing thing about Castlemartyr is the staff they are superb friendly, helpful, courteous, and just downright nice.
Castlemartyr is a place which I have no hesitation in highly recommending

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expert2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear expert2006,
Thanks for your wonderful review of Castlemartyr Resort. Its clear we made an impression on you! Contact me directly next time you are looking to stay with us, the team and I would love to have you back!
Warm Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Castlemartyr in May 2014, and were blown away by it! We arrived very early (about 11:30am), and our room was ready, so they let us check in without any delay -- very appreciative of that! We walked the grounds (which just got better and better every turn we took), explored the castle adjacent to the hotel's main building, and enjoyed the weather. We then stopped by Knight's Bar for afternoon "tea for two" - the tea and cheese plate were delicious. Although it was not the fastest service, we were in no rush so it was not inconvenient to us at all. We then took a Pony & Trap Tour of the premises -- wow! Highly suggest you book a Pony & Trap Tour! Roy, the stable master, is wonderful! He is a 4th generation stable keeper at the grounds, and has wonderful stories (as told to him by his own relatives) about yester-year at Castlemartyr. He also took us all around the premises, and gave us a glimpse into the grounds that we would not have seen otherwise! (It is not the typical slow-paced tour -- he will gallop the horses, and "off road" which is a blast -- just noting in case there are some folks who have a fear of speed and bumpy rides). We loved it. Thank you, Roy! We ate dinner at the Bell Tower -- exceeded our expectations! Even with a large event (party of 50) going on upstairs, our food was delicious. They gave us 2 complimentary glasses of bubbly, as there was a bit of a delay with our main course - which was a nice touch! The rooms were beyond words -- 3-room suites, with high end finishings and touches all over. Extremely comfortable! Highly recommend Castlemartyr, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kutaa1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Kutaa1022,
Wow thanks for your wonderful review. Roy and his horses have certainly left an impression. Thanks to Roy and all the team here for making your stay so memorable.
We are delighted here in the Resort that you have taken away so many fond memories.
Spread the word!
Kind Regards
Cathal Lynch and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my family and although the hotel was lovely the service left a lot to be desired.

We arrived around 2pm and were left waiting over 2 hours for our room to be ready. Each time we asked we were told it would just be a short while longer. We left for a trip into town without being about to check into our room until later in the evening.

We dined in the hotel's Italian restaurant and again the service was very poor. After quite a while waiting to be served one of our party had to get up from our seat to ask to order some drinks, while standing in the middle of the restaurant looking for attention, 2 waitresses walked passed barely acknowledging the request to be served. When we asked to pay the bill we were told to pay at the counter. This is far from 5 star service.

On a positive note, the room was very spacious and decorated to the highest spec.

The overall feeling after the stay was 'beautiful hotel, pity about the service'.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fergiealloneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Fergiealloneman,
Thanks for the review, without feedback we could not better our offer. I have communicated your review to the team in Franchinis, corrective training has been carried out. I am delighted that your stay for the most part was an enjoyable one.
Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,299 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,766 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
750 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr P25 X300, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range: £124 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing