We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We Stayed at Castlemartyr for 2 nights 15th and 16th of July. Our whole experience was unbelievable from beginning to end. The place was really clean and tidy and very extravagant . The staff where really friendly and could not do enough for us an without asking the host Donagh managed to get us an upgrade to a garden room. The facilities where fantastic also. The food in both restaurants was faultless. I played golf on the course surrounding the hotel and the staff at the club house delightfully teamed me up with 2 other golfers. We have stayed in many hotels all over Ireland but for us Castlemartyr is Number 1 for us !! Cant wait to go back. The Lowe Family Belfast

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the garden rooms and it was unreal !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joelowe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Greetings from Cork,
thanks for the great review Lowe Family, Donough is thrilled you mentioned him here. He is a shining light of the team here, he's going to go places! Its fantastic to hear that Castlmartyr is still you number1.
Regards
Cathal and Team Castlemartyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely friendly picturesque oasis; From the friendly helpful & professional staff in all parts of hotel to immaculate grounds-just perfect.
Food excellent & you just can't help but relax in this perfect place.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Asusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Asusie,
Well we cant really ask for more, we certainly created some magical moments for you.
Hopefully we will see you return to Castlemartyr soon.
Warm regards
Cathal and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I wish we had stayed longer...such a beautiful resort, golf course, spa, pool, bar, rooms. I can't say enough positive things about Castlemartyr. It is a relaxing environment with large comfortable rooms. All hotels that we have stayed in since this trip (in both the US and Europe) have been compared to Castlemartyr...and none come close to the excellence of this resort. It is worth the trip to Ireland, just to stay at Castlemartyr.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear deborah r,
Wow, such a fantastic review of Castlemartyr Resort. We are delighted that you compare all of the "others" to us here. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed you short break here with us.
Many thanks
Cathal and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the town houses on the estate that are a few minutes walk from the main hotel.

From the outside, the houses seem to be a little shabby, but they are beautifully fitted out inside. Very spacious and fully equipped. Very clean. The outside is covered in some kind of wood that hasn't aged very well, but don't let this put you off.

We were with kids, and there was a large field area where the kids played soccer and hurling with the other residents which was fun. There is a beautiful indoor pool, that splits its hours between adults only and family time. The pool is kept warm.

While there, we ate at Pat Shorts pub close by, and at the Bell Tower Restaurant in the hotel (which was excellent). We did not golf, but took walks, went to Blarney castle and surfed. We also played croquet, and there is plenty of space for kids to play soccer (even some goals)

Our only disappointment was that the website indicated that the resort had bikes that we could use to get around which would have been fun. When we asked about the bikes, we were told that they were all broken, and I see that any mention of the bikes has now been taken off the website altogether. It would have been fun to cycle around.

In summary, would definitely recommend the resort (either self catering or the hotel). Very high quality accommodation and service at a reasonable price.

BTW I saw that some other reviewers had commented on poor WiFi service. I think this must have been fixed. We got excellent wifi all over the resort. Fast enough to watch netflix. They seem to have repeaters everywhere, so don't worry about this!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom town houses. Loads of room for 2 adults and 4 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WestmountWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear WestmountWings,
Thanks so much for you incredible review, there are so many elements of your stay that are positive. I am sorry however that the bikes were not available during your stay, they get a lot of use and were out to be serviced the week you were here. It definetly is a challenge to keep track of them here on the estate!
we look forward to seeing you soon on the bikes.
Warm regards
Cathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful overnight break with my husband and 1 year old. Gorgeous atmosphere and very friendly staff. The hotel organised a lovely baby sitter for a couple of hours for us so that we could enjoy a relaxed drink sans bébe! Have a Remy-Martin after dinner and just feel worlds away from reality. I would love to return and am just looking for an excuse!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Fiona B,
Thank you for makng us your first ever review, I am glad you got off to a good start!! We were delighted to read your lovely comments, I hope you find an excuse to revisit soon.
Warm regards to you and family
Cathal and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff is superb. The resort overall is lovely, with a very smart new wing including the sparkling spa and pool. I attended a wedding and stayed in the Mews houses while many stayed in the hotel proper. Mews houses are a 50 second walk from the hotel. They are completely adequate and the few things that were not functioning were put right immediately by the staff.
At the hotel proper: excellent breakfast and a very good dinner for a wedding party. I did not eat in the restaurants so can't comment. The hotel impressively carries off sophistication while welcoming small children (there is a very buff playroom near the spa). A beautiful jogging path is adjacent to the grounds and this is clearly a haven for golfers. But on top of all the great qualities enough cannot be said about the staff and how lovely, caring, welcoming and helpful they are.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CMaineNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear CMaineNY,
Thanks for the glowing review, the team and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much. If you are ever in the area or planning to be we would love to see you back in Castlemartyr.
Warmest regards
Cathal and all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had the afternoon tea here in March 2014 so unable to comment on rooms etc
However, both my wife and I were disappointed .This experience didn't seem like the 'treat' it should be .The table was shabby. There were cup rings on it.It didn't look as if it had been cleaned properly from the previous guests.
While the attention from the staff was excellent , the immediate surroundings were a let down and appears to show little new investment in the building.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Tom H
So sorry to hear that your experience for Afternoon Tea was not up to our normal high standards.
If you are ever passing the Resort in future or planning a return trip to Cork, please contact me directly here in the hotel. I would be delighted to see you here.
many thanks for the review,
Cathal and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,292 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,764 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr P25 X300, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range: £127 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing