We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf bores needn't apply”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have been forced to stay in a few Golf Hotels. Usually you will find they quietly crush your soul with the spirit of the Golfist lack of imagination. I hate the whole 'culture' of Golf, so I was pleasantly reassured that although CastleMartyr has substantial golfing grounds, it is not dominated by its association. The approach to the Hotel is grand, and gives you a good impression of you enter, when you see the ruins of the old house, adding a sense of history to the more modern central Hotel complex.

I stayed in a standard room which was very well appointed, and spacious, and much appreciated by my wife, though it was a long walk to reception/breakfast.

Breakfast was good, though one morning my stepson complained to me about two naughty children who proceeded to play croissant tennis with their breakfast.

It is a family hotel with a spa, and I can see their wives and the family get a fair shake of the stick with activities, that we saw being played such as archery, laser clay pigeon shooting, and horse rides ('spins') around the estate to keep them entertained, if the weather is up to it.

So the boring golfing husband doesn't get his own way all the time. I will leave it to younger families to say how they find the balance of facilities.

We used it as base to travel to other local sights and found it a very convenient base, and a good quality stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear David376,

I think you summed it up rightly in saying the hotel caters for all. Although we have a fantastic golf course, it is only one of the many wonderful additions we have here at Castlemartyr Resort. I am glad we were able to accommodate you so comfortably and I hope you got to see many of the great sights and sounds the area has to offer holiday makers.

We hope you do return and who knows we might be able to tempt you into a round of golf!

Kind Regards

Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Castlemartyr is a fantastic resort. One thing that makes it so great is that it's suitable for all. Family, couples, friends, young and old. The facilities are fantastic and the food was great. We ate everywhere available, clubhouse nice and relaxed, Italian was very good and the bell tower was the best in my opinion. The spa was lovely, my only complaint which is personal opinion is that the male and female thermal suites are separate. Would return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheiln3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Shelin3,

You are so right when you say that the hotel suits all - Families, couples and friends, young and old. I am glad you got to try all our food outlets, The Bell Tower is certainly meant to be our restaurant for our Chef to show his flair and I am glad it was your favourite.

We hope you will return.

All the best

Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Attended a wedding here. It was unbelievable. Probably the best bed I have ever slept in. Was very comfortable, with loads of little luxurious extras throughout the room. The food served at the wedding was second to non!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DShan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear DShan2014

Thank you for your great compliment about the wedding you recently attended. We know that a great deal of work goes into making them special days and so it is fabulous to hear guests enjoyed it.
A lot of people do certainly comment on how comfortable our beds are and we are happy you feel the same.

We hope you will join us again and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel with ALL the modern conveniences...But little kids everywhere. 2 to 3 month olds crying in the bar, 4 to 7 year olds running around in the bar like it is a play room and it is a beautiful bar made for intimate conversations but not when it is a nursery. The restaurants were all booked up before we even arrived and they would not even consider fitting us in. We had to go into Cork for Dinner. Breakfast was nothing short of disappointing...ordered french toast and when it arrived we were informed they had NO maple syrup of any kind - Really? How does a hotel run out and why is it on the menu. Again little kids throwing food on the floor, crying, running through the restaurant...the staff said nothing to the parents and the rest of guests just grin and bare it . When I made the comment at the desk while checking out - no apology - just said it was the way it is during August. We will not be coming back here again.

If you have little ones - you might consider this hotel - GREAT facilities - just not for those of us who wanted a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank incognitoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Ingocnitodiver,

Thank you very much for taking your time to inform us of our short comings, we certainly dropped the ball with regards to the Maple syrup and we have spoken with the restaurant to insure this does not happen again.

You may reconsider joining us at the hotel outside of the school term as August is traditionally a month that families do travel with their loved ones. If you do change your mind please contact Management as was we would be delighted to personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards
Cstlemartyr Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for a wonderful 2 nights. Room stunning and breakfast superb. Amazing time and luxury grounds. 5 star all the way. Attention to detail and the rooms are furnished to the hugest standards. Don't opt for HB

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to check your room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Alex 1979

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Breakfast is a really treat in a hotel and we are so pleased that you found it superb. Here is hoping that you will visit us soon.

Kind Regards

Management and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Though we live only 20 miles from Castlemartyr, it felt more like 2000, so relaxing and refreshing was our 2 night break Warm Irish welcome, smiling staff, beautifully appointed room greeting card from manager, chocolate dipped strawberries , absolute tranquility at night, long walks, calming spa treatments-what more could you ask for!! Other reviewers have commented on the long walk to bedrooms- you need that walk to work off breakfast. Well done to all who present famed Irish hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lilan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Lilan D,
It's great to see such a wonderful honest review on this forum. We really do try so hard to create a magical moment at least once for all our guests during their stay here, whether it be chocolate dipped strawberries or a beautiful sunset! We can arrange almost anything and nothing is too much trouble. I am delighted that you live so close to us but felt so far away, you really could be anywhere in the world. I look forward to seeing you soon in Castlemartyr, make sure you contact me directly if you are ever considering making the long journey to us!!
Warm regards
Cathal and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Castlemartyr is definitely a five start hotel with great staff, food, service, spacious rooms and beautiful grounds. It is walking distance from the village of Castlemartyr for a change of scene, or breakfast in a nice coffee shop. We got a great deal online so I genuinely think the hotel is good value for money. I think the decor, whilst nice, is very typical of what people think a five star hotel should look like i.e. not very original. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplesnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear purplesnack,
Thanks for your very lovely review of our hotel and facilities. Its great to see we looked after your needs so well and perhaps exceeded your expectations on some levels. I will communicate your very positive review with the team.
Warm Regards
Cathal Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,216 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,726 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
728 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range: £133 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing