We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for West Cork”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 10 Schull B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for West Cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here when in Schull for a family gathering. Martin couldn't have been a better host, full of chat without being intrusive. Great breakfast and clean rooms. Excellent base for touring the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have now stayed here twice. We really enjoyed our stays here, very comfortable guest house and Schull is such a lovely base for exploring West Cork. The guest house owners are very friendly and now the price has come down. I think this is to be lauded in our current economic climate. Great spot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Great spot. Nice breaky. Plenty to choose from&all fresh. Recommended pubs&eats before we even thought to ask. Close to village but far enough there's no noise.
€80 for a twin room a little steep I think. 70 would be my aim.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamieharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

| have stayed here on four occasions at different times of the year. The welcome received from Susan and Martin and their friendliness at all times make it seem like 'coming home'. There is a wonderful feeling of relaxation here. The rooms - bedrooms, guest lounge and dining room are spotless - while being so welcoming at the same time. If you don't feel like relaxing in the guest lounge, there is a plentiful supply of books in your room to enjoy along with the TV. Great value for money, fabulous breakfasts, friendly chat, great location. How many more superlatives are there?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank romo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Lovely B&B in a great location just 5 minute walk up from the village with extremely friendly proprietors that will advise on just about anything of interest in this beautiful part of west cork. There is an extensive choice for breakfast. Dont forget to try the locally produced granola.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelPIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Great place to stay!! Enjoyed it every time i was there! Wonderful, helpful people! Very quiet and relaxing place! My favourite B&B in Ireland!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basketballbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Great location helpfull staff.Spacious spotless rooms
Cu next year again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianmkjuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schull
8.7 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
1.1 mi away
Rock Hill House
Rock Hill House
#3 of 10 in Schull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schull Harbour Hotel
Schull Harbour Hotel
#2 of 10 in Schull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
Roaring Water Lodge
#5 of 6 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glencairn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glencairn 14 Ardmanagh Drive, Schull, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Schull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Schull
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing