We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage for relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molly Cottage

Molly Cottage in full bloom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molly Cottage in full bloom
Dunmanus Bay clouded in mystery Beautiful sunset to the West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Molly Cottage in full bloom
Dunmanus Bay clouded in mystery
Beautiful sunset to the West
Have breakfast whilst watching the world waking up
Whip up a few meals in the fully equipped kitchen
Another cup of tea dear?!
Relax in the Sitting Room
Settle down with a book
Heat and comfort
Another fine day in paradise
On reflection...
The master suite
Enjoy your pocket-sprung comfort!
A room with a view
Smile and the world smiles..........
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Schull, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jolanta Z
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage for relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent eight days in Molly Cottage, enjoyed every one, and wished to stay much longer.
The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and very clean. It is absolutely everything you require on holiday. Having a morning coffee in a private garden, surrounded by a beautiful countryside, listening only to the birds and bees....can you ask for more?
But, there was more.....Sea safari, Cape Clear , Sheep's Head, Mizen Head, Baltimore Beacon, Lough Hyne etc. We even managed to see dolphins! What a wonderful experience! The cottage makes an excellent base camp for exploring the area.
Thank you Robin, thank you Ireland, we will be back.!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
einigom
sydney
1 review
“West Cork at its finest”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Molly Cottage was an oasis I the most beautiful and atmospheric landscape in the world. Robin and Helen were fantastic hosts and the cottage snug and fully appointed. I'll be back!! Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonRoyce
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 days and enjoyed every one, it was a sad Saturday when we finally had to leave. The cottage was clean, well equipped and you get a box of the most wonderful eggs from Rob's own chickens. You will also get roped into some bleaty baa-nter with his talkative sheep! Rob himself was a great host and generously helped out when we had some trouble with the log burner (wet logs). We'd recommend a combination of peat bricks and logs to get the place properly toasty. We had lots of fun and frolics with Woody, he has endless energy and always gives you a lovely welcome.

The cottage itself is remote, yet perfectly placed for exploring the west side of Ireland and the Wild Atlantic Way, a drive that includes the nearby Mizen head, Sheeps Head and Beara peninisula - this one needs a full day, maybe two to really appreciate the stunning scenery. A trip up to Gabriel's mount is a must to get a full 360 degree panorama of the area. The nearby village of Schull is small but has everything you need including great places to eat and drink, and the people are very hospitable. And if you enjoy stargazing Molly Cottage is a great place to be as there is barely a light to be seen for miles and the sky looks amazing.

If you like to really get away from the world there are few better places than this. We will go back, we hope one day it will be permanent.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bdavisnol...
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage on a lovely property”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

West County Cork at its best. A lovely restored stone cottage complete with high quality materials and great taste. We loved dining with only the sounds of birds singing and sheep bleating. The cottage was also very clean and comfy, we successfully used all of the appliances except the wood stove was not working but it was too warm most of the time anyway. Robin and family were very welcoming. We loved strolling the various areas of the property and it made an excellent base camp for exploring the area. We would love to return some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the cottage.
Liked least: Like many of the roads in Ireland, the road leading to the property is narrow and a bit scary to drive on.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about the area as well as about the cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed the natural surroundings
Molly cottage now has a delightful new wood burning stove fitted for those nights in where you require some extra heat and ambience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichC1979
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely excelent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Molly cottage was absolutely excelent with a warm welcome and great views, all was as promised even when the weather was a bit more than damp.

We would quite happily have stayed permently.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaDa...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Despite the strong winds and rain the trip was very enjoyable. The cottage is very nice and liveable and Robin was very friendly. There are some lovely walks down by the coast and people in the village were very friendly! There was a lovely folk singer on in one of the pubs who plays every Sunday. Overall a great trip in a lovely little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMASMARI...
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will return”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent five days in Molly's cottage.The first thing I'd like to mention is how well equipped the cottage is.Next is the location,idyllic for those of us who live in a city.But the reason we'll stay there again if we return to West Cork is Helen ,Robin and Molly(we didn't meet other daughter Jessie,but am sure she's just as nice)They were so warm and welcoming and always discreet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing