We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!!!”
Review of Grove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove House
Ranked #7 of 10 Schull B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Find!!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had booked 2 nights at this hotel on the basis of reviews read and it absolutely lived up to it's expectations. Katerina, Nico and Max made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They had a music night on the Friday which was full and it was brilliant. Now trying to find an excuse to go back soon! Food also very good. Almost didn't write a review as we wanted to keep it secret!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but harbour views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was so impressed by our meal in Grove House. We ordered the cod and the plaice and it was absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was intimate and friendly, and the beautiful grand piano in the corner and attention to detail makes it the perfect setting for a good chat. Katarina was a great host. We plan to make it our regular restaurant in Schull. Many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Wow.. an amazing restaurant - fantastic location, great service, fresh produce at unbelievable prices. The hardest decision of the night was deciding what to order as everything sounded so good. We were a party of eight and all ordered different things - each one better then the next - a unanimous decision we can't wait to return. Thank you for a fantastic night Katarina & Nico :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saz362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schull, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

for the best food in West Cork! A superb example of wholesome local Irish produce in a very friendly, unpretentious setting. Creative, delicious menu. Superb wine list. Owner & staff could not provide better service. Thank you Katarina & Nico!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a gorgeous guest house. Lovely owner, staff, etc. Comfortable beds, good linen, decent shower and lovely and quiet. It's only 2 mins walk from the village and also has a restaurant of its own.

The breakfast is great too - hearty Irish fry, cereals and great tea. We will most definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Number1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

What more can you say about a place that raises its own chickens and ducks, grows its own herbs etc in a garden and greenhouse and has a greeting committee of three friendly pooches? Oh, and I forgot to mention the harbour view, superb food and comfy beds. The manor home is decorated more for comfort. You don't feel bad if you walk in with wet wellies after a days' sail. I agree with an earlier comment that tea facility in the bed room would have been nice, however all we had to do was ask Nico for a cuppa and he promptly brought us a tray along with a plate of brownies. Later he beckoned us to come watch the fox in the chicken coop! This was the most expensive place we stayed in, but we are not sorry we paid the extra money. Large rooms and clean bathroom. Very centrally located. We walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Four of us attended a last dinner out before returning home from holiday. It was perfect. The food was excellent, with a good choice from the set three course menu, at a very reasonable 25Eu per person.
The service was friendly, attentive and without any stuffiness.
The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. We could not ask for anything more and will certainly be back next year.
We had attended a Mary Coughlan gig in the hotel the previous week where the atmosphere and acoustics were excellent. The venue only holds about 70 people so it was like having a personal performance. A magical evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schull
11.5 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,127 reviews
17.8 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
150 reviews
8.5 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
603 reviews
24.2 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schull Harbour Hotel
Schull Harbour Hotel
#2 of 10 in Schull
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: Colla Road, Schull, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Schull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Schull
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing