We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'A perfect get away'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove House
Ranked #6 of 10 Schull B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“'A perfect get away'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Grove House has great character and wonderful views, with a warm welcome. We were so lucky with the weather and enjoyed a drink in the garden looking out to sea. The icing on the cake was a superb dinner, the best of home cooking. Highly recommonded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

What a great welcome we got and the rooms, just what was required. Great room with a harbour view, no all plastic and new modern furniture it was crafted with love which shows. Definitely worth staying and we will be staying there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed alone for two weeks with the task to finish a book. I could not have chosen a better place! The house, the room, Katarina, the staff, the village, and the countryside were the perfect combination of inspiration, privacy, peace, support and encouragement. And...the food was amazing. Katarina and Nico provided a flexible menu to make every meal a delight. For writers...this is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Six of us stayed here for a local family christening and could not have had a better stay.
The views are amazing; the food all home made and totally delicious; very comfortable and attractive rooms and the team all outstanding.
Katarina is the perfect hostess and nothing is too much trouble.
We will be back for sure.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a beautiful view of Schull harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

on a very last minute trip to west Cork over the Easter weekend we were very fortunate to enjoy a super Good Friday evening in Grove House.

Having spent the whole day on a motorbike it was a pleasure to get a beautiful old room but with a modern power shower. Straight down to dinner, a good bottle (or 2) of wine and an excellent dinner that was way beyond our expectations (and we are very, very fussy eaters)

Delightful Hostess, super friendly Waitress and a Chef who really knows what he is doing.
Bed and Breakfast like it ought to be.



John and Tina

Room Tip: We had the George B Shaw room. very nice but no sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

After driving from Dublin to Schull, we were warmly welcomed by Katarina. We felt so at home in her beautiful bed and breakfast house. We stayed in the Ross Room and it was large and had a fabulous view of Schull Harbour, along with a nice size bathroom and shower. That night we enjoyed an amazing dinner by Chef Nico. During dessert, a few of Katarina's guest got up and started to play the piano and sing, which I found out happens a lot at the Grove House. We were so lucky to be apart of it. Breakfast in the morning was also wonderful. Homemade bread, a great pot of tea and the Salmon was the best I have ever had. I would definitely recommend the Grove House to everyone that visits West Cork and Schull. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Ross Room had a fantastic view of the Schull Harbour, which was a beautiful sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniejames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We drove from Cork to Grove House … through pouring rain and slightly mad West Cork drivers! It was dark by the time we arrived…. and it was truly a warm and gentle welcome we received. A roaring fire, delicious coffee (and quite a few wagging tails!). We appreciated that they opened the House for us before they were ready to receive guests … and we loved our rooms with views. Immaculate, clean, full of character and art, warm and comforting. Bathrooms were fabulous - I had the best shower in a long time. Will come again, during the season. Looking forward to trying Nico's food. Really felt at home and happy here. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldFoodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schull
11.5 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
17.8 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.5 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
14.5 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
24.2 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: Colla Road, Schull, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Schull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Schull
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing