We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B for family near Kilkenny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrickmourne House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B for family near Kilkenny”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here last minute after a nearby place had to cancel. Julie, the owner, was lovely and very accommodating with our 2 yo, who was extremely cranky after a transatlantic flight and a 3 night stay at a horrible Dublin hotel (Arlington on O'Connell St). The room was airy, spacious, and impeccably clean. This was the first comfortable night we spent in Ireland. Really a first class experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The most beautiful place i stayed in! This b&b is like a boutique hotel. Everything is perfect! The breakfast is delicious, the rooms are gorgeous and comfortable and the hosts, Julie and Paddy, are wonderful, kind and very helpful!
I can't thank Julie and Paddy enough for our great stay!

the location is great- inside the countryside, very quiet, peaceful and beautiful! The Nore Valley trail to Inistioge is near by (and is very recommended!) and Kilkenny is 10 minutes away by train from Thomastown.

By the way, we didn't have a car and we didn't have any trouble to travel around there.

If i ever go to Ireland again i will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dariash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Carrickmourne House is in a quiet rural area a few kilometres outside the small town of Thomastown in County Kilkenny. Julie is the friendly and welcoming proprietor. We spent three very pleasant nights there in a spacious bedroom looking out on carefully attended trees and shrubs. We much enjoyed the freshly-cooked tasty breakfasts in the morning. There are magnificent views from the house and garden. Julie was very helpful about the amenities in the vicinity and booked dinner for us in a local restaurant. I would recommend this accommodation without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

You cannot go past the simplicity, comfort and quality of the greeting, accommodation, service and meals at Carrickmourne. Julie is just so warm and helpful, her home and surrounds are magnificent, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is amazing, everything fresh, beautifully prepared and served. The bedroom was so comfortable and I had a wonderful view of the garden and neighbouring farm when relaxing after a full touring day around my ancestral roots in County Kilkenny. You can't beat going for a walk in either direction from the front gate - stunning views everywhere.
If you don't stay there you have missed out on a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonycantwell49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent two very pleasurable nights at Carrickmourne House with the helpful and welcoming hostess, Julie.
Breakfast was in a sunny room with a view over the valley, and included real fresh strawberries, blueberries, and fruit salad - nothing canned here. Thoroughly recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon.
The beautiful house had large and well appointed rooms. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Julie's home. We can't say enough about how warm and welcoming Julie was. The home is beautiful and in a lovely country setting with an absolutely stunning breakfast room overlooking the village. Julie is a very gracious lady and went out of her way for us. She made dinner reservations for our first evening at Sol Bistro that was wonderful! The room and bath were immaculate and to add to the gorgeous breakfast area she has tranquil instrumental music playing with a view into a gorgeous garden area. What makes her place so special is it is located in a small village about 8 km from Kilkenny so you are out of the busy, hectic town of Kilkenny. Your loss if you pass up an opportunity to stay at Julie Doyle's lovely B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Level Contributor
307 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed just one night at Carrickmourne but would love to have stayed longer. The welcome was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the owner, Julie. It is a beautiful house in lovely countryside. Our bedroom was spacious and welll equipped and the comfortable lounge was heated by a log fire. Breakfast was very good and more than adequate. There is lots to do in the area - walking, riding, fishing, crafts or just visiting the lovely villages. The only drawback of arrickmourne is that it is 3km out of Thomastown but we got a taxi there for 5 euros after an evening out (Juliehad offered us a lift!) and walked in the next day to collect our car - a lovely walk down a quiet road. I would strongly recommend Carrickmourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
10.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
10.6 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickmourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickmourne House

Property: Carrickmourne House
Address: New Ross Road, Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickmourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrickmourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickmourne House Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing