We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location!”
Review of Abbey House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Thomastown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding at Mt. Juliet estate. The location is absolutely beautiful with the lovely garden and the stream running through the property and the old mill attached. Gorgeous and picturesque! The room was as expected. Clean and spacious. Roasting hot in the unexpectedly hot weather, but the staff was prompt with providing us with cold water and kept it refreshed regularly throughout our stay. Breakfast was scrumptious!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

A beautiful house directly opposite Jerpoint abbey. Directions on the internet made it easy to find. A friendly welcome, relaxed atmosphere, good facilities, great breakfast menu. The room was spotless, and on a blisteringly hot day to find that the shower gave a generous amount of water was wonderful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Greeted on arrival with polite friendly young Lady that was more than helpful as i was late ariving due to the ferry running late into Rosslare. The room was fantastic with every amienty covered. Comfy quiet location and slept really well. Breakfast was excellent, highly recommend the fried breakfast. The owner came to say hello and again checked that all was ok and was i happy. If their was a Six Star B&B this is it. I have stayed in B&B all over Ireland and the UK this one wins hands down. Great experience with a family feel around it and good people with a good sense of humour. Many Thanks and see you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Abbey House while attending a wedding at Mount Juliet, a great alternative and very close. We were greeted by a lovely lady Linda who was around for the whole weekend if we needed anything. Our room was bright, fresh and most importantly spotlessly clean. The breakfast was scrumptious and there was more of everything if you wanted it! We will definitely return again if we find ourselves in that part of the country. Highly recommend if attending a function in Mount Juliet. 5 minutes in a taxi. Thanks to all the staff, especially to the two adorable little girls of the house Grace & Emily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aislingmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed before but I have to say it just gets better and better. The location is so close to Mount Juliet and its every bit as good,the rooms are spectacular and spotless. The welcome from the family is warm and genuine even though the lady of the house was not around her daughter is cut from the same cloth. But the breakfast just gets better and better, fresh juice, fresh fruit, home cooked trout, French toast and a full breakfast like I never have tasted. This place is a gem and at €40 a steal.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineDonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This started badly. The website co-ordinates given were 38 Km out. Luckily, I knew roughly where to go anyway. On arrival, I was "greeted" by a grumpy lady (not the owner). There was no welcome, just an offer of a cup of tea made with such lack of enthusiasm that it sounded like she was daring me to accept. I declined. I mentioned the wrong GPS location to the husband (nothing to do with me), then to the son (I wouldn't know about that, but I'll get my mother). I waited 15 minutes, but neither mother nor son reappeared. The room was clean, and the shower was hot. Plenty of bedding, good sheets, and towels that were like sandpaper. Breakfast was very good, plenty of cereals, fresh fruit, and a cooked breakfast to order. Four times, I heard groans of "Oh God", coming from the kitchen, which was strange to say the least. Conversation is definitely not the owner's strongpoint. Neither is smiling. I mentioned the GPS issue to her, and I wished I hadn't. Her response was to say she knew nothing about it - she wouldn't even know who to contact to fix it - and she went on to moan about some confusion between her phone number and that of another local business. A simple "thank you for pointing that out", would have been a lot nicer. The advantage a B&B has over a hotel is supposed to be that it is more personal, and more like being in a family home than an anonymous hotel. I can honestly say that I been made feel more welcome in hotels where no-one speaks English than I was in this establishment. This is a shame, because the house is lovely, and there is a nice river at the back. There is a fine lounge area for relaxing, and a good selection of reading material. The beds are comfy, and it is very clean. And the food is excellent. The owner acted as though she wishes she would have preferred if I stayed somewhere else, and after this sort of welcome, she need not worry, because I won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothingbutthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A very good friend of mine stayed at Abbey House while attending my wedding. She described Abbey House as a home away from home with stellar service and told me to review it as she didnt have a Tripadvisor account. For EUR75 per night, she had a big room which was clean and well maintained and a great breakfast for 2 daily. They also very kindly picked her up from the train station, sent her to the church for the wedding and took her back to the train station after her stay without charge. Excellent and warm service. It was her first time in Ireland and her stay gave her a very good impression of the country. The house is also by the river and offers great views and is very peaceful. She loved it by all accounts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiiYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
10.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,801 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
10.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
7.1 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
498 reviews
10.3 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House B&B

Address: Jerpoint Abbey, Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thomastown
Price Range: £78 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in this restored period house in surroundings of old world elegance in the shadow of Jerpoint Abbey. Ideal location for fishing, hunting, golfing, scenic routes & centrally located to the Kilkenny craft trail. Pets welcome! Mount Juliet International championship golf course 4km. Half way between Kilkenny & Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey House B&B Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing