We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to remember”
Review of Abbey House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Thomastown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

my husband and I stayed here by chance calling upon the door at 9 pm. We were warmly received in a charming character filled property. The bed was large and really comfortable. We slept like logs! The breakfast was excellent. Home baked scones, fresh orange juice, fruit salad beyond the ordinary mixture, and fresh and free range produce beautifully cooked. The best breakfast in Ireland!! the cost of the stay was extremely reasonable. Not your ordinary B&B. A place we will remember because of the warmth of the welcome, its cleanliness, excellent value & superb breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mapcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

On a trip to Ireland in May 2013 we booked a night at Jerpoint Abbey. We were 2 couples from the US on our first trip to Ireland. Helen, the innkeeper, was delightful and recommended a wonderful restaurant, Sol, in Thomastown about 5 minute drive. The grounds and ruins at Jerpoint were lovely as was the tour of the Abbey across the road, which was not on our itinerary, but worth the tour. Highly recommend a stay at Jerpoint!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As some others said, the breakfast is just marvelous. We have been traveling in Ireland in June 2013, from five places this was the one with best breakfast: not only cereals, great choices of excellent fruits, toast, jam, full Irish breakfast, salmon, and the fantastic truit. The place is lovely and quite, opposite of Jerpoint Abbey (a great place to visit as well). Spectacular also because of the hundreds of ravens or crows - this gives an almost mysterious touch to the place, even though the lady of the house is not very amused by the birds. Don't be afraid, you won't hear them at night! This place is definitely a great choice. By the way, we got offered a fresh tea and cake for welcome which saved our first evening when we arrived late and without food...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending a wedding at Mt. Juliet estate. The location is absolutely beautiful with the lovely garden and the stream running through the property and the old mill attached. Gorgeous and picturesque! The room was as expected. Clean and spacious. Roasting hot in the unexpectedly hot weather, but the staff was prompt with providing us with cold water and kept it refreshed regularly throughout our stay. Breakfast was scrumptious!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A beautiful house directly opposite Jerpoint abbey. Directions on the internet made it easy to find. A friendly welcome, relaxed atmosphere, good facilities, great breakfast menu. The room was spotless, and on a blisteringly hot day to find that the shower gave a generous amount of water was wonderful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Greeted on arrival with polite friendly young Lady that was more than helpful as i was late ariving due to the ferry running late into Rosslare. The room was fantastic with every amienty covered. Comfy quiet location and slept really well. Breakfast was excellent, highly recommend the fried breakfast. The owner came to say hello and again checked that all was ok and was i happy. If their was a Six Star B&B this is it. I have stayed in B&B all over Ireland and the UK this one wins hands down. Great experience with a family feel around it and good people with a good sense of humour. Many Thanks and see you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Abbey House while attending a wedding at Mount Juliet, a great alternative and very close. We were greeted by a lovely lady Linda who was around for the whole weekend if we needed anything. Our room was bright, fresh and most importantly spotlessly clean. The breakfast was scrumptious and there was more of everything if you wanted it! We will definitely return again if we find ourselves in that part of the country. Highly recommend if attending a function in Mount Juliet. 5 minutes in a taxi. Thanks to all the staff, especially to the two adorable little girls of the house Grace & Emily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aislingmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
10.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
11.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
10.6 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#8 of 75 in Kilkenny
232 reviews
10.3 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 75 in Kilkenny
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House B&B

Address: Jerpoint Abbey, Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thomastown
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in this restored period house in surroundings of old world elegance in the shadow of Jerpoint Abbey. Ideal location for fishing, hunting, golfing, scenic routes & centrally located to the Kilkenny craft trail. Pets welcome! Mount Juliet International championship golf course 4km. Half way between Kilkenny & Waterford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abbey House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey House B&B Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing