We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Superb!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed @ Mount Juliet Estate for one night at the end of September. It was absolutely fantastic! We arrived at 3pm and relaxed with a few (rather lovely!) cocktails.
If you're going here I would definitely recommend Kendals Restaurant the food is just fantastic, especially the chocolate melting middle dessert!
The staff were so lovely and friendly and the grounds so well-maintained. Our room had it's own private garden that we shared with 2 other rooms.
We had such an amazing time (especially as my boyfriend proposed!) & my family & friends have now all booked a night away at this amazing estate. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThefutureMrsGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    184
    81
    34
    37
See reviews for
239
517
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OC, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My Husband and I had the wonderful delight of staying at Mount Juliet in Sept 2006. We still think of it often as our place for a wonderful vacation.
He is an avid golfer and I am an avid equestrian--at Mount Juliet we could enjoy our individual passions and then meet in the pub for meals and sight seeing.

Mount Juliet offers a high bar for attention to detail and guest relations--I absolutely adore this spot in Ireland. I cant recommend it any higher!

Room Tip: We loved staying in Hunters Yard--not as formal as the house and lovely garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in Mt.Juliet for a couple of nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The estate is huge and long walks or bike rides (bikes freely available) can be taken throughout the grounds including the stud. The highlights were the excellent dinner in the Lady Kendall restaurant and the friendly, informal welcome that we received. The only gripe was that the room, which was located in the seperate Clubhouse complex, was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the resort but in saying that I would still rate the room as a decent 4 star standard. The resort is not cheap but in this case you definitely get what you pay for and we look forward to our next visit there. Btw we didn't play golf on this occasion but it goes without saying that the course is absolutely fantastic and formerly hosted the WGC and other significant events.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms in the house are probably of higher quality but are therefore more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Mount Juliet. I am very pleased to read that you and your wife enjoyed your visit, and in particular, your dining experience in Kendals Restaurant. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you both back on your next visit.

Kind regards,


William Kirby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed at Mt. Juliet for two nights on a recent trip to Ireland. This hotel is an old estate on many beautifully manicured acres. The service and setting was top notch. We stayed in the old converted stables (versus the main clubhouse) and found the room spacious and quiet. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was divine and the rooms in the main house are very regal. Only complaint was that the equestrian center had no available horses left for riding, so book the activities early. Looking forward to going back and staying longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationerNewYork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review of Mount Juliet. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your remarks. I am sure on your next visit you will get the opportunity to experience our equestrian facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,


William Kirby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thousand oaks, calif
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Mt Juliet is gorgeous, but not stuffy or formal. The main house enjoys a stunning location, with beautiful public rooms and to-die-for views over a river and extensive horse pastures. Bedrooms are (mostly) very spacious with ultra-comfortable beds. Breakfast in the Lady Helen dining room is delicious - with a cold buffet and hot food ordered a la carte off an extensive menu card. Order the Oatmeal, and it'll come with a shamrock design! Service throughout the Estate is courteous and cordial. If you meet the Estate Manager, Eamonn (or go fishing with him...), ask him about a visit to the kennels, where dozens of Irish Foxhounds will welcome you (literally) with howls of delight! There are puppies, too! The surrounding countryside and towns (Kilkenny, Thomastown) are lovely and appealing to visit. Plan to stay at least one more night than you'd planned . . . you won't regret it! This is the Ireland you dream of.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the main house. Views are good from all rooms - but especially fine overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed at Mount Juliet near the end of September for one night and we both loved it. The grounds are fabulous, both to look at from a comfortable chair with a book (me) or to jog around (my husband). We had dinner there the evening we arrived. It was super from start to finish. The staff are incredibly polite and friendly and the house while enormous still has a very homely yet luxurious feel to it. The bedroom we had was at the top of the house and was huge with a really comfortable bed and amazing view of the river and horses roaming the paddocks.
There is a swimming pool/sauna in a building nearby. It was fine but possibly could do with a bit of updating.
We tried to book a horse-riding trek in Mount Juliet but they were fully booked out. The girl in charge told us about another equestrian center nearby called Warrington which I would highly recommend. It also worked out cheaper.
Overall it worked out quiet expensive but I think it was worth it for a special night away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum_and_3boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent trip to Mount Juliet. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon again.

Kind regards,


William Kirby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Mount Juiet Estate. The hotel itself is wonderful. The original mansion was constructed in the 18th century and the dining room and sitting rooms all have superb moulded ceilings. The estate provides almost every conceivable means of relaxation--an excellent spa and swimming pool, a fine golf course, a skeet shooting range, and horse riding. Our guest room had a magnificent view out across the estate with grazing cows and thoroughbred horses (we were told our room was Tiger Woods's favorite!). The food in the Lady Helen Restaurant was excellent and the service impeccable. We recommend the Mount Juliet Estate strongly to those looking for a quiet period of relaxation in the country. For anyone wishing to tour further, Kilkenny and Jerpoint Abbey are only a short distance away.

Room Tip: Request an upper-floor room looking out over the estate and not a ground-floor room, which can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strathcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,916 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,951 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,757 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Property: Mount Juliet Estate
Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing