We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic manor house south of Kilkenny. A trip back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Romantic manor house south of Kilkenny. A trip back in time”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Lovely manor house from the Victorian era expanded by excellent modern Vila areas with nice Two bedroom suites with all the modern conveniences, including gas fireplaces. Bucolic setting on a hill overlooking a picturesque river and horse farm. Excellent restaurants, clubby bars, great golf course and elegant public rooms in the grand style. Plenty of available outdoor activities. Great place to spend some romantic nights.

Room Tip: The Rose Garden villas were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    182
    80
    34
    35
See reviews for
237
514
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tramore, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed at Mount Juliet last weekend for my wife's birthday and the whole experience was just fantastic. It was the second time that we stayed there and it was every bit as good both times. The service and attention to detail is top class and each and every member of the staff make you feel so welcome.
We went to the spa, which was fabulous and great value for money and ate in Kendal's Restaurant which, as the last time, was really fantastic and really good value.
The swimming pool and leisure centre is also great but make sure if you are staying here that you make use of the wonderful grounds for a long walk because it really is stunning. Naturally if you are into golf the course is magnificent, one of the best around.
The only real negative that I'd have to point to is the size of our room in the Main House. The last time we stayed in the Golf Club and the room was huge but this time in the main house our room and double bed were both on the small size. The room was beautiful but should really be a good bit bigger for a five star.
Anyway that to me is only a small thing in what otherwise was a wonderful stay and yes we will be back - no question about that.
Mount Juliet really is the good life and great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RealMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here for a one night package with friends. We all loved the place, beautiful bedrooms, fabulous grounds, really really lovely hotel. A little disappointed with the service, bar service not really up to standard and service with both dinner and breakfast very slow not up to 5* standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loraine q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We've eaten a few times in Mount Juliet for lunch and it never disappoints. I'd love to stay over in Mount Juliet sometime. The place is just stunning, the grounds are fabulous. Service is great too - the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pineapple_coconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Booked in for a 2 night weekend to discover Thomastown the home of John Martin. The hotel was second to none. Eamon the butler was extremely hospitable and the girls on reception warm and friendly. The room was spacious and very comfortable, overlooking the estate. To top it all the food was fantastic, fillet steak to die for cooked to perfection. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and we even found John Martin's local in Thomastown for a pint of Guinness. This was a special weekend and will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie101267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We spent two nights of our vacation in Ireland at the Mount Juliet. I wish we had spent more. It is a lovely hotel and people could not have been more nice. We had a large room and were greeted with a bottle of champagne for our 25th anniversary. We were also given a glass of champagne with our dinner. We spent our two days horseback riding and taking long walks. We had no desire to leave the property because it was so beautiful. We ate a Lady Helen's and at Kendall's. Both were fantastic. Some of the best food we had in Ireland. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinkletoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Mount Juliet as part of a deal for Food Bloggers for the Savour Kilkenny food festival. This included a night's b&b and a tasting menu dinner.

The room we were given was beautiful, with lots of attention to detail. I loved how they had hidden the kettle away in an antique looking piece of furniture so that it didn't spoil the initial impact of the room.

The meal was amazing! The chefs really worked incredibly hard to put together a varied, local menu. I was left feeling just perfectly full at the end.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and I was amazed at their memory for names and faces, especially as I am terribly lacking in that ability myself! There was also an extra mistaken charge on the bill which was immediately taken off and, when I pointed out that they had missed our room service charge, it was waived. Excellent service!

Now that we know this is not just a golf hotel, we plan to return and perhaps try some of their on site activities.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaSchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Property: Mount Juliet Estate
Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing