We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and resort well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My partner and I travel to Ireland a few times every year and we frequently stay at Mount Juliet when possible. We most recently stayed there at the beginning of June and have another visit already booked for later this year. Mount Juliet is a wonderful place. The hotel is first class. There are a few options for accommodation being, the Hunters Yard, Rose Garden Cottages and the Manor House and we have stayed in them all at different times. The food in both Kendals restaurant and the Lady Helen Dining room is wonderful, and to have breakfast in the Lady Helen Dining Room is truly a memorable experience.

I sometimes find it very difficult to totally relax, but the moment I enter the Mount Juliet Estate I am totally relaxed - it has that kind of feeling for me. The spa, staff and the treatments are excellent - I really enjoyed the head massage. My partner plays golf and he praises the golf course.

There are several activities on the estate and once we arrive at Mount Juliet we park the car and we don't need to leave the estate until we check out. Nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly and professional staff throughout this resort. A truly wonderful place to spend a few days or a longer holiday. Thank you Mount Juliet - we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our family of five recently stayed in the two bedroom cottages at Mount Juliet in Thomastown. This is not the first time we've stayed here, but the first time in the cottages which are perfect for families as they are very large with separate dining rooms, kitchens, washing machines, sitting rooms and well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms. They are decorated in typical cozy and stylish cottage plaids with neutral walls and hardwood floors in all the rooms but the bedrooms. Room service to the cottage is limited but the restaurants are open to having the children and are very helpful. Breakfast is a lovely buffet in the beautiful Georgian dining room of the main house. The equestrian centre is wonderful for children 5/6+ years old and the grounds absolutely stunning complete with walled garden and childrens' playground. Driving through the stud farm was lovely with its abundance of young foals. The clubhouse is casual but nice for lunch and dinner and Kendall's restaurant was delicious for dinner. My husband looks forward to swinging a club on the course next time we are there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Do not think this is just a very pleasant golf course. The Reception staff were excellent and this is where the quality starts. The rooms are well appointed and everything works and the water is piping hot. The bar staff are very convivial, the restaurant staff knowledgable and great fun and the Kendal Restaurant was excellent value for a more sophisticated menu. Our breakfast was served in the Lady Helen room in the main house on the last day and it was superb. The spa is well appointed and spotlessly clean. We didn't play golf whilst we were there, but got a great weekend deal which we can highly recommend. It would be a wonderful place to hold a wedding reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbournerebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

To celebrate our first wedding anniversary we decided to treat ourselves to a night in mount Juliet and we are only sorry that we didn't book for longer. The staff are all very welcoming especially Maurice in the dining room :). The grounds are amazing, full of hidden treasures. I would recommend availing of the free bikes as it is a great way to take in the many acres. Dinner in st Helen's was an unforgettable experience. Real quality food, and great service. we had a round of golf the morning of our departure and even though I'm not the best golfer I enjoyed it immensely was never made to feel like only pros could play there, it really is for everyone and the staff there made it even more enjoyable as again they were so welcoming. The course is stunning with every hole better than the last. We can't say enough about this beautiful place. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back, just for longer next time :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vetlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We absolutely love Mt. Juliet. Unbelievably tranquil and serene. Stayed 7 nights and could have stayed longer! Daily walks to see the horses and cows..
Bike rides..great dining facilities. Oh, and the staff! AMAZING!!! The reception staff is so well trained and you feel immediately welcomed. Rooms are very clean with lush bedding. Common areas are well kept and the environment is like being in a grand old mansion.
We will return!

Room Tip: Facing the lake in main house...if traveling with young children a new accommodation close to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maruska c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here with friends last year and whilst we could only procure rooms in the Golf Club (the main house was full then) we had a very enjoyable stay, loved the location and found the food more than acceptable. What a difference a year makes! We again booked rooms in the Golf Club on the grounds of economy whilst our more well heeled chums booked the main house. They then couldn't make it so we travelled alone.Whilst making the booking I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday and also reserved a table for six in the Lady Helen restaurant. We had friends who live locally who were to join us to celebrate my husband's birthday but I obviously had to reduce this to four when our travelling partners cancelled. Several weeks before we received a telephone call informing us there would be a concert on the second night of our stay and suggesting we might like to buy tickets which we duly did. On check in the hotel had no record of our reservation for dinner for that evening and were at best brusque in their handling of their ommission, couldn't accommodate the time we had pre booked and glaringly failed to inform us that the restaurant in the Golf Club was in effect closed. We were given the key to our room, not informed of its whereabouts and as a result carried all or luggage upstairs at the Golf Club ( no staff evident) to realise it was ground floor! Any appeal of the Golf Club location was mitigated by an enormous marquee set up for the concert and obscuring the garden and courtyard location. We subsequently met our friends at Barry's in Thomastown (pub on the bridge - a real find for both Guinness and excellent wine)
and returned to the main house about 5 minutes prior to our reservation for dinner. We were then almost frogmarched to the Dining Room until I insisted we had a drink prior, it is of course still my husband's birthday! On a positive note dinner was an extremely exceptional repast and the menu, quality and cooking were superb.
The next morning dawned and we are both wandering about the Golf Club in pursuit of breakfast which the previous year had been served in the Golf Club restaurant Kendalls. After several staff had been questioned one eventually asked if we were residents, that being established we were told we needed to walk to the main house (in the rain) for breakfast. Once there the food was once again stunning and included gluten free sausages and bread (yippee from the coeliac) On enquiring what our options for dinner were we were told that "all the pre concert dinner reservations at Kendalls had gone and the Lady Helen restaurant was closed" so our options were a post concert dinner at later than 10.00pm or starvation.... In the event we decided to eschew the concert and dine at Cafe Sol in Thomastown (surprisingly good) The remainder of our stay passed uneventfully now we knew to walk to the main house for breakfast. The moral of the tale is Mount Juliet is in a lovely location, food is excellent but for everything else maybe look elsewhere unless you can afford a room in the main house.

Room Tip: Go for the main house or go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is singularly the best night's sleep you will ever have. The beds are just pure comfort and luxury. Bathrooms are modern and clean. The whole hotel is spotless and the grounds are beautiful.

There is a pool here and a kid's club. It is a really great place to take kids and there were a lot of families there when we stayed. There is a spa and 2 different restaurants, one is formal and one is a bar bistro. The food was excellent and so was the service. It has a great golf course at the hotel too.

My only regret was that we didn't stay longer. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Splash out on a room with a view of the river and grounds at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC42000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,578 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
9.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
19.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range: £104 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing