We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable - I felt like I had stepped into a scene from Pride & Predjudice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Impeccable - I felt like I had stepped into a scene from Pride & Predjudice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in the Rose Garden Cottages at Mount Juliet Estate for 2 nights and I can honestly say that in years to come, when reflecting on my life, the total experience at Mount Juliet is one that I will recall as being incredibly sumptuous in every aspect. The cottages are 2 bedroom, beautifully finished with all the mod-cons and the bathrooms (there are 2) were so beautifully presented and clean. The king beds are beyond comfortable - like being wrapped in a cloud. I felt like the lady of a country manor staying here. We dined in Kendall's on our first night, by the open fire. The ambience, service and food was spectacular. You know those nights when you don't want to leave because it's just so perfect? That was our night at Kendall's. Additionally, the President's Bar is cosy, welcoming and that perfect venue for an afternoon drink and snack. I was so upset to have to leave - I felt totally at home here. Worth every cent. Spoil yourself.

Room Tip: My mother and I stayed in Cottage 55 which is an upstairs 2 bedroom cottage overlooking the golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyeball09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read such comments and I am very pleased that you had such a wonderful time here. I trust you will have an equally enjoyable time on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    176
    76
    32
    35
See reviews for
224
494
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from a two night stay, we were made to feel very welcome and look forward to returning later in the year. With so many extra touches.
It was our wedding anniversary treat. We stayed in one of the lodges, which were great.
Had breakfast in the club house.
We booked our wedding anniversary dinner in kendals.
This was a real treat. We got two glasses of prosecco on arrival. Which was excellent extra touch.
Food great. I had the steak with the cafe de paris butter. Oh my god! Excellent!
Our waiter Michel was so funny. He couldnt do anything better.

The only negative, my wife went for manicure in the hotel spa, she wasnt happy at all. Thats not what you would expect from 5 star property.
No doubt we will be back and have recommended this to many friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay. I am very pleased that your enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. I will however, pass on your comments regarding the manicure to the Manager of the Spa. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon again at Mount Juliet.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for a week in one of the Rose Garden Lodges.It helped that the weather was excellent.Don't play golf but did one of the golf walks which is much nicer than actually playing golf.Daily activities for the kids (7, 6 & 4) particularly golf, horse riding & gardening (which surprised me) & they loved the "Little Rascals" clubhouse.Very relaxed atmosphere.We dined in the Lady Helen twice-best meals I've ever had & staff are excellent.
Was offered lift back to our lodge after very long night in the bar even though it was a mere 400 or so yards from the main house.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't bother with dessert in the Lady Helen Restaurant.Get one of the Strawberry cocktails from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your visit to Mount Juliet. It is a pleasure to read your comments and I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the many amenities available here. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a wonderful retreat. The grounds kept us in awe. We enjoyed the horses at Bally Hinch stables we ate our breakfasts in the Lady Helen room, and the decor felt like a royal setting. Gorgeous architecture. Although we are not golfers we rode around the estate on bicycles. It was romantic and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your wonderful review of your recent visit and thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Mount Juliet again soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the 10k run weekend, and have been several times before. Overall the estate is superb, excellent facilities and staff.

The Lady Helen Michelin star restaurant is one of the best in Ireland for quality and presentation, however the sister restaurant of Kendal's couldn't hold a candle to it.

Main course of sirloin steak ordered medium rare was delivered quite rare, which for an estate of this quality is disappointing. After sending it back, a new steak was sent out this time overcooked. Also, the quality of the meat was very poor - very fatty and quite grizzly, I had to leave a portion of it as it was inedible. Desert was also a let down, however staff were attentive and courteous when I pointed all of the above out.

Standards must improve, it took some gloss off an otherwise excellent hotel. I would not (possibly never) eat there again, but hotel is excellent, as are staff, facilities and estate.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank OffalyPk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Mount Juliet. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the Lady Helen Restaurant. However, I am sorry to read that your Kendals dining experience was, on this occasion, not up to the standard you expected and I will pass your comments to the Manager concerned. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you soon again at Mount Juliet.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in mount juliet on st valentines day and it was a wonderful experience. Mount juliet is set in beautiful kilkenny countryside and if you like country estates and old worlde charm, mount juliet is the place to go. We didn't stay in the main house instead we were in a lodge. It was spacious and luxurious. We ate in the lady helen restaurant and it was fabulous. Our waiter, i think Maurice was his name, was knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was indeed michelin star. The leisure centre was ok, little bit dated. Breakfast was a buffet style, perhaps a hotel of this standard might do better but food was good. Wish I could have stayed longer and will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Insomnia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments following your stay with us. I am pleased to read you had an unforgettable stay with us. I hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy a longer stay on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The reason we visited Mount Juliet was to experience the dining at The Lady Helen restaurant.
The Wednesday night Tasting Menu is exceptional good value .. 8 courses for €55 which includes a glass of Prosecco. We also opted for the wine pairing for an additional €29. Service was excellent, Maurice was most helpful and knowledgable. My partner cannot eat meat but it was not a problem, the venison course being replaced by turbot. From start to finish it was a wonderful meal, the Michelin Star is well deserved. Looking forward to returning soon.
We had a ground floor room in the main house with access to a small walled garden which would be most pleasant for a Summer visit. Wheelchair accessible bathroom. The only disappointment was the couch in our room which was stained and torn and in need of attention. My partner used the swimming pool which is in the Clubhouse and had the bonus of courtesy car down and back.
Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Room no. 1 has wheelchair accessible bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ribno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your meal in the Lady Helen Restaurant. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience. I take on board your comment regarding the chair in your bedroom and will replace this immediately. Thank you again for your time and hopefully I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Mount Juliet soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Property: Mount Juliet Estate
Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing