We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The setting of the Hotel is wonderful, Being a foodie I was left feeling very disappointed with the breakfast quality. Everything seamed to be pulled out of a package and put on the buffet area. I did expect better from a Irish country estate house. I would nt go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As we offer our guests a wide variety of fresh produce daily at breakfast and have received many great compliments regarding this, I was disappointed to read your remarks. I regret that this element of your stay was not up to the standard you expected during your visit. Thank you again and I hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    176
    76
    32
    35
See reviews for
224
494
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Enjoyed a splendid degustation menu dinner with matched wines on our first evening. This is a beautifully maintained estate with lovely old Georgian rooms in the main house. Enormous bedroom and bathroom in the main house. Great breakfasts with very attentive and knowledgeable service. Wonderful Jack Nicklaus designed golf course and the opportunity to walk the grounds surrounding the course. Superb wedding location. All in all a delightful holiday experience. Thoroughly recommend for a special getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skerrioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you have taken to complete a review of your visit to us and thank you for your splendid comments. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Francis House Children's Hospice Charity Golf Event.
2 nights B&B and dinner in the Clubhouse. 2 Rounds of Golf. The whole experience was fabulous.
The Golf course and facilities were excellent.
Food in the Clubhouse good and reasonably priced.
Breakfast served in the Manor House which was a five minute walk away but Staff offered a lift. The walk was exhilarating with super views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your outing which were a pleasure to read. We will be delighted to welcome you back again and I do hope you will consider us for any outings in the future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to Mount Juliet at least annually since I was 9 years old, I am now 27! I love this place it is truly fantastic and a wonderful relaxing experience.
I just wanted to give the place a review to show my support
One area they could look at modernising is the health club and pool but it is still great as it is.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you have been a regular visitor to Mount Juliet for many years. Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This manor house was the classic example of what I think of as a true country manor house. The grounds are beautiful with a walled garden & trails. There are many activities to do there. I went to the spa & it was very good. My husband did the skeet shooting & felt the person running it was excellent. There is a golf course & a few different restaurants & bars.

Room Tip: Our room was on 2nd floor facing the front of the hotel with a wonderful view of the landscaping. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Your kind comments are appreciated and we hope you will be back to visit us again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have read and spoken to many people that have stayed at Mount Juliet over the years and with this in mind we headed for a 2 night B&B and 1 dinner stay in Kilkenny.
The golf was super and the reception by the staff as you would expect at a 5 star resort - A warm Irish welcome.
The Manor House is lovely and the food in the 1 star Michelin restaurant superb.
The hotel and in particular the Club House where we stayed needs some serious TLC. It feels and looks worn out. The carpets in the Club House (Presidents Bar) has a sour smell and needs sorting.
Maybe the new owners will give it a good overhaul and bring it back because in its current state it is not 5 star.

Room Tip: Stay in the Manor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyclingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay and your kind comments. I do however take on board your comments in relation to some matters you have mentioned and will follow these up with the relevant managers. I hope you will consider returning to Mount Juliet in the future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having just returned from my son's wedding at Mount Juliet, I cannot speak highly enough of this amazing place. The grounds are stunning with a river running through. One could spend many hours exploring. The House has beautiful rooms and suites with views over the grounds bringing such an air of peace and splendour. The service was top class and the most accommodating. Staff always on hand to cater for requirements. Food was A1. A magnificent golf course, a beautiful spa and leisure centre. Club house with excellent food. This was an utterly magic place for the wedding with everything running perfectly. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: View of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review following your son’s wedding at Mount Juliet. I am thrilled that you had a wonderful weekend with us and thank you for your fantastic feedback. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Property: Mount Juliet Estate
Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing