We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key luxury, well-equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

An overnight stay is not long enough to fully assess this luxury golf resort outside Kilkenny but we much enjoyed our brief visit.

Mount Juliet’s multiple facilities are distributed over a large area and moving between them might be unpleasant in bad weather. However, our 'clubhouse' room was beside our choice of restaurant - Kendals Brasserie, junior to the Michelin-starred Lady Helen, a five minute walk away in the former manor house.

The general style is contemporary country house elegance, understated and without excess or bling. Our bottom-of-the-range room was adequately sized and furnished but its shower-only bathroom was rather small.

Dinner in Kendals was a pleasant experience and we thought it good value. The food was excellent but the cheerful waiters/waitresses were overworked, leading to delays in service. The clientele was eclectic and the dress style decidedly informal.

Breakfast is a somewhat awkward-to-use but otherwise good and well-stocked buffet.

All the staff we met were professional and pleasant. WiFi is free throughout the complex and easy to access.

Overall, an enjoyable experience and we would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Wow, this place is amazing. Stayed with my mother for one night as a special treat in August and wished we had stayed longer. Lousie in reservations was exceptional and really made our stay so special. Des was fantastic on the history and tour of the property, what a wealth of information he has and thank you Edwyn at the bar for your homemade ginger ale receipe which was enjoyed with brandys in the bar! Dined at Kendalls restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed and breakfast in the Lady Helen, beautiful spot over looking the river. The hotel staff are amazing, I could not fault them old fashioned good service all round. Our room was big, comfortable and clean and had amazing views over the river and property. There is a wonderful feel about this place and I will definetely return just next time for longer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

i've stayed in Mount Juliet Manor house with my husband and also in the cottages with friends and I have to say the standard was amazing the attention to detail all the little touches felt i was being pampered from the minute i arrived until our farewell goodbye. We ate in the bar, the restaurant and St. Helen's Restaurant and each one was so wonderful from the staff to the food. We used the leisure centre which was fabulous and the Spa would make me travel from Kerry to Kilkenny just for the treatments alone, I fell asleep so many times on the bed i got embarrassed until i was told it was a complement to them that i was so relaxed. i could have stayed their all day infact i did one day as i had booked my husband treatments but he decided to go shooting instead so i gladly took his treatments as well as my own. We went shooting and archery together which were brilliant couple activities especially when i won, the horse ridding was excellent as we got to see the stunning grounds where we might not have seen otherwise. The staff couldn't do enough and the hotel should be very proud of them all. i would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

Room Tip: any room you book will be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Visited Mount Juliet for first time recently - two nights B & B and one dinner. A sublime experience. The main house is full of atmosphere and so comfortable whether in lounge, bedroom or restaurant. Dinner was really delicious in the hotel restaurant - as was our meal the second night in The President's Bar. Everything so fresh, cooked to perfection and served with attention to detail. Our room was at the top of house, a lovely bay room with four windows. The ceiling was not too high, which resulted in the room being cosy and spacious all at the same time. The bathroom was well appointed - however, at this stage of my life I prefer a separate shower [rather than over bath].

There are spectacular views everywhere, and though busy, the hotel had plenty of nooks and crannies to retire too.

We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 32 is bay riverside room with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank countrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

oh i love mount juliet. played with my 3 buddies today. the new owners have given all the staff a wake up call about working in modern ireland. 14 staff have got the chop. the pro shop was so well stocked. francis was so helpful behind the counter. the locker rooms and showers were the best ever. the corse was in top condition. the burger at half way is great idea. we didn't like the fact that the tees were so far forward. but we loved it anyway. will be back for sure.
.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Louis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

on arrival to the hotel we were met at the door by staff, immediately I knew I was in for a special meal and indeed I was taken on a food journey of delight, attention from the waiting staff was splendid. .A basket of beautiful breads arrived all with great taste. We chose a taster menu with 7 courses. The food was amazing, from the scallops to the duck. Food presentation was superb and divine on taste. On the down side the wine which was very nice but a bit expensive. Its a beautiful old building full of charm and the staff were excellent. After our meal we had a wonderful walk on the grounds., wonderful experience. I look forward to returning

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank beanie442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have being here twice this year and what a special place it is the food staff hotel and location are superb and offers a real treat congrats to all the staff on there Michelin star thoroughly deserved ! Grounds are amazing to walk or cycle it's one of our favourites in Ireland !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Neven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range: £125 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing