We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Vaulted ceiling Living Room with solid fuel stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vaulted ceiling Living Room with solid fuel stove
fully fitted kitchen with views of church second image of living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Vaulted ceiling Living Room with solid fuel stove
fully fitted kitchen with views of church
second image of living area.
Bedroom 1 with en suite
bedroom 2 with en suite
Some of the gardens around the main house
View of the church - our next door neighbour!
kitchen
Image of garden and parking area from front door.
Quick shot of outside..
En suite #2
Taken through kitchen window.
From front door, looking out.
From front door, looking in!
En suite #1
Beautiful living room with wood burning stove.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thomastown, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James M
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018

A good location to tour the area, the cottage was lovley big rooms very clean and Lorraine was the perfect host, tea coffee butter bread fruit jam etc all supplied for our arrival, our son and wife arranged to visit late and where supplied another lovely self catering appartment. it feels very safe with security gate enterance, a week was not long enough to visit everything and we would love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Jim! Thank you so much for the kind words. It was such a pleasure to have you and your family all here. If you are ever back this way, we’d love to have you stay with us again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great wee place”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked this cottage for work. We took someone we support over for a holiday last year and did it again this year. This wee cottage was perfect for our needs. And if we return in the future we will definitely book here again. Lorraine was lovely too. She was very helpful and left some provisions for us too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan H
1 review
“Private and historical”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely and close to all amenities. Very private with well appointed kitchen and lounge. Large bedrooms with en-suite facilities. Lorraine, the owner was very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write Megan, I appreciate it. I'm glad you all enjoyed your time at the Cottage. Best wishes for the rest of the summer. Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobChaldo...
Chaldon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of the way, quiet and peaceful.”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very large and well appointed (apart from no bottle opener). A little tired round the edges but we had a good stay and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet
Liked least: Not much
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Bob & Julia, thank you for taking the time to review, we really appreciate it. I didn't realise the bottle opener was missing but I will rectify that posthaste. I take on board your comment on parts of it being a bit tired and will use that constructively for next season, while still trying to maintain its old world charm (being over 120 years old). Again, sincere thanks to you all and maybe we will see you again some time in the South East of Ireland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snookerst...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and ideal location for touring.”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Four of us stayed at Chapel Cottage for 3 nights and the accommodation was brilliant. Massive lounge, fully equipped kitchen and 2 large en-suite bedrooms, set in the grounds of an old convent. Truly a home-from-home with everything that you need, even a log burner with lots of wood and coal available to use. The accommodation is just a 5 minute walk from Thomastown that has pubs, eateries and shops. The Thomastown Inn was especially welcoming with Declan the landlord making us most welcome. The Sol Bistro is excellent for food, drink and atmosphere. The cottage is ideally situated for exploring the local area and is only 15 minutes by car from Kilkenny, which is a lively and bustling town. We would (will) definitely go back again....Faultless, and Lorraine, the owner, was very helpful and always available for any help or information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort of the property.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our vaccation.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2016
Steve& Co! Thank you for your lovely review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your time in Thomastown so much. I'm glad you found Chapel View Cottage to your liking and that it had everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable. We'd be delighted to have you stay again and appreciate the kind words. Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Universal City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation Rental House”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owner, Lorraine, and her family were the perfect hosts for these first-time visitors from the States (a couple in their early 60's with a late 30's daughter). Once I booked, we conversed briefly on-line which set my mind to ease. We arrived, and while she was out of the village at the specific time of our arrival (because we took our time sight-seeing on the way down from Dublin), was able to call the cell and received good info on how to find the actual rental location. The hosts were available throughout our stay, but in our case, we did day trips down to Kilkenney, Youghal, Cork, Waterford and Wicklow. Wonderful place to base from on the Southeast part of the Republic of Ireland. The pictures are very accurate, and everything was explained verbally, plus a notebook detailing the same information. We spent 3 nights out of 11 on our Ireland self-guided tour, and wish we had booked 4-5 nights. So much to see and do in the immediate and surrounding area! The town itself has a large (by Irish standards) grocery on one main road out of town and many "village centre" shops, restaurants and pubs. One pub had an "off-premise" license which allowed for purchasing and bringing adult beverages back to this quaint but modern rental. Inside a gated area gave us an extra sense of security. Even though it was August, we had a fire every night that truly set the mood. This truly was one of the "Gems of Ireland" during our 2-week visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The closeness of the Village while still being away from the heart of the village.
Liked least: Not a thing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
David, Karen and Stephanie! Thank you so much for the lovely review and I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your time at Chapel View Cottage. It's lovely to hear that you found it central for all your sightseeing trips and even nicer to know that you looked forward to coming back in the evening to relax and unwind here! In a nutshell, that is all we want for our guests so thank you for taking the time to articulate it so well. If you ever find yourselves back this way again, we'd love to see you and, until then, stay well and keep smiling. Best wishes from South-East Ireland. Lorraine, Garvin & Family x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cora D
1 review
“Old time charm with a splash of modern.”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Chaple View cottage for a weekend in May. The living area was very spacious with an old time charm . At the heart of the cottage was a wood burning stove which gave great warmth and atmosphere on the chilly May evenings. We loved that both bedrooms were large and had their own bathrooms.The cottage is located in a very peaceful and quiet setting ,great for anyone looking to holiday in the heart of the countryside but within walking distance of a town. We loved what Thomastown had to offer with it's beautiful craft shops , bars ,restaurants and quaint cafes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Cora, thank you so much for this lovely review, our first (of many hopefully!). Being the first to stay at Chapel View, I'm really pleased that you liked the old world charm of the cottage, it is exactly what we were striving to achieve. Hopefully, as you mentioned to me, we will be seeing your again before long and you will get to explore more of what Kilkenny has to offer. Enjoy the summer and best regards to Tom and the children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing