We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Ballaghtobin

Ballaghtobin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballaghtobin
Ranked #3 of 3 Callan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Ballaghtobin House is the quintessential Manor Home. It is perhaps the nicest place we have ever stayed in all our travels. Just lovely. Off the beaten path, incredible grounds and gardens, perfectly decorated with a quiet elegance. Catherine, your host, has seen to every possible detail. She is charming and funny, helpful and interesting. Breakfast in the dining room is a true dining experience. Our room was decorated in a lovely shade of cream with the most gorgeous view of the grounds and the stately copper beech in the front yard. The care for detail and your every comfort is thoughtful and beautiful. The furnishings are just lovely, you have the use of a guest living room with an honor bar, and you truly feel pampered. We have traveled all over the world and Ballaghtobin is about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maine276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Ballaghtobin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2010

Quite simply one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Our friends were getting married in nearby Thomastown and we choose Ballaghtobin pretty much randomly and because we loved the web site - and it far exceeded any expectations - we did not want to leave and nearly couldn’t after the world class breakfast served up the following morning. Stay in the barrack room if you can it really is beautiful and so comfortable, Catherine could teach others a thing or three about how to host, I have rarely felt so comfortable in what is essentially someone else’s home, and we are long since looking for excuses to return

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NicolaHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

A wonderful manor house B&B. Excellent location for exploring Kilkenny, Cashel, Cahir and other villages throughout the region. Bountiful breakfasts, beautifully furnished rooms and a stunning property for walks and exploring. Catherine makes you feel at home once you walk through her door. A wonderful find!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeadowLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Just back from a wonderful stay in the gorgeous Ballghtobin house. Set in beautiful parkland, the house is stunning, with huge bedrooms furnished to an extremely high standard. The attention to detail was simply amazing-- each room (Barracks and the Nursery room) had everything to make the stay perfect. Breakfast in the morning was great- a large selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereals and also the option of a cooked breakfast. The lady of the house, Catherine, really made us and our two dogs feel very welcome and our dogs certainly enjoyed the sniffs and the wildlife in the extensive parkland! I stay in lots of guesthouses in Ireland, UK and Europe but Ballaghtobin house is really in my top 5 best ever! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunmanwayWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Unfortunately we only had time to stay at Ballaghtobin for one night but it was a delight and very special. The house is full of Irish charm and history and our room very romantic. Breakfast was one of the best we had while in Ireland. It is centrally located if you plan on staying a few days and roaming the countryside (it's near Kilkenny and Cashel) ; if you are only visiting Kilkenny and plan on spending a few days there you might consider staying closer to town. I thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funloverforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We were nearing the end of a three week holiday when we arrived at Ballaghtobin. It was wonderful. The history of the house, the grounds, and the a perfectly appointed guestroom and bath made it a destination all its own. The convenient, central location provided access Waterford, Cashel, and Kilkenny. Although a little off the beaten track, it is worth it. Ballaghtobin was our favorite lodging.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Allyn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Three of us (1 double, 1 single) spent 3 wonderful nights at Ballaghtobin.

Impeccable surroundings, spacious suites (bedroom, bathroom & sitting room), and totally quiet surroundings on acres of its own grounds, Ballaghtobin was a most delightful experience.

Did I mention our gracious hostess, Catherine? Or the excellent breakfasts? Or the honour bar in the guests' lounge?

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Balladeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ballaghtobin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaghtobin

Address: Callan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Callan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Callan
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing