We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid hospitality”
Review of Ballaghtobin

Ballaghtobin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballaghtobin
Ranked #3 of 3 Callan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Ballaghtobin is ideally sited for visiting Kilkenny city. The house is home to the charming Gabbetts - Catherine and Mickey. It's a stylish house and guests are warmly welcomed. Our room was delightfully and comfortably appointed with every possible request anticipated. We spent a relaxing first evening in the lovely drawing room chatting with our hosts and with another guest couple. On our second evening we were the only guests and relaxed again in the drawing room with the Gabbetts' extensive collection of books on many Irish subjects. Breakfast was both delicious and extensive, served in the stylish dining room.
Ballaghtobin is also a working farm run by the family. A by-product of Mickey's forestry operation is the availability of wood chip to power the very modern heating and hot water system.
Thoroughly recommended for a relaxed yet sophisticated stay with a charming family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife, daughter, dog and I spent a wonderful weekend here. We stayed in the nursery room which offered a separate(d) area for our daughter and a large bathroom with many modern touches. The hostess, Catherine, was delightful and welcoming. Breakfast was vast. The experience was akin to staying with family. The house is lovely and the grounds impeccable. We especially enjoyed the very responsive cows. I hope we have the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here with my family, and dog for one night at the end of the Summer. The grounds are lovely, with lots of mature trees and our puppy loved the freedom of running around. The rooms are comfortable with nice touches, in all there is a generosity in the quality of the appointment of the rooms with extra touches here and there. The breakfast was lovely and again it was generous in the quality and variety offered.
This place represents really good value for money and a relaxed hospitality and look forward to repeat visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklehorse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Only stayed one night, but have not stayed at such a well appointed guest house in Ireland before. Very impressive selection of amenities provided in the room. Breakfast was superb and cooked to order. Nice selection of fruit laid out, including those that don't have the letter "p". Good wi-fi connection and very friendly hostess. Well done Catherine!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We arrived during a rain storm. Within minutes Catherine made us welcome, set up wi-fi links for email and settled us in. This house is a family home and you are made to feel part of the family right from the start. Everything is provided to a very high standard from bedrooms to breakfast. Good company, good food, what else would you need to enjoy a break in the Irish countryside?

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caps158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Ballaghtobin House is the quintessential Manor Home. It is perhaps the nicest place we have ever stayed in all our travels. Just lovely. Off the beaten path, incredible grounds and gardens, perfectly decorated with a quiet elegance. Catherine, your host, has seen to every possible detail. She is charming and funny, helpful and interesting. Breakfast in the dining room is a true dining experience. Our room was decorated in a lovely shade of cream with the most gorgeous view of the grounds and the stately copper beech in the front yard. The care for detail and your every comfort is thoughtful and beautiful. The furnishings are just lovely, you have the use of a guest living room with an honor bar, and you truly feel pampered. We have traveled all over the world and Ballaghtobin is about as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maine276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Quite simply one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Our friends were getting married in nearby Thomastown and we choose Ballaghtobin pretty much randomly and because we loved the web site - and it far exceeded any expectations - we did not want to leave and nearly couldn’t after the world class breakfast served up the following morning. Stay in the barrack room if you can it really is beautiful and so comfortable, Catherine could teach others a thing or three about how to host, I have rarely felt so comfortable in what is essentially someone else’s home, and we are long since looking for excuses to return

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NicolaHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ballaghtobin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaghtobin

Address: Callan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Callan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Callan
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing