We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Home and warm owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballaghtobin

Ballaghtobin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballaghtobin
Ranked #2 of 2 Callan B&B and Inns
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home and warm owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Ballaghtobin is a wonderful home owned by Catherine and Mickey. We stayed for two nights while visiting Kilkenny and Mount Juliet Golf course. The surroundings are stunning albeit remote, so definitely eat dinner before you arrive. Breakfast is served in their lovely dinning room. Definitely worth a visit for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agfmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancashire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our outward journey to Kerry and also to break the journey to Dun Laoghaire on the return leg.
What a wonderful classic country home, set in lovely peaceful surroundings and extremely good value, considering the sophisticated nature of the whole experience.
Our room was beautifully appointed and the beds were superb.
Mickey and Catherine Gabbett are lovely hosts and it is worthy of note that, as Catherine had to set off very early on the morning after our arrival for a funeral in Belfast, Mickey got the job of preparing our breakfast which he completed in exemplary fashion....he does a mean scrambled egg!
I have no hesitation in recommending its delights.

Room Tip: They'll all be gorgeous I know, but ours was the 'Spare Room' on a corner of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Ballaghtobin is ideally sited for visiting Kilkenny city. The house is home to the charming Gabbetts - Catherine and Mickey. It's a stylish house and guests are warmly welcomed. Our room was delightfully and comfortably appointed with every possible request anticipated. We spent a relaxing first evening in the lovely drawing room chatting with our hosts and with another guest couple. On our second evening we were the only guests and relaxed again in the drawing room with the Gabbetts' extensive collection of books on many Irish subjects. Breakfast was both delicious and extensive, served in the stylish dining room.
Ballaghtobin is also a working farm run by the family. A by-product of Mickey's forestry operation is the availability of wood chip to power the very modern heating and hot water system.
Thoroughly recommended for a relaxed yet sophisticated stay with a charming family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelWinnerRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife, daughter, dog and I spent a wonderful weekend here. We stayed in the nursery room which offered a separate(d) area for our daughter and a large bathroom with many modern touches. The hostess, Catherine, was delightful and welcoming. Breakfast was vast. The experience was akin to staying with family. The house is lovely and the grounds impeccable. We especially enjoyed the very responsive cows. I hope we have the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed here with my family, and dog for one night at the end of the Summer. The grounds are lovely, with lots of mature trees and our puppy loved the freedom of running around. The rooms are comfortable with nice touches, in all there is a generosity in the quality of the appointment of the rooms with extra touches here and there. The breakfast was lovely and again it was generous in the quality and variety offered.
This place represents really good value for money and a relaxed hospitality and look forward to repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklehorse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Only stayed one night, but have not stayed at such a well appointed guest house in Ireland before. Very impressive selection of amenities provided in the room. Breakfast was superb and cooked to order. Nice selection of fruit laid out, including those that don't have the letter "p". Good wi-fi connection and very friendly hostess. Well done Catherine!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Sussex, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We arrived during a rain storm. Within minutes Catherine made us welcome, set up wi-fi links for email and settled us in. This house is a family home and you are made to feel part of the family right from the start. Everything is provided to a very high standard from bedrooms to breakfast. Good company, good food, what else would you need to enjoy a break in the Irish countryside?

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caps158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callan
0.0 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#10 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballaghtobin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaghtobin

Property: Ballaghtobin
Address: Callan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Callan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Callan
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing