We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were sorry to have to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Benbulben Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Drumcliff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We were sorry to have to leave.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked two nights, ended up staying three, and were sad to leave. Ian and Rita have a lovely home in a beautiful setting and are excellent hosts. The recent remodel of their home reflects their thoughtful attention to detail in providing comfortable space for their guests. The beds were comfy, the breakfasts delicious and the area provides lots of opportunities for hiking and cycling. If you are headed to Sligo, don't miss staying at Benbulben Farm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The place is awesome. From the moment we arrived at the farmhouse, we couldn't stop taking pictures of the mountain and the surrounding sceneries. The place is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. After a long drive, we had a very good sleep. The owners. Ian and Marita are the friendliest people. They gave us advice as to where to visit. Breakfast was great, we get to choose and the portion was big. There are sheep and chickens behind the house and a rabbit running around the garden.if I ever come to Ireland. I will definitely stay at Benbulben Farm B & B. Thanks a lot from the 6 Malaysian.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our three days here were fantastic, since arrival to leaving. They are great representatives of the Irish friendly way of life.
The facilities are very good and clean, with the bonus of eating breakfast made with eggs of the farm's chicken and drinking water coming straight from the mountain.
Waking up to see rabbits eating a few metres from our room window was cool.
We've got sunny weather, which enhanced the brilliant colours of nature.
Around 10 or 15 minutes "pleasant drive" we had all what we wanted: good restaurants (The Waterfront, of Rosses Point being by far the best), beach, horse riding, Sligo pubs with live music). Walking up Benbulben mountain directly from the guesthouse was easy.
We forgot a mobile phone when we left and they sent it to our home in London 2 days later.
We highly recommmend everyone to come here.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious and with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Ian and Marguerite do such a fantastic job and make everyone so welcome in a natural way. Their home is fab and so near the mountain for walking. They make time for their guests and the house is so immaculate and the rooms so well furnished - you won't find better anywhere. As for the views, front and rear there's no where like it! Well done guys and hope you do well!

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I agree with Rick B's 6 star gem comments. We wished that we had not been at the end of our trip when we found this lovely b&b. They will be super busy when AA re rates this newly renovated property. They desire at least an AA 5 stars.
Thank you Marita and Ian for being the best hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We would have given 6 or 7 stars but couldn't. Ian, Marita and of course Jamie are exceptional hosts; we felt more like we were visiting family than staying at a B&B. It has been newly renovated throughout, very tastefully done with stunning views of Benbulben in the back and the bay and mountains in the front. They added many detailed touches, such as ramps for wheelie suitcases, towel warmers and a shower I wanted to take home. We spent 3 nights and I would highly recommend not having it be a place you "pass through" for a night. Take time to soak up the beauty and enjoy the many attractions around; excellent place as a hub for day trips. It's a superb area if you are a Yeats fan. We have stayed at many B&B's around the world and this is certainly one of the, if not the, best we've visited because of the hosts, accommodations and views. Marita is an outstanding cook who goes out of her way to give you what you would like. It's a bit out of town but that's why it is so peaceful and serene; good dining is less than 10 minutes away. The turns off N15 are signed but the one going north from Drumcliff can be missed. It's to the right ~1.5 km from Yeats Tavern marked "Castletown". This is a "don't miss" place that we would rearrange itinerary to visit. There is no doubt we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IJsselmuiden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Only 3 weeks after re-opening, this brand new B&B gives everything you want from a B&B, with the luxury of an at least triple priced Hotel. Ian as host, Jamie the little clown and Marita unfortunately only a short time, gave us all the attention and advise you need to spend a week were we only stayd two days on our end of may trip. And when I say luxureous I mean luxureous.
A big room, kingsize beds, a spacious bathroom with a shower tuned perfect between comfort for the guests and responsibility for the environment. And at the end of the day when the byrds become silent, you only hear water floating down only disturbed by a single car or truck on the N 15 a few miles miles down the hill. Last but not least, with the other guest the breakfast talks were great fun supported by a well balanced (;-) breakfast at your choise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumcliff
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
7.4 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
4.6 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
422 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,067 reviews
5.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benbulben Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benbulben Farmhouse B&B

Property: Benbulben Farmhouse B&B
Address: Drumcliffe, Drumcliff F91 N727, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Drumcliff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Drumcliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting magnificent views of Benbulben Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean, Benbulben Farm is a modern farmhouse located in Drumcliffe in County Sligo. It is a Michelin and Lonely Planet recommended bed and breakfast accommodation along with being in the top 300 Best B&B Guide to Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Benbulben Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing