We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Serenity

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumcliff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serenity
Ranked #3 of 3 Drumcliff B&B and Inns
North Liberty, Iowa, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed our first two nights of our trip at Serenity. It was just what we needed, quiet and beautiful setting. My sister's room and a gorgeous view of Benbulben. Brendan is very knowledgeable on the history of the area Elizabeth made a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view of Benbulben.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-as-you-can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Elizabeth welcomed us, showed us our rooms and went off to brew tea for us. She served it in the sitting room and sat and talked with us. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and Brendan came in to talk with us during breakfast, telling us all the history and stories of the area so we could go visit the sites, with their typed instructions for a tour of the area. The views were magnificent and you are close to sligo and the charming town of Rosses Point, where we went for dinner. This place reminded me of the B&Bs in the old days when you were really welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

During our recent 3 week trip in Ireland we stayed here 2 nights but wish we could have stayed a week! Elizabeth and Brendan welcomed us with tea in the sitting room and stayed to share personal and local history. They made Sligo and County Donegal come alive and that made all the difference in our explorations of the area.

Their home is beautiful, peaceful and quiet; just the combination for a good night's sleep in rooms with impeccable linens and comfy beds. The bay view room has the softest lambs wool rug! Then you wake up to a scrumptious breakfast of Elizabeth's homemade wheaten bread, fresh fruit, very generous portion of Donegal smoke salmon and eggs all so artistically presented on delicate china that we took photos before we even lifted our forks!

Be sure to take the 2.5 mile hike up Knocknarea to see the 5,000 year old cairn and the astounding views! We'll always remember the graciousness of Elizabeth and Brendan and we're hoping to return to the quiet beauty of their home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My friends and I visited Sligo to play some golf this past September. I had researched Serenity B&B in advance and had planned to spend just one night there. On seeing the accomodations and having met the gracious hosts, we immediately decided to spend three nights there. That was the best decision of our trip. The hosts were so informative that we received a full history of the area. The hospitality was genuinely warm and inviting, the rooms and solarium were beautiful, and the food was simply great. The cups of tea and cookies on arrival and on a few evenings just capped the warmth of the reception we received. The views from the house were spectacular and believe it or not the weather was good.

We will be returning to Ireland for more golf and will definitely stay at Serenity again. We recommend it to all visitors to the West of Ireland.

Ed Farragher

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

On a trip through the Rosses Point part of County Sligo, we happened upon this B&B by accident. We are so glad we did. It's a wonderful place to spend a night. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable hosts, beautiful views, impeccable rooms and furnishings and great food. What a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. We left with great photos and wonderful memories. Our next trip to Sligo will certainly include another stay at this charming home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Recently stayed here at Serenity B&B. Brendan and Elizabeth are wonderful hosts with great information on the Sligo area. Tremendous location with sweeping views of Sligo Bay and Benbulbin. Rooms are very clean, and the breakfasts were great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We recently stayed at the 'Serenity' B&B during our just-completed tour of Ireland - what a marvellous place, with such kind and interesting hosts!
The property is situated off Rosses Point near Sligo, with beautiful views of the Bay or nearby hills and countryside in every direction.
The 'Serenity' is exquisitely furnished and decorated with an eclectic period/antique theme in every room. The rooms and en-suite bathrooms are very clean, with lots of colourful yet very charming decor. The beds had crisp fresh linens and duvet/comforters, and the bathrooms were equipped with plentiful toiletries and thick towels.
Upon our arrival, our hosts served us tea in the living room and regaled us with stories of the history and lore of the surrounding lands -- they even gave us a printed list of out-of-the-way sites to visit that they had researched and written themselves! The owner (a former school-principal) was exceedingly knowledgeable about the history of the region and provided us with much information about the hidden charms of this fascinating place. It is thanks to his guidance that we saw a number of little-explored sites, from the hill of Queen Maeve, to a hidden green 'fairy-land' -- pure magic!
In the morning, we had a 'Full Irish' breakfast that was served in a large glass-walled conservatory; the variety of available items was excellent and the food was very well-prepared and plentiful.
Overall, an exceptionally pleasant experience that left us with a wealth of happy memories; we would highly recommend a stay at the 'Serenity' B&B on your trip to Sligo.

Room Tip: This is such a quiet, beautiful location that any room -- we had two at opposite ends of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azd_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumcliff
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
2.5 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yeats Lodge
Yeats Lodge
#2 of 3 in Drumcliff
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity

Property: Serenity
Address: Doonierin | Kintogher, Drumcliff, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Drumcliff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Drumcliff
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing