We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" A Gem of a Hotel "”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ard Ri House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ard Ri House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“" A Gem of a Hotel "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at the Ard Ri last night whilst on a business trip in the area. Every member of staff was caring, helpful and attentive. Decent bar which was busy with local people eating and drinking, good choice of beers and ales, very good bar menu which I thought provided very good quality food at a reasonable price. Good night's sleep in a good sized room, decent bathroom and shower. Had a decent hearty breakfast this morning before I departed, very good breakfast choice and although I did not have sausages as another reviewer as had, the bacon and poached eggs served to me were exceptional. After I checked out had 15 mins to kill before being collected to go to the airport at Knock, the receptionist and unbeknown to me the owner who had called in on his morning walk went out of their way to engage in conversation although I am sure they would rather have been doing other things.
If you are planning a trip to The West of Ireland or indeed to Tuam itself I could highly recommend that you stay here - you would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Shaun, thanks very much for taking the time and writing such a great review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again the next time you will be in the West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    68
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
61
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a super overnight stay here, evening meal and breakfast was great and the staff were all very friendly and attentive.
Will stay here again on our next trip and I have already recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hilary, I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and have already recommended us to family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Árd Rí is a lovely hotel, great food, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable room what more can you ask. We had a 3 night stay with 2 dinners, the food is excellent, really friendly staff in every area, we will be back. Their meats are excellent quality, including the sausages at breakfast, I am told their supplier is Mill Meats, a local supplier. Great value for money. 100% all the way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Good morning Maura,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time in writing such a great review of the hotel and our service. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrone
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you are looking somewhere to stay in Tuam look no further than the Ard RI House Hotel. My husband and I with an other couple stayed on Saturday 22/02/2014 and we had a fantastic stay. From the moment we arrived until we checked out everything ran so smoothly. I had contacted the Hotel a few times prior to booking to find out different details and as We were attending the Railway Cup final I wanted to make sure the hotel would serve our purpose. I spoke to Teresa on each occasion and she couldn't have been more helpful.
On arrival there was quite a large gathering in the foyer as there was a function on at the hotel but that did not put Yvonne at reception of her stride. She booked us in so efficiently and with a very friendly welcoming.
The rooms are well decorated, clean and spacious.
On going out into the town later that evening the manager was more than helpful regarding transport!!
The following morning we were greated with yet again friendly faces for breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful and a great selection.
Our check out again was easily dealt with by Yvonne.
We certainly will return again to this Hotel if we need to be down in that direction again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Pauline, thank you very much for your kind words. I am happy to hear that everything went so smoothly for you and your friends from reservation stage to check out. I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gweedore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I arrived late one saturday night having drivin from donegal i didnt have a room booked. Yvonne the receptionist was so nice to me and couldn't do enough to help me[100 out of 100 for Yvonne]. Free wifi throughout the hotel. the bedroom was immaculate and everyone that worked in the hotel was very friendly and willing to help in any way they could. the food was really nice.. thank you all so much for a lovely night in ard ri house hotel.. your hotel is amazing and I will stay again if im ever in tuam very highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureendoherty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Ard Ri House Hotel and I would like to thank you for your excellent review of the service our team provided during your stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here 3 times this week , enjoyed it each time and the staff are terrific. Very good menu , very clean and fast service. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Plenty of parking around the hotel. Can't say anymore but we will be back again to enjoy more

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rainydaysinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks very much for your your great review of the service and quality of food your received. I am happy to hear you enjoyed dinner with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back into Dick Dowlings Bar and the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed over for 1 night and was extremely happy with the clean rooms and standard of service , wi-fi was free throughout the hotel and of good standard , food and drinks were reasonably priced and of above average quality , will be staying again !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and most importantly that you will return. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuam
0.8 mi away
Corralea Court Hotel
13.3 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
14.9 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
17.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
19.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Ri House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Ri House Hotel

Property: Ard Ri House Hotel
Address: Miltown Road (N17), Tuam H54 V267, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tuam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Ri House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ard Rí House Hotel on the Milltown Road in Tuam, Co. Galway invites you to enjoy a welcome with hospitality and service, last savoured in the time of ancient Irish kings. The Ard Rí House Hotel in the East Galway hinterland of low green fields and old stone walls offers the Cead Mile Faílte of a bygone time. Strategically located on the northern outskirts of Tuam we are the perfect launch pad to explore the West of Ireland with Galway City and the Gateway to Connemara National Park only a 30 minute drive away. Tuam is easily accessed with Ireland West Airport Knock on the doorstep and Shannon Airport as well as Dublin Airport within easy driving distance. Wether you are considering a short family break or that important business meeting, Tuam's Ard Rí House Hotel will meet all your expectations, having received the Service Excellence Award from Tripadvisor from 2012, up to and including 2016. Our 51 bedrooms of comfort and style are impeccably presented with the modern guest in mind. The hotel also offers five different Conference Room options with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The dining experience at the Ard Rí House Hotel is presented by the Kiltevna Room Restaurant and our Dick Dowling's Bar. Experience for yourself the hospitality and service usually the preserves of royalty. FAILTE ISTEACH ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ard Ri House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Ri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing