We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corralea Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as bad as reviews”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed for two nights, checked out today.

This hotel was not as bad as reviews. Only negatives were on arrival no parking and when we mentioned it to man checking in he said thats why you get a good deal. His attitude was poor but all other staff were spot on. Food excellent and worth the €5 surcharge for the size of steak we got. Room was grand but was not hoovered snd had crisp crumbs etc at bedsides.

Overall it was a good weekend and the noise was the norm for a hotel on main street of a town. The first man though should not be dealing with public. If there was no deal we wouldn't have drove nearly 4 hours to be there. He should remember that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    34
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
46
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was a family weekend with 10 of us descending on the hotel for the weekend. Rooms were clean and tidy quite a few steps in the hotel.
The staff were very helpful we had breakfast both days Full Irish and an evening meal which was very good.
we had 5 rooms and we all experienced the same problem over the week end at some point this was the water pressure in the bathroom would drop to none at all not that much of a problem if you planned the time of your shower.

Room Tip: Use the Burkes buses instead of Bus Eireann as these are half the price from Galway to Tuam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Overall. we like the Corralea which is why we keep going back. The thing to remember with it is that it serves many purposes within a fairly busy town in Co. Galway. The hotel is bang in the middle of town with good facilities for parties functions, various town institute meeting etc. Because of this, sleep can be disturbed by noise. The car park has only been open once when I have visited (cheap nearby parking is available and I have never had a car damaged whilst using these alternative car parks) because the enclosed car park is used to site a marquee which acts as an extension to the hotel function room. . . . . However, the staff are invariably friendly, the food is good the bar is good, the hotel is in the middle of town and very close to half a dozen good pubs, the rooms (in my experience) are generally good, with a couple being in need of a bit of TLC. The hotel is well worth the money, but please remember it acts as "all things to everyone"

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SG1bbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Went to hotel Sunday for a meal
Found it hard to find a clean table
Attitude of staff was poor menus were all dirty
Ask for a latte they had 2 attempts could not do it asked for dessert waited 20 moneyed and no one came near us
We have used this restraint alot but it has disappointed once to often

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank quo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed on Friday night. We arrived and found the car park was closed because they had a marquee for a 21st that night, more on that later. We had to use pay parking at the church up the town. I then went to bed about 11 pm but the noise from the marquee was blaring into my room until after 2 pm. With the music and fighting going on outside sleep was not going to happen on that night. We were given a free breakfast in the morning as compensation for the noise but the staff seemed totally uninterested in our complaints.

This hotel does not have the capability to host a party and allow guests rooms that are not overcome by noise. I was not the only person to complain in the morning. It seems the entire back of the hotel in unuseable for the purpose of sleep if they have a party in the back. It is pretty obvious they are aware of this yet still allowed us to book a room there. Its very greedy on the Hotels side. I will never stay there again and I am sure almost any other guest that stayed that night will ever be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
8 Thank TheBullIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

good value and overall experience was ok
carpet on landing looks like it need to be replaced as if something was spilled over it
Breakfast was adequate but for the prices being charged it was good.Theres not a lot more to be said oh yeah the car park was closed because they had a marquee in it for the coming Galway races

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Booked this hotel as a second choice and as we were only staying one night going by the reviews thought it seemed okay, we got a friendly reception by the girl behind the desk, it was when we went to go up the stairs and the carpet looked really dirty that our hearts sank because the dirt carried on into the bedroom which didnt look as if it had been hoovered, there was hairs on the shower tray which hadnt been cleaned and a musty smell also, we ventured into the bar where the seating was very shabby but the staff were nice enough. We were wakened just after 6.30 by someone sorting out bottles and beer kegs in the yard very noisily. Going down for breakfast in the bar we had to push tables together as we were a party of four and the staff wern't too helpful, the waitress was effecient enough but a smile once would have been nice, no this was not the hotel for us and will not be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farmerscook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuam
0.9 mi away
Ard Ri House Hotel
12.4 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
534 reviews
16.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
17.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
18.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corralea Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corralea Court Hotel

Property: Corralea Court Hotel
Address: The Square, Tuam, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tuam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corralea Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Corralea Court Hotel! We are Tuam's most historical hotel, built in the heart of Tuam Town Centre in 1832. Corralea Court Hotel offers guests a perfect mix of urban living and the unique and beautiful North Galway countryside. Less than 30 minutes from Galway city and Knock airport, our location is easily accessible. We offer 24 en-suite bedrooms in single, double, triple and deluxe, as well as secure and complimentary on-site parking, and free WiFi in all of the hotel's public areas. The spacious rooms at Corralea Court Hotel all feature satellite TV and room service, with tea/coffee making facilities in each room. Our comfortable Kruger's Bar offers traditional and international cuisine, with daily specials by our in-house culinary team. The Imperial Room is open for functions but also serves in the evenings as a quiet restaurant space for you to enjoy your meal in style and serenity. Although we are proud of our importance in Tuam's history, we are constantly restyling our hotel to keep up with modern designs - The Imperial Room is tastefully decorated with vibrant colours, and we have many modern art pieces hanging from our walls. Our experienced staff will be delighted to assist you in any way that makes your stay with us more comfortable. As well as the facilities offered by ourselves, our location makes it easy for guests to avail of services in Tuam town - sports and leisure services, shops, local bars and restaurants and the historical sights that Tuam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Corralea Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing