We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend, two nights bed & breakfast. Our room was lovely & the breakfast each morning was super tasty & plentiful. The hotel stay was definitely very good value for money. Only issue we did have was a very slow bar service each time we ordered. Wouldn't stop us recommending the hotel to others though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Caro bul,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary weekend at the hotel and that you enjoyed the food and the hotel services.
I will look into the issue of the slow bar service, to ensure it does not happen again.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    231
    100
    40
    21
See reviews for
175
292
30
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went to the lough Rea Hotel Spa for one of there monthly offers. There offers are great value and different ones each month. The Spa is beautiful and the best I have been in. Its located on two floors. The treatment rooms are on the first floor as you enter you are greeted by a lovely receptionist. The treatment rooms are fab. Lovely big treatment bed loads of space. relaxing musice and a great massage and facial done by louise. The best I ever had. The place is spotless. Went up to the thermal suit which is located on the second floor. It has a light and dark room. In the light room there is fab big seats to relax on and can be manovered to suit what position you would like to be in. There is an amazing views looking on to the lake in loughrea. the Dark room has carpet on the floor that you just sink into and the same comefortable couches with sented candles. There is a jacuzzai, herbal sauna,scented steam room,sanarium experience showers and an ice fountain. You get to use this area for an hour with your treatmets. Overall it was a great relaxing few hours and would and will definatly be returning. It uses the Yon Ka Paris products.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Catwalk 10,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were particularly impressed with the Shore island Spa, and in particular Louise.
This is a hidden gem and all the staff are professionally trained and customer focused to make your visit a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

stayed here last weekend as part of a group. very busy there as country music festival being held there. Hotel coped very well with crowds , breakfast and dinner were very nice, staff very helpful.
everyone enjoyed the stay. Although we felt the function room was not big enough for the event!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnmarieG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear AnnmarieG6,

Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay at the hotel, and that you enjoyed the food and the facilities.
There was a huge crowd for the Country Fest and it was a huge success, however I will pass on your comments to the promoter.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed recently with my boyfriend for my 30th birthday as a spa break. We were planning on visiting anyways as I work in a hotel and had researched hotels and the Loughrea hotel offered great value. We seen the living social offer and went with that which was incredible value. On arrival the cocktails served were proper cocktails, not watered down versions which is the norm on these deals. Our room was gorgeous, spotlessly clean and modernly decorated. I loved the view from our room out onto the lake. The wifi worked great in the rooms and there was everything you need in the rooms for a comfortable stay.

The spa is amazing. The little details make a huge difference. Up to date magazines, being explained how things work if you're new to spas which we were. The rasul treatment was included and we did this and had an hour in the spotlessly clean thermal area. The view from the relaxation area is fabulous and so relaxing. My boyfriend had a full body massage and I had a facial. Both great value and our therapists were so professional and really knew what they were doing. He said compared to other massages he felt Jean was the most trained therapist he had come across. I had Louise for my facial who was incredible friendly and helpful and I really appreciated this. I would be back for the spa alone, we both loved it.

We had afternoon after this and the chef had no problem doing up vegetarian food which was welcome as it's sometimes a chore. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was lovely. Having a item other than pasta on the menu for vegetarians instantly made it a nicer meal for me. We were served by Declan Carr a few times over a trip and he is an asset to the hotel, incredibly helpful and friendly.

We will be back to visit for sure. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. Plenty of staff made a difference to quality and the atmosphere and location is perfect. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Book the spa, you won't regret it. They have great offers and the relaxation area alone is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank western l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Dleacht,

Thank you for your lovely review on the hotel. It seems that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and it is great that you got to know our team by name.
I will pass on your kind comments to Jean, Roisin and Declan who stood out during your stay.
The Spa is indeed a jewel that we are very proud of, and the professional manager Melissa and all the girls are highly trained and professional therapists who make it a memorable experience for all the clients that visit the Spa.
Declan Carr has recently been appointed to the position of Duty manager. We are constantly trying to improve all areas of the hotel and we set high standards of service.
I am glad that it was a positive experience during your visit to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Could not fault this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay here.
The hotel was really clean and tidy; the room was perfect with the view of the lake.
Breakfast was exactly what we wanted and the customer service was excellent.
We hope to return soon.
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belfast r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Belfast r,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel, and that everything was to your satisfaction.
We have recently introduced a new Brasserie menu and it has proved to be very popular with both residents and locals. We strive to maintain high standards at the hotel, and it is nice to get the positive feedback so I can pass it on to the team.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were over in Ireland for a wedding in Galway and decided to go a few days in advance using a Groupon Voucher. The hotel proved very good value for money. The room was clean and the large bed was comfortable. Receptionist was helpful (printing details of local walks) and polite and the bistro staff cheerful. The meal in the Bistro was good quality and good value. My wife used the Spa and was really pleased with her treatment was professional and relaxed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPBJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear LondonPbJb,

Thank you for your kind comments in your review on the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got to use the hotels facilities, I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferbane
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before but was prompted to by the wonderful experience we had at the Lough Rea Hotel and Spa last weekend. It was my brother in laws wedding and myself, husband and 4 children stayed overnight. What a fatastic venue. The function room was beautifuly decorated, the room off it for the pre-dinner reception or indeed for quite chats during the evening was so handy and relaxing. The meal was delicious. The rooms were very comfortable and we apreciated extra beds being added to our room to accomodate our family of 6. The breakfast was lovely. But the highlight of our stay had to be the staff, they were all so attentive, friendly and helpful. I would definetly reccommended and return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Extra beds were added to our room as we have a large family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillianNaillij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear JillianNaillj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and your overall stay. We pride our selves on the attention to detail we offer at the hotel and our friendly helpful staff. Our goal is go to the extra mile for our guests, and weddings are our speciality.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.2 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
19.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
21.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing