We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
McLouth, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Location little out of way. Staff were all very friendly. Got a great one night break with dinner very reasonable so wasn't expectin too much. The food in restaurant was fantastic quality and beautiful presentation. Rooms could do with some tlc felt a little run down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SopLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Soplaur,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and dinner in the restaurant. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, however I will check the room you stayed in to ensure that any improvements that are needed are addressed immediately.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    251
    109
    44
    23
See reviews for
195
326
33
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, bar staff while friendly are pretty hit and miss in the service department.

Did not eat here in the evening. Being able to see the food and the containers it comes from while sitting at the bar makes it all a little unappetising. It might be an idea to conceal the bottom part of the carvery unit and put the plastic tubs out of sight while serving á la carte.
Breakfast is very good and plenty of food available.

Spa has a lovely thermal suite and the staff there are very welcoming. It seems to be a busy spot, so book in advance as we were unable to have the treatments we wanted as they were booked up.

Overall, this is a nice hotel and really good value. At the same time, not sure I'll visit again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daisycheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Daisycheer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and for your feedback I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast, and I can assure you that our dinner menu food is of the highest quality and we have received many positive comments about the food. We use only the freshest of local ingredients and the open kitchen allows guests see the food being cooked fresh to order.
It is a shame you did not get to have dinner. I note your comment on the bar service and I will ensure that this is addressed.
I hope that you consider the hotel again while visiting the area and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.


Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed in a family room . Very clean and comfortable. Food in hotel was high quality and good variety on menu, not expensive. Catered well for kids meals . Staff in bar very friendly, pleasant and helpful. My girls took part in Halloween camp. The girls running the camp were brilliant with children, and my girls loved them.
Before booking , I was assured over the phone that my children could take part in the camp.On arrival, the very unhelpful receptionist, who took a phone call in the middle of our checking in, informed me that the halloween camp was for children aged 5-11. My children are 2 and 4. I explained I was told they were ok to take part before I booked, She said to leave it with her and she would find out and let me know. I went back to reception an hour later and she asked how she could help. I said I was looking to find out about the halloween camp , and she said "yes what about it ?" I was eventually informed that it would be ok for them to take part. Except when I brought them up , the girl running the camp said " It was against hotel policy to have children under the age of 5." Had to speak to manager on duty who said it would be ok for them to take part. Also, the playtown was closed, which we found out when we brought the kids over.. . Found a local playground where I found out from parents there is a simular child activity centre in the units next door to the hotel. I explained to the manager that I would have appreciated if someone could have let us know this information in the hotel when we arrived.
Would recommend hotel for couples rather than children. If they had not been allowed into camp, There would have been nothing in hotel for them to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear m m,

Thank you for your review on the hotel. I note from your review that you were very happy with the food, service and cleanliness of the hotel.
However I would like to apologise for the poor experience and the unacceptable way you were treated at reception. I am currently investigating this matter. as this is completely against our customer care policy and the high standards of service that we offer to our guests.
I am glad that your kids got to join in the kids camp and that they were looked after by Kathleen our kids club manager.
I will ensure that this incident at reception never happens again and I thank you for your feedback.
If you are visiting the area in the future, I would be delighted if you could contact me and I will ensure that you experience the true hospitality warm welcome from all our team here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend, two nights bed & breakfast. Our room was lovely & the breakfast each morning was super tasty & plentiful. The hotel stay was definitely very good value for money. Only issue we did have was a very slow bar service each time we ordered. Wouldn't stop us recommending the hotel to others though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Caro bul,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary weekend at the hotel and that you enjoyed the food and the hotel services.
I will look into the issue of the slow bar service, to ensure it does not happen again.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went to the lough Rea Hotel Spa for one of there monthly offers. There offers are great value and different ones each month. The Spa is beautiful and the best I have been in. Its located on two floors. The treatment rooms are on the first floor as you enter you are greeted by a lovely receptionist. The treatment rooms are fab. Lovely big treatment bed loads of space. relaxing musice and a great massage and facial done by louise. The best I ever had. The place is spotless. Went up to the thermal suit which is located on the second floor. It has a light and dark room. In the light room there is fab big seats to relax on and can be manovered to suit what position you would like to be in. There is an amazing views looking on to the lake in loughrea. the Dark room has carpet on the floor that you just sink into and the same comefortable couches with sented candles. There is a jacuzzai, herbal sauna,scented steam room,sanarium experience showers and an ice fountain. You get to use this area for an hour with your treatmets. Overall it was a great relaxing few hours and would and will definatly be returning. It uses the Yon Ka Paris products.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Catwalk 10,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were particularly impressed with the Shore island Spa, and in particular Louise.
This is a hidden gem and all the staff are professionally trained and customer focused to make your visit a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

stayed here last weekend as part of a group. very busy there as country music festival being held there. Hotel coped very well with crowds , breakfast and dinner were very nice, staff very helpful.
everyone enjoyed the stay. Although we felt the function room was not big enough for the event!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnmarieG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear AnnmarieG6,

Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay at the hotel, and that you enjoyed the food and the facilities.
There was a huge crowd for the Country Fest and it was a huge success, however I will pass on your comments to the promoter.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed recently with my boyfriend for my 30th birthday as a spa break. We were planning on visiting anyways as I work in a hotel and had researched hotels and the Loughrea hotel offered great value. We seen the living social offer and went with that which was incredible value. On arrival the cocktails served were proper cocktails, not watered down versions which is the norm on these deals. Our room was gorgeous, spotlessly clean and modernly decorated. I loved the view from our room out onto the lake. The wifi worked great in the rooms and there was everything you need in the rooms for a comfortable stay.

The spa is amazing. The little details make a huge difference. Up to date magazines, being explained how things work if you're new to spas which we were. The rasul treatment was included and we did this and had an hour in the spotlessly clean thermal area. The view from the relaxation area is fabulous and so relaxing. My boyfriend had a full body massage and I had a facial. Both great value and our therapists were so professional and really knew what they were doing. He said compared to other massages he felt Jean was the most trained therapist he had come across. I had Louise for my facial who was incredible friendly and helpful and I really appreciated this. I would be back for the spa alone, we both loved it.

We had afternoon after this and the chef had no problem doing up vegetarian food which was welcome as it's sometimes a chore. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was lovely. Having a item other than pasta on the menu for vegetarians instantly made it a nicer meal for me. We were served by Declan Carr a few times over a trip and he is an asset to the hotel, incredibly helpful and friendly.

We will be back to visit for sure. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. Plenty of staff made a difference to quality and the atmosphere and location is perfect. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Book the spa, you won't regret it. They have great offers and the relaxation area alone is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank western l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Dleacht,

Thank you for your lovely review on the hotel. It seems that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and it is great that you got to know our team by name.
I will pass on your kind comments to Jean, Roisin and Declan who stood out during your stay.
The Spa is indeed a jewel that we are very proud of, and the professional manager Melissa and all the girls are highly trained and professional therapists who make it a memorable experience for all the clients that visit the Spa.
Declan Carr has recently been appointed to the position of Duty manager. We are constantly trying to improve all areas of the hotel and we set high standards of service.
I am glad that it was a positive experience during your visit to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.1 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
202 reviews
17.4 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
773 reviews
21.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,094 reviews
9.9 mi away
Raheen Woods Hotel
Raheen Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Athenry
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing