We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

stayed here recently with my husband and children, lovely friendly welcome, beds very comfortable and family rooms spacious. food good and quick service with kids. will be back as have family in loughrea.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bmk200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    230
    100
    40
    21
See reviews for
175
289
30
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay just got food. Gorgeous hotel inside. Very mordern. Good sized carpark. I've ate here twice and both times the food has been 5*. There's a nice atmosphere in the bar. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless and it's also wheelchair accessible. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SamR325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Heard the hotel was under new ownership so thought I would try it out for Sunday lunch. Have read some not so good reviews but thought I would try it for myself. And very glad I did the food was good but the service was a step above the rest, my waitress was so pleasant and very attentive she could not be more helpful and very engaging. I wish I could remember her name, she was a young blonde girl. Managers take note. Speaking of managers he checked in with me a couple of times making sure every step of my meal was good. Its nice to be taken care off and treated well. So happy I tried this place a hidden gem cannot wait to return. Thank you all of a wonderful afternoon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with friends recently and had a great time with loads in the area to do. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Loved the food, and service from reception to bar was all friendly and courteous. Had two meals during our stay in the lir and it was tasty and well served, staff appeared under control considering it was busy. Looking forward to returning already

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was here with my partner for a relaxing spa weekend! It started very well, the spa was amazing with lovely treatments and immediately began to relax which is just what the doctor ordered in our busy lives! The room was lovely, large and comfortable!
It began to go downhill at dinner, for a 4 star the decor was a bit cheap with no atmosphere..... We then sat down waited 30 minutes to order food, upon asking for the wine menu it took until half way through the mains before the bottle arrived(which was almost thrown at us as the 3 choices asked for were out of stock) It took another 45 min for our plates to be cleared prior to dessert! The restaurant was quiet with 4 members of staff which is what made the experience frustrating! The food was nice nothing special but edible.
As is was a relaxing break we headed back to our room..... It wasn't long before the music started and so began a long long night without a wink of sleep! There was no point to all of the treatments as I am leaving tired and tense as before......

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emcwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights in January 2014 and thought it was OK. The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms were very nice and comfortable. There was a serious draft coming in through the window even though it was fully closed. We did stay during very bad weather though so I'm sure that had something to do with it. The staff at reception were pleasant and helpful.

We had breakfast included as part of our stay and we also ate in the bar on the first night. The service in the bar was awful, it was just so so slow. It wasn't even particularly busy. The food was OK but nothing special. I'm not a fussy eater at all but my fish was so overcooked it looked like it had been dehydrated. Same with breakfast - OK but not great.

The bottom line is the hotel was a perfectly nice place to stay but I'd recommend eating somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

When I phoned at 8.30 am to see if two if us could get a carvery lunch at 12.15 later on, I had a phone call back in 5 minutes to confirm that this was arranged. The carvery doesn't open until 12.30.
Meal was hot and wholesome and staff friendly. I'm hoping the new owner will modernise the bar and restaurant as it's overdue for a facelift.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.2 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
21.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
19.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing