We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to be seen to be believed”
Review of The Turoe Stone

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has to be seen to be believed”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I grew up in the neighbourhood of this stone and did not really appreciate it until now. It is many thousands of years BC and yet has two types of artwork depicted on it. The curves are from the La Taine valley in France and the Greek step pattern speaks for itself.
The entire pattern is raised rather than cut into the stone which makes it different from others in the country.
Imagine someone had to travel from both France and Greece or see their art and bring back the patterns in order for this to be achieved. No tv internet or other types of media in 3500bc.
It is really worth a visit in order to see it and first hand.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting Stone”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The OPW need to place the stone in a better viewing case than the "shed" that they have around it - you can't see the stone properly - what a pity - need a board erected to read about the history of the stone and the importance of it!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaO103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not accessible”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It is not accessible when I was there. It is in a hut and protected but the hut was not open. From what we could see it was impressive. OPW had notices up informing members of the public that the attraction was closed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We put the Turoe stone on our list of things to see and were so dissapointed when we arrived. It is enclosed in a shed! There are 2 narrow windows into which you can peer at the stone, but the windows are dirty from the inside and covered with spider webs. Very difficult to see the stone or the markings. While we saw numerous signs for Turoe Pet farm, we so nothing indicating the Turoe Stone was located at this place. I gave it a 3 because hey, i can say i was there right? Had we known it was encased in this shed, we would have skipped this stop.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveirelandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaley
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Current Turoe Stone Situation Makes The Public The Loser”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This was my fourth trip back to see the Turoe Stone, which sits in a field at a children's petting zoo. My understand is that the OPW is currently attempting to figure out how to keep the stone from deteriorating any further. They have placed a locked garden shed over the stone with two incredibly filthy windows and no additional light in the shed to see the stone. Even a string to turn a lightbulb on and off would be a help. Access to the shed has been denied to the field's owner.
Since there are only two examples of La Tene carving left in Ireland, I hope that OPW comes up with a better interim solution soon. It was odd to me that I visited the other La Tene carved Castlestrange Stone 2 days before and there was no attempt being made at preservation at that site. The stone sits in the farmer's field exposed to the elements. I hope things turn around soon as the stones are absolutely beautiful and, if properly displayed, well worth a visit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Niamhaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Turoe Stone also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to The Turoe Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing