We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotels in the west of ireland”
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

i had the plesure of staying in the lady gregory in september this year for two days and it was the best two days of this year myself and my family had and it was all down to the hotel staff who were brill.we will be back.x p.j and the gang.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our rooms were comfortable, the baths luxurious. The staff made special efforts to be helpful. The pub food was good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Imagine my delight at having to stay in this hotel again, the same hotel I reviewed earlier on in the year, the same hotel that still has the SAME DIRT as the last time I stayed.!!! The same blood stain under the soap dispenser in the first shower cubicle on the left, it had GREEN stagnant pools of water on the way to the changing area, ONLY 1 SHOWER OUT OF THE 6 THAT ARE THERE WORKED, still no wet kit bags, loose hair clogging up the drains of the shower. ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIC. The manager of this hotel needs to wise up...and invest in some cleaning products!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Dear London chops

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in the Lady Gregory Hotel . regarding our lesiure facilities on your feedback ,I would draw your attention to the following

1) we have inspected the apparent " blood stain" on the wall and it is in actual fact a red rawl plug which is flush with the wall and poses no danger of injury.

2) All our floor areas are completely changed several times daily as evidenced by our cleaning rotas and checklists .

3) In response to your previous visit we invited a delegate from the HSA to inspect our premises for their feedback .Arising from this this there has being no negative feedback from them.

4) Hair in the drains is an obvious natural aspect of a Leisure Clubs day to days usage and these are cleaned and checked many times throughout the day as per our checklist and internal standards . I would imagine that this guest had merely entered the shower area before a member of our staff had been through on the next due check .

5) We are currently awating delivery of wet kit bags

While we endeavour to do our daily best to maintain the upkeep and good name of the Swan Leisure club we appreciate and welcome any feedback that may serve to increase the service provided to our loyal and satisifed customers.

cc Tom Watters
Swan Leisure Club Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Staff at reception were very friendly upon arrival. Rooms were clean and well presented, Spa & leisure facilities were good but in need of a small amount of servicing to bring up to scratch. Bar was adequate but not great, dining area similar. Worst part was on out final night the wedding party took over the bar / dining area and we were very much left to fend for ourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Anton N
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in the Lady Gregory Hotel . I am disappointed to learn that your stay was not as you desired . If it be weddings or regular guests, all our patrons are treated equally and none are left without a high quality of service. On the night in question there was a wedding party in the bar however they were in the bar no more than 1 hour ( after weding meal has finished) during this time peroid we always have extra staff allocated to the main bar so that service and quality are mainatined at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in the lady gregory on our Golfing Weekend break and I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The staff are excellent and very friendly and all the managers on duty over the weekend could not do enough for us. I must say from my first contact with the manager Mr Brian Morrissey on the booking to our departure on Sunday Septenber 11th it was a pleasure to deal with the Lady Gregory.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Sean t
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at the Lady Gregory Hotel .Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Lovely qauint hotel, I stayed here with my partner for a anniversary and the Receptionist kindly upgraded us to a Suite with a bottle of Wine on arrival, we were really surprised, what a lovely thought, The rooms are clean and Fresh, Ours of course was huge, we could not have been happier. The facilities were great also and Clean. Food delicious and overall no complaints at all. Hope to be back for next anniversary and every year after as the staff made our weekend very special indeed. Sometimes it is just the little things!! Thanks Lady Gregory!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Arrived and found although had booked one twin and two singles, twin turned out to be a double. Staff it change it although they were not friendly and made no eye contact. Breakfast however was the worst experience. At 8.50 five or more staff were making up tables for lunch and sweeping around us which was extremely noisy. The restaurant manager seemed oblivious to the fact that they were doing this and not attending diners or the amount of disturbance it was causing. The breakfast itself was also very poor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear Tina F

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us . Naturally I am disappointed to learn of the issues you encounteted whilst staying with us It is not our desire to upset any of our diners at breakfast. however as the hotel is quiet busy for lunch service our restaurant manager was merely giving commands and set up requirements for lunch service to our staff . I wish to apologise to you if you felt this was unwelcoming .The remaining points that you raised have being passed on to our head of departments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
15.6 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
839 reviews
15.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
19.3 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range: £40 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing