We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the atmosphere”
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Love the atmosphere in the hotel, very helpful staff,had a meal in the restaurant.. Food was to die for!.. Not that expensive in the restaurant. They also have food in the bar, lots of parking places in front aswell as the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifi197142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Lady Gregory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

A return visit to this hotel to celebrate another family wedding. Given a family room on the second floor which was extremely good value and incredibly spacious. So often family rooms feel like a double with 2 extra beds squeezed in, but this one had masses of room. Some aspects were not quite up to the standard of other hotels we have stayed in but none of these marred our stay. The staff were very helpful, sending an emergency fax for us and helping us check-in online for our return flight, and laid on a tremendous wedding party. One point to note which has been mentioned before - swim hats are required for the pool but can be purchased for a small fee. Bar provides good food, and does a carvery at the weekend which was popular with locals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HantsMum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I are just back from our second break at the Lady Gregory. We do a good few hotel breaks during the winter months we try to do at least 1 per fortnight and travel all over the country to do so. The Lady Gregory is definitely one of our favourites after this visit. We were given a lovely room on the second floor and while the view was nothing to write home about it was non the less a nice area to relax in with large bathroom that came with separate bath and shower. This suited me perfectly being not so mobile. The large double bed was very comfortable and on request extra pillows were provided promptly, the food in the hotel is quiet Lucius and mouth watering and is served promptly by the most wonderful staff we have ever encountered. We were only there for 2 nights but the staff are so friendly we came away feeling as though we had known them for years and on first name terms. The bar man we met was Brian he served us in the evening in the bar with food and drinks, he is a delight to encounter and very obliging. We returned from a day out in Galway on our second day late in the evening and the menu was set for the evening. We did not really want anything from this menu and I enquired if perhaps there might be anything left over from the lunch menu even cold meats would have been nice, he went to the kitchen and after a short period of time returned with 2 plates of Bacon and Cabbage and potato. That was my day complete it was no problem to him to go the extra mile to ensure that guests were happy during their visit to the hotel. The waiting staff in the mornings were two of the nicest girls we have ever encountered in any hotel we have stayed in. Their attitude towards the guests is so refreshing to encounter, they are bright and bubbly and nothing is to much trouble for them to do. Like Brian they have no problem going the extra mile for the guests of the hotel. Breeda and Shiela thank you both so much for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing. The staff of the hotel are great ambassadors for the Hotel Industry in Ireland, if only it was the same in all hotels guests would feel at home no matter where they were staying. Thank you from both of us for a very pleasant stay we will definitely be coming back. ( Mr Lemon Head )

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Nice sized hotel, pleasant staff, good parking and easy to find on the main road just south of Gort centre. A bar also attached, this was a bit clicky. The on site pool is free, but you have to purchase a swimming hat if you don't have one.
The breakfast is good, however they struggled to get the order right, but not to worry they tried hard and what we had was good.
I would stay again,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went into this hotel on our way down to Cork. It looked a very nice and tidy from the outside. We went into the bar looking for a drink and a light snack/meal.We waited over 5 mins at the bar, there were no staff to be seen. Eventually, a barmen did appear, he never spoke to either of us. I looked through the menu and another customer came to the bar and asked how long her food would be. He just shrugged his shoulders and replied about 10 minutes! At this stage we had both had enough and walked out.The level of customer service was terrible, not even to be aknowledged by staff is pure ignorant.. We both agreed wouldn't stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Kieran j

I am terribly saddened to read your review and do apologise to you most sincerely .I would like to assure you that this is most definitely not the level of service we strive to achieve at the Lady Gregory hotel . As you can see from previous comments our level of service and customer satisfaction are consistently high. I was disappointed to learn that you did not take the opportunity to sample our recently re- launched bar food menu, which is proving to be very popular amongst local and hotel guests. I wish to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and I hope this does not deter you from stopping off at the Lady Gregory Hotel again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from a family weekend and have to say enjoyed it greatly ! Wonderful sized family room lovely breakfast lovely lunch :dinner & loved the woodwork interior !! Pool great and all staff was so kind & accomadating to all the family . Music on sat night was icing on the cake too .. Well worth visit value for money :)

Stayed: October 2013
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with friendly, helpful staff. The food in the Copper Beech restaurant was delicious.My only gripe is, although we kept the windows open constantly, the heat was overpowering. The heater was not on, so we couldn't adjust it. Must be lovely in wintertime! It's nice to get a bath and separate shower cubicle. Good wheelchair access. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
15.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,108 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
847 reviews
15.2 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,642 reviews
7.5 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
207 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range: £40 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing