We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lady Gregory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ivy Tower Hotel(Castlebar)
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
US$131
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breaffy Woods Hotel(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Great National Hotel Ballina(Ballina)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
250
170
57
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
170
57
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centrelovely hotelfamily roomfine hotelthe pubironing boardhighly recommend this hotelshannon airportfunction roomfamily weddingfollowing morningstayed for one nightwedding receptionbar foodgalway citybreakfast was excellentfull irish breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Gort is 35 minutes from Shannon Airport by car and surrounded by total beauty as far as the eye can see.
When we arrived at the Lady Gregory Hotel we were welcomed by extremely friendly and efficient staff in all areas within the hotel.

Gort is within a short driving distance of the beautiful Counties of Clare, Mayo and of course Galway, there is so much to see and enjoy. Be sure to have your camara with you to capture the scenic routes you may view and wish to share with others who may visit at another date.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and we welcome you back to The Lady Gregory Hotel in the future for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was at a wedding here recently the function room looked ok,for starter I had the fish cakes which were so cold when served,for main course i had pastry wrapped in salmon which wasnt too warm with mixed veg lucky i didnt break a tooth trying to eat the veg it was so hard,also the beef was so over done it was burnt,for dessert I had porfiteroles with ice-cream the ice cream was pure 'ICE',i was asked by a young waiter if i would like tea or coffee i had said coffee please a tiny drop of coffee was poured into cup so he said he would get another pot of coffee when he came back i wasnt watching what he was doing so i went to drink my coffee it was half tea and half coffee in the cup,waitress and waiters were all over the place hadnt a clue you would know that they have never been trained that's the hotels fault not their fault,the bar in the function room were charging extra for drinks so most of the wedding party went out to hotel bar to buy drinks,I mentioned this to the wedding co-ordinator about the whole day and she just looked at me and walked away very rude and ignorant person she was,she was dress code didnt make an impression for a co-ordinator.I would never go to another wedding here or have my wedding here an absolute disgrace it was.This hotel is very badly run.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jaffa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, General Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear jaffa3,
Thank you for editing your previous posting!
We take all comments seriously, however we would like to point out the following:

Our Lady Gregory Banqueting Suite is not just ok, it is fabulous. The banqueting suite continually takes wedding and function guests breath away. The wow factor is credible. Sorry that it was not to your taste on this occasion.

Due to our quality assurance checks all functions meals do not leave the kitchen unless checked by our awarding winning Head Chef and General Manager. This is a responsibility we take very seriously and a promise we guarantee our bride and grooms; over 800 happy wedding couples since 1998, approximately 200,000 wedding guests alone. The reason for this is that John, Kate and I personally supervise every wedding and ensure all guests’ needs are met and should any issue arise we rectify immediately. I do wish you would consider us again for your wedding reception and call us to discuss your wedding plans on 091-632333. We will endeavour to meet your every need.
Our HACCP control process ensures that all starters are served in excess of a temperature of 70 degrees. The same applies to our main courses. Our vegetables are cooked al dente which are firm to the bite. If requested we can cook for longer, but that takes all the goodness of Mother Nature from our fresh market supply. Our Grade A Beef, a prime cut of meat, we certainly would not burn it. We cook our beef medium to well but sometimes receive requests for well done. We are always happy to oblige. It is our ethos.
Sincere apologies on the tea and coffee mix up! The hotel team are forever obliging and would have gracefully rectified the issue if it were brought to their attention at the time.
Our team are well drilled on the workings of a function service. Even to the point that we have thirty minutes assigned to pre wedding meetings to discuss all matters relating to the function in question ranging from such items as dietary needs, menu options, style of service and allocations. I make no apology, as you put it, of the staff appearing to be all over the place. I am delighted they were busy attending to the guests needs. We have a ratio of 1:10 for our wedding staff allocation to ensure sufficient service is given to our very important customers, whom we value greatly.
It is not abnormal for a function bar to charge a little extra over the main bar. Bar exemptions are an extra cost and being a diligent business we always work within the law and ensure all our wedding couples have bar exemptions.
I am disappointed that you described one of our team as rude, ignorant and shabby. This is quiet to the contrary and such a personal attack holds no credit. Our team are very thoughtful, caring and attentive. It is in embedded in our organisational culture as previous postings account for.

Thank you for your comments and we welcome you back to the hotel in the future be it as an attendee or for your own wedding.
Kind Regards
Brian Morrissey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 nights for a wedding. The room we had on the second floor was in the old part of the hotel. It was very spacious, nice bathroom and room was lovely and clean.
Is a lovely old hotel with lots of character. Staff in hotel and pub very polite and helpful - would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the pool as they are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdgwareSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and we welcome you back to The Lady Gregory Hotel in the future for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is our 4th stay in The Lady Gregory, and each time we enjoy it more, the staff are happy and friendly, the bedrooms are clean and spacious, the indoor pool and jacuzzi, is always what you need on any trip especially if you have children. And the Irish breakfast is amazing. The evening bar food is reasonable and very tasty, and the bar entertains you with some great singers, what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: We had a suite, it's worth that little bit extra
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We attended a wedding and the sit down meal was held here. As we had travelled from England we booked in for 2 nights. The tables for the meal looked great and the food was excellent. We couldn't find fault with any of the staff, they were all so helpful and friendly. My wife and I are quite a picky pair in what we like or dislike, for instance she likes her scrambled egg cooked just so and I like my bacon almost cooked to a crisp. Any request we made was dealt with faultlessly.
Some parts of the hotel did look just a little bit shabby, particularly the wood, most at the wedding though loved the ceiling in the function room. Bedrooms were pretty well equipped with comfy beds and a shower to die for. Didn't use the TV so no comment there. One thing though bugs me, it's the lack of a laptop safe, most hotels of high standard that we've stayed in do supply this in the rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay so mostly high marks, just a few very small negatives

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews