We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was by accident we stumbled across this little gem of a place.

Originally myself and my mother had been trying to get accommodation in Carrick-on-Shannon but the town was booked up, including the Bush and Landmark Hotels.

Then a local contact pointed us in the direction of The Marina Hotel in Leitrim town, only five minutes away (6km).

It was the perfect place for our overnight stay and far cheaper than any of the options we had considered in Carrick-on-Shannon. The bedrooms are spacious and modern and from my room I enjoyed picture postcard views of the Shannon Erne waterway and beyond it idyllic scenes of horses lazing in nearby fields, soaking up the sunshine. It was an unexpectedly tranquil and peaceful setting made all the more relaxing by the attentiveness and solicitousness of staff. We would definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaHalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Ursula
Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you during your stay and look forward to making your return visit even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    51
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
59
99
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

myself and boyfriend stayed at the Leitrim marina hotel for a 2 night stay, we found our stay very welcoming by staff . the staff could not do enough for us , we had a beautiful luxury room over looking the river . amazing views . very spacious and very clean and modern , comfortable double beds.. we had food in the hotel the 2 nights ,steak was lovely and would also recommend the full Irish breakfast . could not fault this trip in anyway . definitely worth the visit !!!!!


Tina and Ian From Dublin

Room Tip: room with a view off the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing to spend your special birthday break away here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hi, myself and my daughter decided to meet up and have lunch there last Saturday 17 may and was so disappointed, my daughter ordered chips and we ordered a sandwich,the chips were burnt, it was if they had been standing in fryer and when ordered thrown back into the fryer to reheat only ours came out burnt! How hard is it to cook chips? We sent them back and got an "OH" from the waitress we eventually got chips that were properly cooked, neither my friend or I enjoyed the sandwich and left most of it behind, we found the hotel cold and unatmospheric which is a pity because it's in such a beautiful location on the river, staff were not all that friendly either, needless to say if this hotel is gonna stay open things need to change!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lillymact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Lillymact.
We would like to take the opportunity to respond to your recent review.
We also would like to thank you for taking the time to register with Tripadvisor, however disappointed we may be with your comments. I have checked our customer comment register and cannot find any comments of this nature registered for the day of your visit. We do actively encourage diners to register their comments and we will follow up any negative remarks both directly with the customer and with the kitchen staff. I therefore have no information upon which to comment directly on the issues you raise apart than to say you are very welcome to revisit as our guest to try our new extended menu and sandwich list. We offer two types of chips. Our house chips are handcut potato chips and are generally well received and we offer skinny fries for children. I do not have any information within your review upon which I can respond to your comments regarding your sandwich. The hotel re-opened in April after a full renovation and boasts a state of the art heating system. While genuine reviewers are free to award a level of points they feel we deserve perhaps I could take issue with you awarding only one point for our rooms. You have no basis upon which to base a negative award as you did not stay in the hotel. I would be pleased if you would like to avail of my offer to revisit as our guest. We are working hard to continually improve and develop our new business employing 15 local people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in the Marina hotel for a 2 night break (sat&Sun). We found our stay to be very enjoyable and the hotel to be clean & comfortable. Our room was spacious had a very comfortable double bed. There was also a single bed in the room. The rooms appeared to be newly refurbished and had some nice decorative touches. Breakfast was good each morning with a good selection of choices on the menu. We ate in the bar on both nights. Each night we were served by friendly staff who were very knowledgeable about the choices on the menu. My husband declared the burger to be one of the best he ever tasted! There was live music in the bar on the Saturday night which was very entertaining. There seemed to be a good mix of both tourists and locals enjoying themselves. I recommend a cocktail made by the barman Noel! We will definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1979baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you 1979 baby for taking the time to review your experience here at The Marina Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again. We have recently launched our new all day menu and penthouse suit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Went out for a meal with friends, we were all very disappointed.
1. Food very poorly presented
2. All the food was over cooked except salmon which was undercooked poached and not fried as stated on menu.
3. Special noodles with chicken was excessively spiced and swimming in oil.
4. Potatoe mash ehhhh was lumpy undercook and a wee bit cold
5. There is way to much poetic licence on the menu.
6. Staff friendly but unprofessional.

We shared our experience with staff members on payment.

We all should have given the meals back and left.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseCiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear JesseCiDa
I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your recent review. I am very disappointed with the content of the review particularly that you felt strong enough to specifically register with Tripadvisor to record it. We are working hard to continually improve both the content of our menu, food presentation, taste and service while striving to offer value for money. I would like to correct the record to state that we have never poached salmon in our kitchen or offered a dish of chicken noodles on the menu or served as a special. We re-opened in April 2014 after a full refit and refurbishment. Comments have largely been favorable and we work hard to improve areas that need attention. This has recently been acknowledged within the industry with the hotel being awarded Three Star status. Perhaps you could confirm if it was actually this premises you visited. If so I would like to invite you to revisit as our guest. We have recently launched an extended menu which is being well received. The Marina Burger and Troncon of Salmon are particularly popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyle, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After hearing about the re-opening of this hotel and high praises from my daughter who had eaten here the weekend the hotel opened, I decided to have a family lunch there, the hotel has ample off road parking, a great area for kids to play a lovely marina located at the rear of the restaurant and a well equipped bar. The food was excellent, the staff very courteous, polite and professional. The proprietor "Robbie" can only be described and a true gentleman, the welcome that we received made us feel like we were all old friends, and done with a pleasant smile and a warm hand shake. I can honestly recommend this Hotel for food, drink and a bit of craic, and I will definitely be back again. Pat.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight but the village that this hotel is located in is very quiet and on the Sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 415Patm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear 415PatM
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. These reviews can be very helpful in informing our visitors about the hotel and our food service. You might be interested to know that we have now launched our new penthouse suite and extended all day menu. Giving even more reason for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel re opened week before easter looking good . Ate there 3 times over the weekend, try the goats cheese starter!! Great playground for kids and great area to sit and enjoy the view over the marina and river while sipping on a cup
of tea or glass of wine ! Well worth a visit even for the food alone, we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim M, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Patricia
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Marina Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leitrim
3.2 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
0.2 mi away
Riversdale Farm Guesthouse Ballinamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leitrim Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leitrim Marina Hotel

Property: Leitrim Marina Hotel
Address: Leitrim Village | Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon > Leitrim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leitrim Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting along the banks of the Shannon-Erne Waterway, the Leitrim Marina Hotel is a peaceful haven, less than two hours from Dublin. With a large outdoor deck leading onto the Marina, and fully glass fronted bar and restaurant to make the most of the commanding views, this is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy great locally inspired cuisine, good Bewley's Tea & Coffee or even a cocktail between exploring the local attractions such as Arigna Mining Experience or Lough Key Forest Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Leitrim Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing