We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing break in lovely leitrim marina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing break in lovely leitrim marina”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Lovely relaxing weekend in the Leitrim marina.
My girlfriend suggested we need a weekend away and booked us into the Leitrim marina.
From our arrival we were made feel very welcome and at home.
Our room was very clean,spacious,comfortable and nicely decorated.
We decided to have a nice cocktail at the bar to start the evening,
followed by a lovely 3 course meal.
We both started with mussels,good portion,fresh and tasty with a glass of house wine each.
(sauvignon blanc very good)
My girlfriend had the lamb and said it was very tender.
I then had the steak which was very tasty and cooked to perfection
Had a lovely bottle of Rioja with the mains.
Excellent wine list,keenly priced and good choices.
All in all very good value for the meal we had.
Had a few drinks at the bar,good atmosphere and mix of locals and passers by.
Retired to have a long comfy sleep.
We were lucky to wake up to a gorgeous day.
The hotel has a gorgeous private terrace on the river in front of the marina.
Good spot for breakfast and lunch.
Toured around Leitrim for the day and returned for dinner at 8.00.
Staff took great care of us again and we had another excellent meal.
Left the following day around lunch.
I would highly recommend the Leitrim marina for anyone who wants good hospitality,
Friendly staff and very comfortable accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    55
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
65
107
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed in the Leitrim Marina about 2weeks ago and have been meaning to write a review since. It is certainly one of the worst hotels I’ve stayed in in Ireland and possibly one of the worst ever!..We booked into a double bedroom, and instead of a double bed there was literally two single beds pushed together!.
The smell in the en-suite was so bad my girlfriend and I were forced to use the toilet in the bar anytime we needed to.
Foolishly we decided to eat here as well, we both ordered the steak, and neither of us could finish it, not even half finish it. It was fatty and greasy and just all round disgusting, the potatoes and veg were also cold and over-salty.
I’m not sure weather or not there was meant to be Wi-Fi in the rooms but I wasn’t able to pick it up if there was.
All in all a terrible hotel, and ruined our attempt at a relaxing night away.
Only up; was the staff were nice and friendly.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank scanpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception101, Manager at Leitrim Marina Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
We would like to respond in that we are investigating if this review is in fact genuine. As a 10 bedroom hotel we pride ourselves in meeting all our guests. We received no such complaints from any guests staying in October and we do encourage guests to raise any concerns with us. Additionally the reviewer only registered on the day of the reivew, has no history in recording other hotels and does not list any information in his profile. We have also requested the reviewer to provide information on the date of his stay and the room number to assist us.

This review is completely at odds with all of our previous reviews which rate the hotel as number 1 on Tripadvisor. We were proud to recently win the Leitrim Observer 'Best Hotel in Leitrim Award 2010' for our customer service.

There are number of points in the review which are factually incorrect and point to a bogus review. The beds in the hotel provide a very comfortable stay with guests often commending them, we are consistantly commended for the quality of our food, particularly the house favorite striplion steak. While it is of course possible that a particular meal was not up to standard, we do not add salt to the potato or veg. We also do not charge for uneaten meals and will offer a replacement if guests are not satisfied. While WiFi is available throughout the hotel, free of charge, we do not advertise or offer WiFi in the bedrooms, view our website www.leitrimmarinahotel.com to confirm this.

In the interest of natural justice, should the first point of complaint for issues such as this to be raised at reception, particularly if the visit was as bad as this review. We are not saying we get everything 100% all the time, nobody is that perfect, but we strive to be the best we possibly can be and give an excellent overall expierence to the majority of our guests. Read the other reviews and decide yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

last minute break for me and my friend, from the minute we arrived the service, staff, food and cocktails were fantastic. Manager Robbie was so professional and helpful and nothing was too much for him to do. Food had finished when we arrived but in a flash Robbie had organised dinner for us. I have eaten in a lot of topclass Restaurants and this has to be the best food I have ever had. Chef has to be one of the best. You just have to visit and try it out. Cocktails were fantastic and great value. Our room was spacious and spotlessely clean, the night was extremely cold but the room was so cosy. It is evident that this is a well run family hotel from the warmth we felt throughout our stay. Couldnt fault it in any way and would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2010

stayed in the hotel for 3 days with my patner had a lovely stay everything excellant,food, staff,room with the veiw great

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bully35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

A truly lovely small hotel with spacious rooms. Hotel is very well maintained through out. Hotel is nestled on a small marina which adds to this hotel. Staff are very helpful and friendly which makes all the difference and they all work extremely hard and it shows. Food in the hotel is beautiful with a price tag that is on par with other hotels.Great packages on offer really enjoyed our stay will book again in the near future please god.
Thanks to everyone in the Marina especially Collette.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majellashevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlebar
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights it is situated in a quiet place it has nice grounds to walk around it and for anyone with chidren there is a little play ground
the girl at reception was very helpul the staff over all were very nice and friendly
leitrim village is just around the corner from the hotel there are a few nice bars there
there is a shop across the road from hotel that sells newspapers sweets etc

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ally089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buncrana, co donegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I have never written a review for Tripadvisor before but this hotel prompted me to do so. Stayed here middle of July this year and cant say enough about the place. Everything and i mean everything about this hotel was wonderful and if your looking for a very relaxing break this is the hotel for you. The location was perfect with carrick on shannon about 10 minutes down the road but the biggest surprise for me was the trad music festival 5 mins away in Drumshanbo. Lovely.
We stayed 5 nights in the hotel and every meal was excellent , breakfast, lunch and esp evening meal. the chef should be congratulated..The room was big for a double and very clean. This continued all through our stay. The staff were lovely and could not be more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. This was def a wonderful and relaxing experience and we will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelinedoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leitrim
4.6 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
843 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leitrim Inn Lodge
Leitrim Inn Lodge
#15 of 22 in Carrick-on-Shannon
69 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leitrim Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leitrim Marina Hotel

Property: Leitrim Marina Hotel
Address: Leitrim Village | Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Carrick-on-Shannon > Leitrim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leitrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leitrim Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting along the banks of the Shannon-Erne Waterway, the Leitrim Marina Hotel is a peaceful haven, less than two hours from Dublin. With a large outdoor deck leading onto the Marina, and fully glass fronted bar and restaurant to make the most of the commanding views, this is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy great locally inspired cuisine, good Bewley's Tea & Coffee or even a cocktail between exploring the local attractions such as Arigna Mining Experience or Lough Key Forest Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Leitrim Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing