We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Friendly Welcome, Peaceful and Great Location”
Review of Ardagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Rathgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Have stayed with Ardagh on many occasion and recently stayed once again. Never fails. A truly warm welcome from Mary and all the team. Great location, and so peaceful, make a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of hotels. All guests are so respectful, no banging of doors and shouting. It really is like being a guest in someones home. Rooms are spotless, yes maybe a little dated, and worn but comfort is always guaranteed. Like many other reviewers this truly is a gem of a bed and breakfast but yet it is so much more ................in a world of impersonal you are not just a number in Ardagh...........you are a welcome guest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Found this B&B on priceline and was not disappointed. Staff was outstanding. Less than ten minute walk from bus stop or a reasonable cab fare to city centre.

Gave us a tip on a pub to visit that was off the beaten path, cheap, and not saturated with tourists. They went way out of their way to accomodate us and make sure we have a nice stay. We took a day tour to Cork and Blarney, rendering us unavailable for breakfast. Ownership made us a breakfast basket and delivered it to us the night before.

If you want a picturesque, Victorian style Irish B&B, this is the place for you.

Can't say enough good things!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevans_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Ardagh House is clean, peacful, and quiet. The complimetnary breakfast is HUGE and honestly the best breakfast I had in my entire month in Europe. The owners are very friendly, helpful and dependable. This is a gem amongst bed and breakfasts and is very affordable. Make the rating 10 stars! Ardagh House is out of the city proper, but within short walking distance to the bus stop and the Luas (tram). Within 5-10 minutes you'll be in the heart of Dublin.

Room Tip: All are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AARiley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed here for one night when we needed a place to stay at the last minute. It was surprising quiet and met all our needs. It was lovely to have tea and coffee making facilities, nice clean and spacious room. The breakfast was great and the owners very helpful. Only little niggles were that our room was up three flights of stairs and we had lots of luggage having been travelling for a while (only ourselves to blame) and secondly, we could only get wifi on the ground floor, although there is a lovely couch downstairs to sit on!

Room Tip: The top level floors are very quiet. You wouldn't know there was anyone else around, you just h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

an excellent experience from the moment we arrived (greeted warmly and in a friendly courteous manner) to checking in (simple & straightforward) to being shown our room (large spacious clean tidy and well furnished) to a restful night to a very enjoyable breakfast. The owners and staff were on hand to assist in making the stay smooth and comfortable - An mbeidh bac a chur arís (will stay again)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at Ardagh House for the first two days of our Ireland vacation. The room was clean but quite small. The breakfast was excellent, and hosts were very helpful. Bed was comfortable. There is a small village nearby with a couple unremarkable restaurants - you'll have to travel into Dublin for more. Neighborhood is lovely. This is a guesthouse, not a B&B, so your interaction with others and the hosts is very limited.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravBugs0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We shared a triple room with our adult son. Comfortable, well furnished and very clean. Bathroom on the tiny side but managable. Plenty to eat for breakfast. Bus stop almost on the doorstep which makes easy commuting into the city. All round we were very satisfied with our stay. Mary and Willie very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathgar
1.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.6 mi away
Uppercross House Hotel
Uppercross House Hotel
#79 of 150 in Dublin
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Aiden's Guesthouse
St. Aiden's Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Rathgar
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rathgar House
Rathgar House
#4 of 4 in Rathgar
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh House

Address: 1 Highfield Road, Rathgar Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathgar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathgar
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh House Rathgar, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing