We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed!”
Review of Ardagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ardagh House
Ranked #1 of 4 Rathgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Not initially our first choice of accommodation, but after this stay in will be from now.

Room was spotless and had everything we need. The owner/manager were family and even offered to cook us breakfast after we the kitchen had closed!!

Will not hesitate to stay here again, it is perfect for a stay in Dublin for a reasonable price and in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanNiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    52
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
43
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference in centre of Dublin, and would stay here again. Ardagh House is a former 'gentleman's residence' nicely restored but retaining its character. Secure off road parking. I had a very nice room on the top floor. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Spotlessly clean. Quiet. Friendly welcome from the owners, Mary (who supervises the excellent breakfast in a lovely big room overlooking the garden, and Willie).
I initially thought the location was a bit far out of the city, but I found this wasn't a problem at all. There is an excellent bus service which actually starts and finishes just across the road. The bus route goes through some very interesting parts of Dublin, both old and new, and I enjoyed the trip each day. This is very pleasant residential area, with nice park nearby, and a handy shops a few minutes walk away. I would certainly stay here again in preference to central Dublin.

Room Tip: Bear in mind there is no lift to the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morningtide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This B&B was spotless, very comfortable and nicely maintained. The staff was very helpful! It's not so close to the city centre but we enjoyed staying in a quieter area (it's a really nice part of town), and there is a bus and a tram that are quite quick to the centre. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SN9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here for one night. My room was small, but I was on my own, so this wasn't a problem. It was a double bed, and if I had to share, then the room would have been uncomfortable. It is in a nice, clean, safe suburb of Dublin. Easy bus journey to the centre. The welcome was warm and people seemed very nice. For a single stay, I felt it was a little over priced. My neighbours were very noisy and inconsiderate, that is not a reflection on the b&b, I was just unlucky. Breakfast was nice enough, although the bowl of apples looked a little tired.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A big thank you to Willie and Mary for taking such good care of us. The house is impeccable, the rooms are spotless and the beds are extra comfortable. Both of them went out of their view to accomodate our school group and were helpful when we had a problem with food allergies, offering alternatives. They are friendly and have years of experience in the field. It´s not surprising that people keep going back. Rathgar has quality restaurants and for us being in the city centre does not compare. Public transport is great so we much prefer the “real Irish hospitality “ at Ardagh house to a more central venue. Looking forward to returning next year. Free wifi in all the rooms makes staying in touch with the families stress free.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stigsbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

First time in 40+ years that I needed to find a guesthouse in Dublin. What a wonderful find! My daughters and I were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. We had a triple room which overlooked the garden and it was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. It was a bit of a walk to get a frequent bus (15) ,however there is a 140 stop nearer,although not so regular and I gather the Luas is very close by. All in all, we were delighted and even my daughters thought it was much better to be staying out of the city centre.
Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 285cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carndonagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here a number of times through work,nice clean warm and friendly place ,rooms are a good size,comfy beds and good breakfast ,a wee bit over priced for where it is ,it's a bit of a walk to everything but would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathgar
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardagh House

Property: Ardagh House
Address: 1 Highfield Road, Rathgar Dublin 6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathgar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathgar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardagh House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ardagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardagh House Rathgar, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing