We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretry good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill
Price range: US$28 - US$70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ivans Bar and Grill, located on the West Pier of picturesque Howth Harbour, uniquely brings together the very freshest of local seafood with the highest quality ingredients fresh from the Market. Its interiors combine natural wood and tile finishes with plenty of light and airy views over the bustling harbour
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretry good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Swevice is good - fish great but simple things - chips were lousy- overall its ok but a little overpriced for quality

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globalgypsymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvansHowth, Front Office Manager at Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your comments , we have taken them on board and discussed .Regards
All the Team at Ivans .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    45
    22
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ivans the Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went there yesterday for a light lunch. I ordered the chowder, my partner the small fish and chips, plus 2 glasses of wine. Fish and chips arrived, no sign of the chowder. I told my partner to eat his food so it wouldn't go cold, confident that my chowder wasn't far behind. How wrong. As my partner came to the end of his meal and after making several attempts to catch the eye of the waitress, my partner went up to the food counter and asked where my chowder was. We watched as the waitress went over the the end of the food bar and asked for a portion of chowder which was served up out of a soup container. Seemples - sorry, by this time my partner had eaten his food so I told them to cancel it. Went down like a lead balloon. Yes, the waitress apologised, but I'm afraid it came across as very insincere and arrogant. So 2 glasses of wine and a very small portion of fish and chips later 20 euros. Wow! The explanation? - apparently it's very hard to get two different dishes to the same table at around about the same time. I'm sure they are not worried cos our table would have been quickly filled by the next mugs, sorry, customers......but we will be back to Howth, but not Ivans.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chezzamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvansHowth, Front Office Manager at Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have all read your review and taken your ponts very seriously.
We apreciate your honesty.
All the team at Ivans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ivans Oyster Bar and Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just returned from 14 days in Dublin, Ireland. Took DART to Howth on the Irish Sea Coast. Best restaurant ever and we have traveled 42 times to Europe. The oysters, lobsters, and crab meat rounds surrounded by long thin cucumber slices were the best ever. THE IRISH HOME MADE BROWN BREAD was without doubt the best ever. The service by the owner and his wife were over the top with kindness and smiling faces. We went twice. It is the experience we talk about and will always remember from our trip to Dublin, Ireland. Joyce and Charles D. Enderle, muzzyenderle@cox.net

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesDEnderle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvansHowth, Front Office Manager at Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
A big thank you for you kind and encouraging comments , on your visit to Ireland.
You made are day !!!!
From all the team at Ivans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost very good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Went there with five friends for lunch a week ago. Some of us had the Seafood Array for a started and the Roasted Whole Lemon Sole for our main course. My thought applies to both dishes — excellent raw material but unimaginative recipe. As you would expect from a restaurant attached to Beshoff's fish market, all the fish was excellent. The presentation looked very good. But, in the case of each of the dishes, there was something lacking in the taste. The sole dish was unnecessarily complicated. For such an excellent specimen simplicity should have been the hallmark.

The restaurant is nice, the staff helpful and competent, but for more than $50 Euro for lunch they need to find an inspired chef!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dos303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvansHowth, Front Office Manager at Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Many thanks for your views, and your comments are apreciated.
All the team at Ivans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and oysters are amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is great here love the seating, nice wine and great oysters. The fish and chips were a bit too greasy for me but overall everything was amazing

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flipmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvansHowth, Front Office Manager at Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for your review, we have taken your commets on board , and all here at Ivans are delighted you enjoyed your experience . Regards
all the team in IVANS OF Howth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivans Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing