We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How can anyone ever complain?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Howth
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How can anyone ever complain?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Yet again for the fourth year running I have returned from yet another tremendous holiday in Howth, made possible by my stay in the Deer Park. This sentiment, I know is echoed by other members of the party. The terms and conditions of our 4 night stay are quite exceptional, with unlimited golf, use of the pool and great friendly service. The food at breakfast continues to set one up for the day and the weekend special 3 course meal is something to be savoured. The rooms provide all you require and the storing of our golf clubs is made so easy and stops us having to lug them back to the room after every round! Oh, and I nearly forgot, the courtesy bus! What a bonus that is. We will return next year and know what we're getting for our money, exceptional value!

Room Tip: Front of hotel provides best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forresmechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Special Guest,
It was absolutely wonderful to have you all stay with us again this year and thank you so much for posting a review of your experience. It means a lot to us that our guests leave us happy and feeling that they have got good value for their hard earned money! Our staff always love to hear that your group are returning and we hope that we will have many more years of your delightful company at Deer Park. Slainte to all!!
Catherine - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    71
    68
    35
    39
See reviews for
68
97
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I had to put up a review of this hotel! We booked in this weekend for a relaxing getaway break and stayed two nights. I hadn't heard much about the hotel before I booked and based the booking on the hotel website and pictures and thought it looked beautiful. I then saw the reviews on this site an hour before we were supposed to leave for the Hotel and completely panicked. We nearly didn't go after seeing all of these bad reviews but I am very very glad we did!! We ahd a lovely two night stay with dinner. The weather wasn't great but we still got a game of pitch and putt in, a visit to the beautiful spa and spent the rest of the day in the pool which was spotless and had great chaging room facilities and was also spotless. Our room was huge, comfy, spotless and had a beautiful view of Ireland's Eye from our window. The hotel facilities are great, We had a lovely meal in the bar and relaxed looking at the night time views, the food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was of a very high standard and the deserts are to die for!! The staff were all helpful and any staff member you passed during the day or dealt with would be very polite but not in a false way. After about ten mins in the hotel I was delighted we decided to go in the end and decided to put this review up so that the bad reviews below don't put other people off like they nearly did us!! You will only ever hear about someone's bad experience so I thought it was about time someone shared a brilliant experience! I highly recommend a stay at this hotel but maybe give it two nights as there is so much to do in the hotel as well as around Howth. Great stay and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor would probably have the best view out over Dublin Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Sarah,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review. We are all delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return. We have so many guests who really enjoy what we have to offer at Deer Park and return to stay on a regular basis and sometimes when we see an unfavourable review we naturally become concerned that this is what future guests will judge us by and will not consider all the happy guests that have stayed with us.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and please be sure to contact me direct if you are making a reservation as I would like to personally welcome you back to Deer Park.
Best wishes.
Catherine White - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

All in all, our stay wasn't too bad, staff were very nice, hotel was in a lovely location, but rooms weren't that clean, eg pulled bed over to window and there was a lot of dirt, dust and even a few old crisps under it, bathroom was nice but my daughter pulled out the stopper in sink and you could of made a wig out of the dirty hair stuck to it, yuk!! Never got much sleep due to an loud irritating noise like a oil burner running all night, don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelledougan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our lovely location and that you found our staff to be very nice. Please accept our apologies regarding the housekeeping issues in your room - this is totally unacceptable and management are dealing with this to ensure something like this does not occur again. We are getting maintenance to check out the source of the noise in the room you stayed in. Once again please accept our apologies.
Kind regards.
Catherine - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have been going to Ireland for 47yrs & stayed in numerous hotels in varying locations. Howth is one of our favourites places however the Deerpark is by far the worst hotel
we have stayed in. The location is excellent I have to say but the receptionist was ignorant & bad mannered, the dinner was appauling, the breakfast was stone cold & the room was very out dated. The whole hotel could do with an overall makeover (including the staff)!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jondi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest,
It is lovely to hear that you are such a frequent visitor to Ireland and that Howth is one of your favourite places. I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel. Unfortunately I cannot investigate the incidences you refer to as your stay was quite a while ago and I am unable to track your booking and details of your stay from your review. I am horrified to think that our receptionist or indeed any of our staff would treat our guests badly - this is completely out of character for any of our staff and would not be tolerated. I do apologise to you if during your stay our service was not as it should have been.
Kind regards.

Catherine White - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Howth hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband,son his girlfriend went to deer park for a meal.Hubby & I ordered burger & chips .There was very little on the plate even to small for a childs meal sons gfriend & I got soup that was lovely she also got chicken pieces & onion rings in a thing like a tiny tin bucket (cant remember what son got )just know it was very little .They were visiting from Italy .For what we paid it was not value for money.If I went back I would only buy a sandwich because I don't think they can skimp on that

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Lovely location, but the hotel is a kip, and the staff is straight from Fawlty Towers. The rooms are very poor, and when our wedding party stayed in the hotel, several rooms had no warm water. When we complained and asked for a reduction, they threatended us with the police. Two room keys wouldn´t work late at night, but because only the barman in the residents´ bar was on duty, the guests had to sleep in a different room - without their belongings. The following day they were still taking in guests, although the problem with the warm water was not solved, but they did not tell the new arrivals about that. There are lots of nice hotels in Dublin. This is not one of them.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel. Plenty of good rooms in other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I am sorry that because of events completely out of our control your stay with us was disappointing.
There was a major burst to the heating system over the holiday period and despite the best efforts of our heating engineer and maintenance man some of the rooms experienced a drop in heating and hot water and this was restored to most rooms as fast as possible. We did in fact offer guests affected by this a reduction and most of our guests understood the unfortunate situation we were in and some would not even take the discount as they appreciated they were already on an extremely good value rate. No guest was threatened by the police for complaining and asking for a reduction – it was only when one guest who had been offered a very generous reduction having stayed with us two nights but refused to accept this reduced price that we said we would have to hand the matter over to the Gardai.
We were delighted to have the wedding party stay and we made great efforts before they arrived to meet all their requests regarding room allocations etc. It was therefore very upsetting for us to have this problem with our heat/water which happened at the worst possible time. Naturally our staff were very upset that they were unable to ensure that all guests were completely happy and if we appeared a bit like Manuel I do apologise!! However, we feel that at least 95% of guests that stayed with us appreciated our efforts and our manager will be writing to them personally to apologise.
As you say our hotel is in a lovely location - our heat/water problems have now been put right and our heating engineer is doing a complete survey of the whole system to avoid any further problem – so may I say to anyone thinking of coming to stay, please do come and enjoy our facilities and beautiful location.
Happy New Year!

Catherine White
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

STAY AWAY!!!
We thought, from what we saw online, that the Deer Park Hotel looked like a great place to spend our last night in Ireland. STAY AWAY. We spent a wonderful month in Ireland and we appreciate both the friendly people and the beautiful countryside. Howth is a hard-used (well, trashed, actually) destination for day trippers from Dublin. The Deer Park Hotel is used as a public golf course and athletic club. From the cigarette butt strewn parking lot and front steps, to the smelly carpets - complete with crushed food, and little piles of dirt in the corners - to the plumbing that doesn't work, the place is awful. We had a downstairs room and were afraid to sleep with the windows open, even though the room smelled, because the hotel is so public. The "spa" is an athletic club and the pool is large and warm but available only when classes are not taking place in it. There are far better places to stay closer to the airport - or further away in Wicklow. I have never written a negative review before; I hope this saves someone from a really unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whidbey428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathwhite, Front Office Manager at Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us in August, however we really wish you had submitted your review earlier as it is very difficult for us to investigate allegations after such a long space of time. It is great to hear that you spent such a long time in Ireland and had an enjoyable visit and we are so disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasant experience especially on your last night. I am not sure if you brought any of the issues raised to the attention of management during your stay but from your comments I feel that you may not have as you would have been put right about a few things. For example, it looks as if you were never in our beautiful spa which has four treatment rooms, a pedicure room, balneotherapy bath and a relaxation area overlooking the golf courses. What you refer to as an athletic club is in fact our gym which has a wide range of the most up to date fitness equipment for our guests to enjoy. We also offer a number of fitness classes and aqua aerobics classes which our guests may enjoy for no extra charge.
Our golf courses are open to the public as well as our guests and the views from the courses are amazing. Guests at the hotel may reserve tee-off times in advance and as we have four courses they will not experience delays in teeing off.
We take note of your remarks on maintenance of the grounds etc. and we would like to assure our guests that every effort is made to ensure that the upkeep, cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel is kept to the highest of standards and if we fell short of this during your stay, we do apologise.
I cannot understand your remarks about Howth and feel really bad that our listing has been used to publish such unfair comments. Howth is one on the most beautiful coastal villages in Ireland with everything to offer from amazing walks around the cliffs or along the harbour, sailing, angling, golf and has a great choice of excellent restaurants and local pubs. It has always been popular with Dubliners and tourists from all over the world and long may it continue! It is such a pity that you obviously did not have the time to enjoy the experience and the fantastic location and all that Howth has to offer - maybe next time!!
Regards.
Catherine White - Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howth
0.8 mi away
King Sitric Guesthouse
3.2 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
1.1 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Cross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Howth, Howth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Howth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Howth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Park Hotel is situated in the grounds of Howth Castle and surrounded by its own golf courses and yet only 9 miles from Dublin City Centre and Airport. Facilites include swimming pool with sauna and steam room and 2 all weather tennis courts. All rooms have bathroom, shower, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our Four Earls Restaurant offers an excellent menu including fresh fish from nearby Howth Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Park Hotel Golf Howth
Deer Park Hotel Golf And Spa
Deer Park Hotel Course
Deer Park Howth
Deer Park Hotel Golf & Spa Howth, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing