We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinkers den with overpriced food.....”
Review of The Waterside Bar

The Waterside Bar
Ranked #25 of 44 Restaurants in Howth
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Drinkers den with overpriced food.....”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

food was very poor quality and overpriced, 5 euros for a toasted sandwich served with no side salad or crips. Kids meals was microwaved pasta with tomatoe ketchup over it. Rough looking guys sitting at the bar who looked like they never leave. Loads of nice places to eat in Howth.....this isnt one of them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Istheseacold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    38
    28
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If it is a boozer you are after then this is the right place; if you are looking for some good food then forget it, this is not somewhere you will get good food, all you will get is stomach lining for the the beer and then I hope that your stomach is iron cast.

Great atmosphere, everyone catered for and friendly staff.

On first impressions the food looked great on everyone else's plate, so we all decided to eat something. The menu is quite extensive but it doesn't deliver. Burgers were average, sides were ok but the bravas were coated with something that was not a good sauce and the nacos were covered in squeezy bottle cheese sauce; when it cooled and melted it then turned into an ugly pool of a mess ugh ... it was enough to turn your stomach, needless to say we did not eat anymore.

Not a good experience and not particularly good value. What is more than a little intriguing is that part of the menu comes from the restaurant upstairs, El Paso; not a good advert, will not be back to either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Would not go back even if meal was free”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went here Sunday on the recommendation of friends (with us) who had been a few weeks previously. I don't know if the chef has changed or they were lucky the day they went, but what we were served was disgusting. They were shocked at the change in food and said they wouldn't go back either. We ordered 6 starters 5 arrived, had to wait for 6th to come when everyone else had finished, I had the chicken wings, they were ok but very salty. Again with the mains 6 ordered 5 arrived. I ordered the fish and chips, it was vile one of the worst things I've ever been served. The fish was tasteless with water flowing out of it, the batter was just soggy and over cooked, I've had better Donegal Catch, the chips were frozen chips over cooked. The mushy peas were cheap frozen peas pureed, I only know this as one person ordered chicken supreme and had cheap frozen peas on the side. I really expected better, we complained about the two fish and chip dishes and weren't charged. To be hones the damage was done none of us would go back even if it was free.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liked_copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood chowder in Dublin”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A warm welcoming, nothing is a bother pub in one of the most beautiful areas of dublin. The food was simple but excellent and the drinks of the highest standard. The staff (including the boss) were welcoming and freindly. you must visit if you are planning a trip to Howth

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meandcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“food has inproved”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

they must have a new chef, because the food has greatly inproved over the last few months.the bar staff are as usual very friendly and there is a nice atmosphere in the waterside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie_Larryhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waterside Bar also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to The Waterside Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing