We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouldnt miss this....”
Review of Howth Coastal Walk

Howth Coastal Walk
Ranked #3 of 5 Tours in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nice, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shouldnt miss this....”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We did the coastal walk from Sutton (get off the DART from Dublin at Sutton) to Howth via the "The Summit". It is a good walk with some fantastic views starting off with the Bay of Dublin and ending up at Howth, a most picturesque working fishing village. The route is not too well marked so I would recommend taking a local map pf the area to be sure to keep to the right path. The DART service runs till late in the summer and gets you directly to Dublin in 20mins from Howth. Don't forget to enjoy the superb, fresh seafood on Howth pier.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    65
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borgo Valsugana, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice walk!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

beautiful coastal walk. Just a short train ride from Dublin City. We did the 4hours walk - it was well signposted, the footpaths were generally good and the views were spectacular. Really refreshing to get out of the city. Highly recommended. I'd advise walking boots full 10K circuit.
at the end of your walk, late afternoon, you can see the seels at the harbour!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to take in the sunset”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had not planned to walk along the coast during our visit to Howth, but couldn't resist when we stopped to view the sunset at Pinnacle car park. We walked along an easy path along the sea cliffs for about 15 minutes, which was perfect for our schedule. There were several other substantial trails winding all along the coastline, which would have made for lovely strolls. Beautiful yellow and purple flowers everywhere, and the air was filled with sea, sand and flowers. We have been all over Ireland, and this has been my favorite family walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DePelicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
462 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Bog of Frogs Loop”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Well signed, many choices of lenghth, too 3.5 hrs for the full loop.
You can hike down to the nearby golf course for lunch etc but the food at the Pier is worh waiting for...even the Fish & Chips at the Tram were spot on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loo99car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was not a planned part of the trip but I'm so glad we found our way here. Stunning views on an unusually clear day. The higher you climbed the clearer and crisper the scene.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howth Coastal Walk also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Howth Coastal Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing