We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizzas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dog House Blues Tea Room

The Dog House Blues Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Irish, Pizza, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Been here a couple of times. Great little place with both indoor and outdoor seating.

The pizzas are really nice, though the only downside is that they only do one size, which is probably about a 9", and a bit small for a main.

Friendly staff, and right beside the train station too.

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    80
    20
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cosy spot for a coffee...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

As someone who comes from the area and goes back for holidays, this is one of my favourite spots to meet friends. The place is extremely cosy with it's mish-mash of furnishings, sofas and bookcases strewn with interesting trinkets to the point you feel like you might just have wandered into someone's home. To be honest I have never eaten here in all the times I have been. However I have always had a great cup of coffee and enjoyed the service of the friendly staff. I would certainly recommend stopping in after a hearty walk along Howth pier. You'll deserve it, especially if it's a windy, cold day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sineadlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very disappointing lunch - maybe went on a dog day afternoon...?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I love this quirky restaurant and its ethos of being affordable and fun. However, we had a recent lunch which left much to be desired. The bruschetta was served with melted cheese even though we didn't ask for that. It was way too garlicky and with not even a hint of basil which is a core ingredient and the tiny bread slices they served were not properly toasted. To get something this basic so wrong was a bad start. Our main meals were very disappointing - the wings seemed to be microwaved with a sauce poured over them at the last minute and no dip - another simple dish badly prepared....Maybe it was just the day we went but the standard of our meal was very poor and therefore very poor value for money. We'll give it another chance though as the service was very friendly and we have had delicious stone-oven cooked pizza there before.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quirky!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A quirky spot for a cuppa or some lunch after a brisk walk along the pier. Friendly staff. Go for the ambience. Have yet to experience dinner here but am definitely going to try it out. Absolutely love the mish-mash of different seating areas. Or if you really want to make yourself feel at home why not dine in bed! Yes, seriously there's a big double bed where you can relax while visiting. Cool, cool place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rollonemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good menu, but for the price of some things e.g. goats cheese bruschetta is really expensive. The staff are all lovely and helpful. I go here all the time to meet with friends for a few brinks, as they do BYOB, which is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janapple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog House Blues Tea Room also viewed

Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to The Dog House Blues Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing