We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Variety on the small side”
Review of Howth Market

Howth Market
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Howth Market was established in Howth 9 years ago and offers fantastic organic produce, freshly baked goods, jewelry, clothing, antiques and much more.Howth Marktet takes place every Saturday and Sunday (and Bank Holidays!) from 10.00am to 6.00pm
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Variety on the small side”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

One of my favourite things to do is to go down to Howth Market and pick up some little treats. My favourite is the cup cakes which are just so yummy, fresh and as they he makes them with that seasons produce so they are always changing the variety. The fudge is rich and again lots of variety in flavours, great value for money.

The variety in the stalls is good with fruit, veg, cakes and handmade knick knacks. It has gotten bigger and better over the years and with the new roof on the outer edges gives it a bit more shelter. Pity it isn't on the rest of the enclosure as it would suit Irelands climate and their shoppers a bit more. Would like it a little bigger( but obviously there is site restrictions) and a roof over it all but it is a nice place to get stuff to fill your picnic basket with.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pogs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
707 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Interesting stalls”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We took the DART from Dublin to Howth which is an easy trip (25 minutes) and great value. The market is open Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays. Good selection of arts and crafts on display and wide selection of artisan foods. Not a huge market but still worth visiting if in town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Loved this market”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From Connolly Station in Dublin, we caught the DART to Howth. We went on a Sunday and bought a "Family Day" pass/ticket ( for 2 of us) for 18.90 euro which enabled us to travel up and down the DART lines all day long. This ticket was perfect for us because we didn't have to figure out euro amounts for leg to leg journeys and if we made a quick stop somewhere we didn't have to calculate how much extra that would cost us.

The trip took about 20 minutes to get to Howth. The market was opening and I just loved it...there were a lot of food choices ( some give out free samples) and many other booths with knick knacks.
Prices were the same as in Dublin for the sweater store, but they had some different styles which were really cool! I can't remember the name of the store but it was near the exit. The saleslady was very friendly, as well.

Walk to the pier - it was fun. There were a lot of families that were starting to come into Howth by midday as we were leaving. Wish I could've stayed longer.

It was windy a bit cold here, so protect your ears, if you have an issue with cold air hitting your ears!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More choice would be better”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is a cute little market with very nice chocolates, sweets, and some jewellery. It has become much nicer than it used to be a few years ago, however a bit more choice (more stalls) would be better. Right now you can't really spend more than 15 minutes there.

Helpful?
Thank Seline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestavia Hills
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice break from tourist shops”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were there on a Sunday and discovered this quaint little market, it is not huge by any stretch but there are a lot of little booths with food, jewelry, antiques and a touch of Ireland.

It was a nice break from all the stores and the food was very good. There is also a little gelato shop there!

If traveling through Howth on the weekend it is worth spending a little time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gwinternetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howth Market also viewed

Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Howth Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing