We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Seafood but ...”

King Sitric Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established in 1971, Aidan and Joan MacManus have earned an international reputation for fresh seafood in their harbour-side restaurant in the picturesque fishing village of Howth. In 1999, they extensively rebuilt their old Harbour Master's house, relocating the restaurant to the first floor with panoramic seaviews, and adding eight guest bedrooms. All the bedrooms are named after Lighthouses and have sea-views. Fresh fish landed daily on Howth Pier, oysters and mussels from the west, lobster caught by our own fishermen in Balscadden Bay are among our specialities. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink in our East Cafe Bar while choosing your wine from our outstanding Wine List. National Hospitality Awards Seafood Restaurant of the year 2014. We are situated in the golfing heartland of North County Dublin and for sailors Howth Marina is three minutes walk. Enjoy a gentle stroll on the Pier before breakfast or a more energetic hike on the unspoilt Cliff Path and the trails of Howth Head. For business, shopping or sightseeing, Dublin City is only 25 minutes by Dart. Dublin Airport 25 minutes.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood but ...”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

King Sitric is in a beautiful location at Howth pier. The seafood was excellent - great choice and fresh. The waiter showed great flexibility and recommended mixed dishes which were great. The Maitre D was superb - knowledgeable and helpful. The wine was excellent too. However the waiter could do with a little cultural awareness training - small things can mean a lot. All in all an excellent evening - I will be back. Ask for a table on the first floor near the window - great views.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    64
    25
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good food, very disappointing service.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I've wanted to try this restaurant for years but we live over an hour away so as we had a voucher we went for Sunday lunch. Firstly the food here is very good a fresh abd well cooked seafood. not an exciting menu but nevertheless the smoked salmon and lobster we ate we're delicious. What lets it down and therefore does not put it in top restaurants in Dublin is the mediocre and vague service. When we arrived the waiter looked at us but didn't greet us- so I said we had a booking - he pointed to our table - didn't bother to bring us over to our table. He asked us what the children wanted to eat- and we said they would like a menu as they like seafood. It wasn't that he was rude- he wasn't - he just wasn't up to the standard of the food and having to ask for everything was ridiculous. -out bill was 80 euros a head, so its in the expensive end of restaurants but we had very good wine and excellent seafood but for this price you expect service to match. Would I go back here- no. It's very good food but everything we Asked for he forgot- although the maitre D was very good and very knowledgeable at these prices the service should be absolutely top class- and it is not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exquisite restaurant for a celebration.”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A fantastic 4 course meal was held for a 60th birthday party . The food and service were excellent and we were made very welcome. Situated near the East Pier and with views to Lambay island from the first floor windows it has an easy ambience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No excuses....”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We had a very poor experience at King Sitric, where we ate such bad fish that wouldn't be cooked and served that way in the saddest suburbia diner. I suspect it was even frozen, served in a half folded chunk, you know, when you cook a frozen item that was frozen that way and couldnt be laid down properly. Most terrible chips as well ever. That's why on a very busy sunday there was non queue to get in.... Never again. What a waste of a great name.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vittoriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Of Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We visited this restaurant on Saturday, April 6th and ate in the Café Bar. We ordered 3 main courses to share and all were very disappointing. The crab claws looked dry and unappetising as if they had been sitting on the plate for ages. The crab mornay had very little crab and far too much cheese and the squid was soggy and must have been cooked in oil that wasn't hot enough--as were the portion of chips which we ordered as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marianruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Sitric Restaurant also viewed

Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to King Sitric Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing