We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Angling Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Angling Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

From the first time i went to Nonaim lodge back in 1999 i was blown away by the quiet peaceful location.That was before i even got on the lake,Don's sole purpose was to put us on the fish and we knew we were in safe hand's.The level of customer service is second to none which has seen me return over 20 times since.This is a big lake and can be daunting but with guides like these it can be fully enjoyed,the food and facilites are perfect and you won't find two harder working host's than Don and Connie.
Rob Cooksley Somerset uk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Been down three times and had a ball every time. Accommodation is first class , breakfast brilliant , all overlooking the Lough.
Went out fishing with Donal , always caught fish , learned about the area and had a great time.
I think the whole set up is very hard to beat .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed at nonaim lodge in 2011 and 2010 with a group of 4 others. It has always been a real treat. The facilities are 1st class and location is out of this world. I'd certainly recommend Donal to guide you on a fishing trip for the day.But you don't need to be into fishing to enjoy the scenery of connamara and local hospitality in the nearby village of Oughterard. I didnt go this year due to redundancy and really missed the place but will try my best to visit next year. Very many thanks see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

So, if you are prepared to venture a little off the track, but want to be rewarded with great hospitality, comfortable accommodation, fantastic fishing (if that's what you want to do, I advise you to use the service of the owner, Donal, who is an exceptional fishing guide and great company) then nonaim is for you. My father and I have visited on at least 10 occasions, having used a number of b and b's in the area before discovering nonaim. We love it, and health permitting, will continue our annual visit for years to come.

We go for the fishing but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to outdoor couples, walkers, etc. and only ten mins from town are 5 pubs, one of which, the anchor, has the best Guinness I ever drank. The beer keg is only 40 cms from the end of the tap, thus the beer is as perfect as you will ever get served through clean lines!

Room Tip: Hire a car and make the most of the area, so much to see. Visit linane, westport, achill island, scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Looking at this website again makes me miss our wonderful time fishing on Lough Corrib lake so much. Donal is such a great guy who gave us all the advice on how/where to get the good fish. We enjoyed our 4 days fishing on the lake by ourselves. He was so kind to prepare us 2 extra pillows to sit on, which made us very comfortable sitting on the boat for the 3 following days. We were there on our honeymoon and he gave us very valuable advice on where to travel in Italy as well. Every morning he bought our stuff to the lake for us and even offered the lift back to town. Such a great guy and highly recommend for any onw who would love to rent his fishng boat. Though we did not stay at his lodge, but it is great view from his house. i am sure u shall enjoy staying there. Thank you Donal for your great service. hopefully see you in two years when we are back in Ireland

Room Tip: Location if perfect for fishing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighhcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

My son and i went fishing here just this weekend the lodge is of high quality and friendly service
the breakfast was top quality the view wonderful bedrooms lovely .
The guide donal is a fine guide and we caught 5 odd small trout my son age 15 took to the dabbing like a duck to water .
minor problems
1 room was coldish on returning from fishing and no heating in the room they quickly sorted this
No evening meal was offered as advertised on there web and we asked twice before coming but got refused .
never the less we went into town and had a very good meal at the bistro restaurant were we got a fine strip loin steak good wine and good service .
Last but not least i had paid 80% up front out of choice 2 months before and when i went to pay with my cheque book and cart was told it was not legal tender !! how strange in any case they had to accept it as it was legal tender and after i told them that is all i had they reluctantly excepted this was sad as it spoiled my stay to some degree .
They are nice people but need to be more flexible and deliver what is claimed on there cite ie offering evening meals !!!!! if that happened i would go back as the potential is there to be a top class b&b lodge ! but never the less the place is v high quality but there is no place for second best in this credit crunch and my advise would be to either jack the idea of the evening meal altogether ore do it as on the web advert .
with the evening meal in place i could see it as 4 star plus easily .

Room Tip: all rooms are of the same top quality .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itstheblimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonaimGalway, Owner at Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for the review and the kind words and comments regarding the Lodge, which we will take on board.
Sorry we were unable to provide evening meals for your visit, but we do state - on two different pages of our website - evening meals are dependent on the number of people that require an evening meal, in this instance we did not have any other guests wishing to dine at the Lodge, resulting in our being unable to provide an evening meal on the night in question.
We enjoyed your visit and the day on the lake fishing with you and your son and hope to see you again some day in the future.
Once again thank for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterport, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at 9 bed and breakfasts during our trip in Ireland June 2011 and this was by far the most enjoyable. The room was comfortable and clean and the owners friendly and accomodating. They made suggestions for places to eat and sites to see. If you are a fisherman, there a trips available on this beautiful lake. The lake view from our room provided beautiful sunrises. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Ireland.
Marcel and Maureen from Maine

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
3.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
7.1 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
7.2 mi away
Lakeland Midsummer Lakehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation

Property: Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
Address: Shannawagh | Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing