We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here for the Connemarathon in April and from the moment of booking I knew I had made the right choice. Donal advised that it was quiet and a 10 minute drive from town but that suited me perfect. The drive to this beautiful B & B is breathtaking. The B & B itself is beautiful, modern and has an incredible vista. Donal & Connie could not have been nicer, they were friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in the marathon etc so much so that you did not get a sense that this is a business to them! They are complete naturals. Leaving (albeit stiff the following day after my exertions in beautiful Connemara) you could not help but be envious of them living in such a beautiful place. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home and knew we were in for a lovely few days stay and we were not disappointed.
The triple room was spacious and very clean and had a fantastic view of Lough Corrib.
Our hosts Donal and Connie welcomed us with a pot of tea and biscuits, very welcome after a long drive.
Donal advised us where to find the best views and where to eat and drink and Connie's breakfast was the best of our Irish trip by far.
We tried some lake fishing, unfortunately we had no luck but had a great day out on the lake.
We may have been unlucky with the fish but we were definitely lucky finding Nonaim Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just noticed that Nonaim Lodge is on Tripadvisor, which is great, because I want to let all anglers know that this place is not to be missed. I've been staying and fishing there since before it was a fishing lodge ( almost 20 years) so I speak from experience.
There is no better spot from which to fish the upper end of Corrib, and no-one who knows more about it than Donal. He seems to know the address and phone no. of every fish in that area!
The boats and motors are top class, the advice, even if you're fishing on your own absolutely invaluable. The food, accommodation, and company are impeccable , and have always been...I've stayed and fished here at least 40 times.
I'd give it six out of five if I could.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

By far the best B&B we stayed at, on our trip to Ireland. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

As fishermen with over 30 years experience of fishing Corrib it was a blow when our previous accomodation provider closed due to the death of the owners.
We found Nonaim off the web and liked the write up and decided to give Donal and Connie a chance to provide us wth a base on Corrib.
This was the best decision we could have made. Nonaim is warm, friendly and very convenient for the lake and Donal has all of the equipment you'd need to fish and the accomodation itself is excellent.
Nonaim has been upgraded to provide truelly comfortable accomodation and the breakfasts are just great!
We've been back since our first visit and would not consider staying anywhere else when we travel to Corrib in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room if its available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

From the first time i went to Nonaim lodge back in 1999 i was blown away by the quiet peaceful location.That was before i even got on the lake,Don's sole purpose was to put us on the fish and we knew we were in safe hand's.The level of customer service is second to none which has seen me return over 20 times since.This is a big lake and can be daunting but with guides like these it can be fully enjoyed,the food and facilites are perfect and you won't find two harder working host's than Don and Connie.
Rob Cooksley Somerset uk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Been down three times and had a ball every time. Accommodation is first class , breakfast brilliant , all overlooking the Lough.
Went out fishing with Donal , always caught fish , learned about the area and had a great time.
I think the whole set up is very hard to beat .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
9.0 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,738 reviews
6.1 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#9 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
6.9 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation

Address: Shannawagh | Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Oughterard
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing