We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverwalk House

Riverwalk House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverwalk House
Ranked #11 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

One of the best stays on our whole trip. Anns a lovely host and we really enjoyed the time we had in the Riverwalk House. Rooms were great and we also had a lovely evening at the pub and having a nice river walk. Location is just great at the door to Connemara. And I could just recommend Anns potatoe waffles they were fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Probably our 2nd favorite B&B experience in Ireland (our first in Lahinch) and a super solid pick. Nice room, walkable to town, clean room, nice bed, kind owners and a great breakfast. Not sure what else to say about Riverwalk but that it is a great bet for a good stay in Oughterard.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Always helpful and friendly, Ann is a great host and give all we need.
Bedroom are comfortable and the private bathroom is nice.
Very good address and B&B spirit is there !
The city is not too far from Connemara but there aren't a lot of choices of restaurant...

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fabien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

When enquiring if there was a room available here Ann contacted me very quickly. This Bed and breakfast was lovely to stay in. Ann was very friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and spacious. Breakfast was yummy and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorri84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My sisters, sister-in-law and I planned this trip for almost a year.This was our first B&B in Ireland and we couldn't have made a better choice. Anne and Patrick were so welcoming and friendly. There home was so warm and cozy, and the choice of breakfast was more than we could have asked for. They helped us with getting our Irish phone up and running, offered great suggestions of sites in the area and directed us to any place we wanted to go. The added bonus was Panda, their Old English puppy. Loved all the attention we lavished on her and greeted us every time we would come in. You could not go wrong staying here. It was amazing.

Martha Clifford-Antrum Groton, NY USA meantrum6@yahoo.com

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast!! The place is relaxing and very close to all the amenities and also to Connemara national park and Kylemore abbey!
The rooms are very clean and large! The brekfast is absolutely incredible :) Ann and Patrick are very friendly and they made us feel at home! I reccomend this bed and breakfast to everyone!!
Greetings from Sicily and Malta :)

Ann say hello to Panda from us!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Very clean and well run B&B at the gateway to the Connemara region.
Our room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the house.
Very pretty and well maintained gardens.
Delicious breakfasts were served in a bright and airy sunroom.
Hosts Ann and Patrick were friendly and helpful even though often very busy with other guests.
The walk to town takes about 10 minutes via the "Riverwalk" where you'll find a couple of pubs and restaurants. Breathnachs being the pick of bunch for food and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
2.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#12 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk House

Property: Riverwalk House
Address: Riverside, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riverwalk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk House Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing