We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & Serene”
Review of Riverwalk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverwalk House
Ranked #11 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Ann & Patrick were the perfect hosts ... so cheerful and happy and helpful! The rooms were beautiful - extraordinarily clean with a lovely bathroom attached. The meals were lovely ... fresh juices to start then delicious eggs and toast and brown bread and ... the list goes on. It's right near a rambling river and so close to town. The best bit? Their huge, loving sheepdog Panda. The sweetest thing and she just made it feel like home. Hope to return some day. Can't recommend this place strongly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Our first impression was of a very neat, well kept home with a beautiful garden. The room we stayed in at the front of the house was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was everything a diner could wish - I cannot remember a better one anywhere on our trip.

Ann, the owner of Riverwalk House, is very hospitable and easy to converse with. No wonder we think of this beautiful B&B when ever we think of Ireland. We look forward to our next stay later this year.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front are easy to get to and overlook a beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I, along with my 2 sisters and sister-in-law, stayed at Riverwalk House on our trip in 2012. One sister and I returned to Ireland this fall and our first stop was, of course, Riverwalk House. Ann and Patrick are the epitome of great hosts. They are so welcoming and are always there to help with whatever comes up, whether it be suggestions of must-see sights or directions to where we want to go. There house is beautiful and very well kept. The food is also outstanding. Being animal lovers, we were happy to be greeted by their Old English Sheepdog, Panda, again. Last year she was a rambunctious puppy and this year we were greeted by a well behaved young lady who loves all the guests. You could not ask for better accommodations or more lovely hosts. A must stay if you are in Oughterard. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our very first night in Ireland brought us to Mrs. Ann Kelleher's Riverwalk House. What a wonderful welcome we received. We had a beautiful first floor room and Ann gave us great directions to the village by way of the riverwalk. And the next morning after a great breakfast she pointed us on our way to the local castle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

One of the best stays on our whole trip. Anns a lovely host and we really enjoyed the time we had in the Riverwalk House. Rooms were great and we also had a lovely evening at the pub and having a nice river walk. Location is just great at the door to Connemara. And I could just recommend Anns potatoe waffles they were fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Probably our 2nd favorite B&B experience in Ireland (our first in Lahinch) and a super solid pick. Nice room, walkable to town, clean room, nice bed, kind owners and a great breakfast. Not sure what else to say about Riverwalk but that it is a great bet for a good stay in Oughterard.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank danzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Always helpful and friendly, Ann is a great host and give all we need.
Bedroom are comfortable and the private bathroom is nice.
Very good address and B&B spirit is there !
The city is not too far from Connemara but there aren't a lot of choices of restaurant...

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Fabien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#1 of 23 in Oughterard
112 reviews
2.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#10 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk House

Address: Riverside, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: £73 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riverwalk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk House Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing