We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Ranked #11 of 23 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My room was spacious and nicely decorated, with hardwood floors. Breakfast was really good, and the breakfast room overlooking the garden was both stylish and cosy. Deirdre informed me really well on all the options in the area. The location couldn't be better, in a woodland area only 5 minutes' walk from Oughterard's main square.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsopolarTromso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Deidre & Greg certainly know how to run a B & B! They made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. A nice bedroom with en suite. A lounge, dining room, large games room, extra lounge area, tennis court, garden, & hot tub. All that could be used at any time. Plus tea, coffee and cake available 24/7. What more could you ask for? I went to fish on the Corrib & Greg sorted me out a gillie etc. He couldn't have been more helpful if he tried. The boats are excellent. Deidre supplied us with a wonderful breakfast, & a packed lunch for me whilst out fishing. A short walk into Outerard & a variety of pubs & restaurants to choose from, all with good food & drink. We will certainly book again when we are next in the area as we couldn't have found anywhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank croakingfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here one night in late June. It was wonderful. It is an easy 5 minute walk to town for pubs and restaurants. The house sits on a good bit of land on a river. They have a tennis court and my son and I played until amost 11pm (it stays light very late there!). The rooms were nice and breakfast was good. We rented a boat from then and went out on the lake which is dotted with islands. After some looking we found the island that has the ruins of an incredibly ancient monestary. The etching on the stones look half pagan/half christian. I wish we had more time here - it would have been a great base camp for exploring conemmara. It is a very peacefull place - a great break from the huslte and bustle of Dublin and Galway.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank havanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent a really relaxing weekend in Oughterard and we were so glad that we picked Camillaun Lodge. Deirdre and Gregg were so welcoming and friendly. Our room was perfect. The Lodge is in the most beautiful spot, right on the banks of the river and a footbridge close by means it's only a 5 minute stroll into the village on foot. Breakfast was fabulous and we hope to visit again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Unz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here at Camillaun in mid September and loved it. Greg was wonderfully welcoming and great to chat with. His wife, Deidre was also very friendly and gave us some great ideas for hiking in the Connemara area. Soon after arriving, Deidre welcomed us with a tray of tea and desserts. (Their dog, Spud, was also very friendly.) The beautiful and eclectic décor around the house was so fun to look at. Our room was clean, and the property was beautiful. There is a river that runs right next to the property with a lovely foot bridge over it for easy access into town. After our hike in Connemara, we came home to the B&B and hopped in their relaxing hot tub. In the mornings, we had a wonderful breakfast. Cereals, waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, and toast were just a few of the options! We only wish we would have had more time to venture out onto the river and lake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was the best B&B we stayed in during our two weeks trip in Ireland. Wonderful hostess and an absolutely beautiful room with skylights and lovely ensuite. So clean, tastefully decorated, and great price too! We had asked for help finding a guide for my boyfriend's fishing trip and by the time we arrived it was all arranged. Can't say enough good things about this place - my boyfriend is already planning his Man Adventure with a fishing buddy for next year, and want to come back here. Great place and super helpful. And we loved Spud the wee dog! Location was also excellent as it was just a short 5min walk into town for a bite, and some lovely walking paths right in the village. The boat hire was set up at their own docks right on a little stream that led directly to the river.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireland56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We've stayed here many times over the past 10 years. A perfect spot for a couple of days fishing and golfing. Greg and Deirdre always look after us - even if they're booked out (which can happen quite often). The boat and engine is ready to go each morning after a great breakfast. All we have to do is catch the fish!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManusDNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Guesthouse
Mountain View Guesthouse
#4 of 23 in Oughterard
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#8 of 23 in Oughterard
122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
1.3 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre

Address: Glann Rd, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camillaun Lodge, situated on the Owenriff river that flows through the village of Oughterard, Connemara, Co. Galway offers all the comforts of a modern house but with the elegance of an old country home. It has 4 guest bedrooms, all en-suite and with wonderful views of the countryside. A short walk via a leafy lane brings you to the village. Hot tub, tennis court and games room are available to all guests. Home cooking and locally sourced food are assured. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing